We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (617)
Filter reviews
617 results
Traveler rating
58
194
191
97
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
58
194
191
97
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cycle rickshaw amazing location budget hotel retreat auto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 617 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2019 via mobile

โ€˜Rooms are disgustingly unclean, do not stay here.โ€™

โž– Sadly the rooms are filthy, really filthy, towels are filthy, all bed linen are filthy, bathroom is filthy, room is cold and damp, blankets are discusting.
There is a hole in the bathroom wall at about 8 feet with just some bars over it which I believe goes straight into another rooms bathroom so you could be peered at...
Absolutely hated this hotel. We travel all over the world but this is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in.
Plus we paid around ยฃ30 per night for a room which should be demolished!
Do yourself a favour and go somewhere else, you wonโ€™t regret it.

โž• The staff are lovely. Itโ€™s a few steps from east gate Taj Mahal.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank rosielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2019

Excellent location set in it's own gardens, only 100 metres from the entrance to the Taj. Very quiet at night. The rooms were clean and tidy and the showers were hot. WiFi worked well. Good food but not excellent. This is the second time I've stayed here and would book it again without any hesitation.

Room tip: Best location in Agra
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gareth90m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2019

It is very close to Taj Mahal that is true and that makes it easy to get in early when the smoke and fog hide the Taj Mahal from view. There are actually three entrances west, south and east. All are closed to cars and tuk-tuks for about 200 meters. So you will need to carry your belongings. There are of course hotels equally close on the west and south sides, and they are closer to the train station and the city. I donโ€™t know about the south and west sides, but you cannot walk through the east side barricade gauntlet without being offered to buy marijuana, hash, opium, and cocaine (often all by more than one person). I cannot say anything about that, but if thatโ€™s your thing, this is your Disneyland.
I have to pass blame to booking.com. When you set filters for what you want in a room, it list places without the specific things you filtered for. So it's disappointing when the places you book fail to meet expectations.

The list of what this place offers is too short to bother with. What Sheela doesnโ€™t offer is astounding, oh where to begin? There really arenโ€™t windows. Beside the door thereโ€™s a floor to ceiling opaque window. The other window in the bathroom actually lacks a window. Itโ€™s just a screen which doesnโ€™t keep out the mosquitoes or smoke from all the fires in the area.
Bring earplugs because the nightclub music and chorus of barking dogs have no muffle--you know like a window and a door that fits into its frame. No refrigerator, no hairdryer, no upper sheet, just a couple of blankets. But youโ€™ll need that blanket because you may need to cover your head to keep out the mosquitoes. Later youโ€™ll need them to filter the smoke from constant fires.
Thereโ€™s no safe, and you know the lovely assortment of single serving instant coffee, teas with sugar packets and powder creamers that make waking up without a kitchen. Nope.
Oh but you do get a hose coming out of the ceiling in the bathroom which seems like some form of drainage. Rest assured you have to drain the condensation from the A/C somewhere and without a suitable window or exterior wall, what could be better then the floor under the bathroom sink. And the sink like camping only has cold water. I for none enjoy a cold shave in the morning;
I have to give Sheela credit when she earns it. We received a complimentary bottle of water (that is singular), but it was the whooping 500 ml size.
Waiters told us when giving the bill, โ€œService not included.โ€
In short, itโ€™s a great place to stay when you want to get away from the conveniences of a hotel. You know there are many hostels in town. If I was so presumptuous to make a suggestion to Sheela, it would be to add an โ€œsโ€ to the nameโ€ฆhotel becoming hoStel.

Room tip: Bring something to filter the smoke that wafts in through the windowless bathroom window.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NatureMorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2019

We booked this due to the proximity to the east gate and ticket office which worked really well at the crack of dawn. The hotel is no frills but provides all you need for a night or two. The room was quite cold in the afternoon and we requested a heater, but lack of power points meant we never ended up using it. We slept warmly under the two heavy blankets provided. The fact that our bathroom was open ventilated to the next door bathroom meant some interesting noises for both of us. The staff were helpful and friendly and it was very quiet at night until the call to prayer starts. Good location for the Taj, and places to eat and shop on your doorstep. Try Mr Jain for food, we at there twice, cheap and good food.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cathie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2018 via mobile

It's really sad that the management don't see the great potential of the little place! The grounds and location are perfect, just 2 minute away from the taj!
Staff are polite enough food OK. Room's and beds are filthy!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank dawndD7187RZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews