We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find”
Review of Bansi Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bansi Home Stay
Ranked #4 of 201 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We always try and stay in home stays, the personal touch makes a big difference. We stayed just one night, but it was great.

The owner is on the premises, eats with the guests, and takes a great interest in their welfare. The food (we had both breakfast and dinner here) was simple but really nice, some of it being made as we ate, so super hot rotis off the pan, for example.

Rooms were really, really big, and very luxurious & comfortable. Staff very friendly, cleanliness top notch.

Have to pay in cash (no credit card facility), so just plan for that.

Would stay again here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There are only half a dozen rooms, they all seem to be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    74
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
91
177
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a great stay at Bansi! Mr Burman was an amazing host and he truly made us feel at home. We ended up getting in later then anticipated but had dinner ready for us within the hour. We had a traditional Thali dinner, all you can eat too which was great considering we just had a 6 hour drive from Delhi. The next morning we were up early to see the Taj Mahal and were given coffee and tea before we left and a full breakfast once we returned to the homestay. It was hospitality at its finest, not to mention the extra touches that were thrown in. My friend had been wanting these indian chips (chiwda) but couldn't find them anywhere so Mr Burman asked one of his staff to find it and buy her some. The rooms look exactly like they do in the photos, and the shower was great! Thanks to Mr Burman and all his staff at Bansi, we wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace just outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissyy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hi !
thank you soo much. You guys were great and had come to enjoy your India trip and that we
could feel the moment you all entered our home. We just did our little share. Take care till we meet again. D.K Burman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

It was a wonderful experience at Bandi Home Stay. We experienced by first hands a wonderful indian meal and receive very useful advices to go around not only Agra but some other special places in India.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Very big and clean. They all have great antique art work as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Armando C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for the kind review. I was also very happy to share my travel experiences with you.
Regards, Burman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I want to give a big shout out to our host, Mr. Burman! I found out 2 days into my trip that my credit card had been stolen and I needed to call Visa. Mr. Burman was nice enough to let me use his international cell phone to make the call and get the fraudulent charges reversed. He was so accommodating and truly happy to help.

Bansi was a lovely place to stay in itself. There was marble everywhere and a cute outside patio on the top floor where our room was at. We should have asked how the AC worked before going to bed. I'm sure it worked fine, we just couldn't figure it out. We could have also used some better quality pillows (but I'm kind of a pillow snob). Overall, it was a lovely place to stay on a quite street and the service was outstanding, including the excellent tali lunch.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Hello !
could you get all your money back or you landed up with three iPhone and five iPads !!
Thank God !! you did not locate the A/C switch in December other wise you would have been REAL cold in December in Agra. Our A/C throws out only cool air. We provide
heat converter's in winter's and the guests are quite happy with it.
I thought the pillows were comfhy but will now make arrangements for softer ones. Next visit we will give you the desired quality pillows.
Regards, Burman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

What can we say that hasn't already been said about the hotel, the service from Vinay and the house staff and Mr. Burman himself? It was all top notch!!
I hesitated booking our reservation here, but Mr. Burman convinced me (by phone and via a few emails) that his hotel was quite special and could not be compared with others in town and he was 200% correct!
From his wonderful, sincere and generous spirit he makes you feel "at home" at Bansi. We really felt cared for there. And it was the perfectly spiced chai and homemade chutneys that spoiled us for the rest of our stay in India!
The rooms were spacious and spotless. Wifi, television, a safe, sufficient drawers for clothing and a mini fridge was available in the room. The bathroom was wonderful with a fantastic shower and shampoos.
As tourists, we traveled the area by tuk tuk with Naheem (sp?) who was informative and a clear communicator ( and when requested... took us to the best petha shop in town!!). We would have preferred less "shop stops", but we learned how to avoid these later in our trip.
Overall, Bansi is a fabulous place, a homestay in Agra not to be passed up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Nancy,
how was the India experience ? I am so delighted to get the THREE B'S.
A big thank you. Burman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for 5 days, a well maintained property. Rooms are big and clean. The name says it all, it's definitely a "home stay" relaxed and comfortable place for short or long stay. Mr Burman, took genuine interest in listening and assisting in every way possible. Kohli ji and other staff took also helped in every aspect to meet our requirement. Though food was simple yet very tasty (giving assurance once again that it was a home stay)-served on request, which needs to be credited for. Quite convinced to stay at same place if I travel again to Agra.
Thank you "Bansi Home Stay."

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maheshmuralidhar007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Staying five days with us and posting such a nice review, Everyone at Bansi feels very grateful
A big thank you. Burman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was a wonderful find thanks to the positive Trip Advisor reviews!
Mr Burman is a jolly and charming host who will do everything possible to look after you. He arranged a driver Sanjay to pick me up in Delhi and we drove the 3.5 hours on the Yamuna expressway to Agra (the other route takes 6 hours - expressway is faster!). All the car details and Sanjay's number were emailed to me before my trip. Sanjay then drove to me to sights recommended by Mr Burman during my 2 night/3 day stay (Baby Taj, Mehtab Bagh, Taj Mahal, Fatehpur Sikri and Agra Fort). This was a great safe option for me as a single woman travelling alone.
Mr Burman advised visiting the Taj Mahal very early (6.30am) and provided a delicious breakfast when I returned to the homestay at 9am (the crowds were pouring in as I was leaving so early is definitely best!). I also took his advice on getting the very good audio guide - much better than a paid guide as it gives you space to enjoy the beauty and serenity of the place at your own pace.
Mr B also recommended and organised a guide for Fatehpur Sikri and Agra Fort. My guide Nadeem was a delightful young unversity history student and was excellent - definitely the best way to get the most out of these extensive historic sights.

The staff at Bansi homestay have all been working for Mr Burman for many years and it shows. They are attentive and thoughtful - with everything overseen by the jolly Mr B and his brother as his right-hand man. Mr B chats to you at breakfast and dinner (all meals were delicious), explains the food, and answers any questions you have about India. As a former director of tourism for 38 years, he knows his stuff! But you never feel pressured into anything or obliged to talk. It is all very relaxed and you really do feel like you are at home. The bedroom is large, clean and very comfortable, with a courtyard garden which I would have liked more time to sit in and enjoy.

This is a delightful place to stay and I'm so glad I came here first rather than staying in Delhi! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: The second floor has 2 large rooms and is on the same level as the courtyard garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank campbells05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Ms Campbell,
it was a pleasure and an honour to host you in our home stay. I sincerely
thank you for the nice and kind review. Look forward to welcome you again with your family.
With kind regards, Burman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 145 in Agra
2,736 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.3 mi away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bansi Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bansi Home Stay

Property: Bansi Home Stay
Address: 18 Handicraft Nagar, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 201 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bansi Home Stay 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home stay is located in a best administered colony on Fatehabad road of Agra. It is approved by U.P. Tourism (Govt. of Uttar Pradesh)We have 5 AC rooms with private bathrooms divided into two setups facing each other.Our kitchen is vegetarian, an evolving art with our very own chefs. Cumin, Coriander, Cardamom, Mustard, mango, ginger, fenugreek, turmeric, tamarind, saffron, curry leaf, coconut leaf, almonds and cashews….indeed these are only the seasonings! We will cater to special requests, and typically serve fresh, organic and locally procured produce and food from the very best sources. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bansi Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing