We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again..!!!”
Review of Hotel Sheela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sheela
Ranked #67 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Never again..!!!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I booked a double room for 500 rs for one night. After being taken to the room, however, I was told the room was 600 rs. When I said I had prebooked online through their website for 500 rs, the staff complained and asked for 600 rs payment asap. I had to go to the manager, find the email confirmation on my phone and show it to him to "prove" I had a confirmed room for 500 rs. After this, the manager tried to cover up saying I must not tell the other guests I am paying 500 rs instead of more!? Their attitude also turned really sour after we showed the email and didn't improve at all. The location is great (close to Taj), but the room was absolutely terrible on top of the dishonest service. The bed sheets had many holes, the bathroom was not hygenic and the beds were hard. I'm just glad we were there for only one night before moving on. If we had more time, we would have looked for a better place to stay. We ate at Shanti Lodge that night, where the staff were more helpful and friendly (though not sure what the rooms are like). Sheela is definitely not recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    179
    182
    89
    66
See reviews for
62
233
60
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nontron, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

I'd booked 2 nights at Sheela Hotel, received confirmation via email. When I got there, the manager checked his register, and told me I was going to his other hotel "Sheela Inn", "only 700m from here", he sent me there on a rickshaw. The manager there was not friendly or welcoming at all, and wanted to charge me more than the room I booked at Sheela, for a dull room in a hotel more than 1km from the Taj.
When you look at Sheela Inn reviews, you can see that they tend to do that often, so be warned if you book with them...
Terrible service!

Room Tip: Be careful, you might end up in Sheela Inn..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Hotel Sheela is a 1 minute walk from the Taj Mahal East Gate! However, the ticketing office for the Taj Mahal is a 10-15 minute walk in the opposite direction. (Take a left out of the hotel and walk straight). Rooms are basic, generally clean and very affordable. One thing of note: your taxi cannot drive all the way down the street where Hotel Sheela is located. You will have to get out and walk five minutes (or take a cycle rickshaw) to get to the hotel. Not a big deal, but good to know in advance so there is no confusion. I would definitely recommend this place for all budget travelers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I'm here Jan 2012 with my mom and sis. In term of the facility I can describe as so-so, cleanness of the blanket is totally inappropriate (you can smell the "acar"), in term of hot water you need to wait 10-15 minutes and it only for a while. Owh another one more thing they don't have heater in the room. Jan is very cold and we came from Malaysia and not really expose to this kind of whether.

In term of hospitality yes all of them is very helpful. Food owh yes they have very tasteful Indian food.

Walking distance to Taj what made us select this place and still within our budget.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Azreena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

AT our arrival, the personal at the reception was not reallyt friendly compared to all very nice people in guesthouses we met during our 2 weeks travel.
At the first impression the room seemed to be ok but at 5 o'clock in the night, we discover a big rat in the room. Once we switched on the light he escaped by a hole in the main door.
It was really disgusting and the guy at the reception did not seemed to be disturbed by that.
We were at the room 103 (located on the ground floor in the main path of the hotel entrance) and we paid 1000 rp.
Definitely to be avoided.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valerie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Be carefule there are 2 Hotel Sheela's from the same owner. We stayed in the newer one, which is about 800 meters away from the East gate, which is actually better as this gate is the only one you don't buy the tickets directly at the gate, but at the ticket office which is the opposite direction.
Room was basic, bathroom not very clean, shower in the middle of the bathroom without curtain, AC does not work in November. Don't try the food in the roof tool restaurant - breakfast ok, but the rest is terrible and not eatable, it actually makes you sick.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Most people go to Agra for a short time in order to see the Taj Mahal. For this, Hotel Sheela is perfect. It's very close to one of the Taj's entrances and provides an oasis of calm in which to stay. We stayed in a basic room which was fine (October - no aircon needed). The rooms were basic but clean. If you want luxurious all all the mod cons then go to the Oberoi but for around £8 per night Sheela can't be beaten. There is a lovely garden outside that serves good, reasonably priced food - especially nice with candle light in the evening. A great place to read and chill. I recommend you walk to the Shanti Lodge for a sundowner with a great view of the Taj Mahal.

I also recommend anyone to walk around the Kinari Bazar area of the town. Great to see a slice of the real Agra without all of the tourists - a real highlight! Oh and the Taj Mahal really is breathtaking!

Room Tip: Basic rooms are fine if no aircon is needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidking75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 144 in Agra
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saniya Palace Inn
Saniya Palace Inn
#90 of 144 in Agra
580 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sheela Inn
Hotel Sheela Inn
#105 of 144 in Agra
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kamal
Hotel Kamal
#82 of 144 in Agra
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Taj Plaza
Hotel Taj Plaza
#73 of 144 in Agra
484 reviews
1.9 mi away
Tourists Rest House
Tourists Rest House
#22 of 144 in Agra
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sheela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sheela

Property: Hotel Sheela
Address: East Gate, Taj Ganj, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Sheela 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sheela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheela Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing