We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great homestay in an otherwise rather chaotic & disorganised city”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bansi Home Stay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bansi Home Stay
Ranked #4 of 192 Agra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great homestay in an otherwise rather chaotic & disorganised city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have visited Agra several times and dislike it as a city - the Taj is its' one redeeming feature! Having stayed at various hotels, none of which I would rush back to, it was great to find Bansi Homestay which is an oasis of calm in this busy place. The rooms/bathrooms were very clean and spacious, bed comfortable and shower adequate (could have been hotter but maybe there was a problem that day). Burman is a gracious host who obviously enjoys his role, the food was good and I would certainly recommend this homestay. I liked the fact that we were not pressured into anything (guides, tours, transport etc - though if you wanted assistance, I know it would be forthcoming). The staff were all polite and helpful, and very keen to please.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aj300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello !!
we have got the hot water fixed. The tubes which were broken by the monkey's have been
replaced. Now the solar water heater panels are working fine. Really grateful for bearing with us.
Regards, Burman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    74
    22
    7
    3
See reviews for
91
175
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I was looking through the list of hotels and accidentally clicked on the link to "B&B". As I've never lodged in a homestay due to the fear of being badly deceived, I was instantly attracted by the photos and the surprisingly high rating (#1 out of 119).

So eventually we took our chance with Bansi Homestay during our stay at Agra. I melted the moment we stepped into the compound. It was home away from home. Unlike the previous hotels we've been to, Mr Kohli immediately offered lunch knowing it was already 2.30pm. He also patiently discussed with us our itinerary for the duration we were at Agra.

I suffered a minor injury at the hotel due to my own carelessness but Mr Kohli and Mr Burman brought it upon themselves to make sure I was treated well at their own expenses.

Over meals, we had the most interesting conversations - ranging from personal sharing of their families to political/social/philosophical discussions of our countries!

The often overlooked housekeeping and kitchen staff must also be mentioned. They have done an excellent job in keeping the place spotless and cooking the most wonderful meals. We were even given a crash course on how to eat Indian food the Indian way!

I've stayed in many hotels, but this is only the 2nd place that has made me cry when it was time to go.

Thank you Bansi Homestay for everything!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaineseahzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Elaine,
thank you ever so much. You are such a fine family and your father is so well informed.
We had a great time sharing our experiences. We look forward to your visit again. Burman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and are really happy with the experience. Rooms are a very large and spotless. The location is really convenient and it's only a short drive away from all the monuments. The best thing of this homestay is the great service and the personal touch. They really helped us to plan our day. Breakfast and dinner were very good and it was great to eat together with the owner and the other guests. Altogether a great experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hemmik85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out and putting in a such a kind review. We really try to come up
to your expectations. Thanks once again and see you soon. Burman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udaipur
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

As a family were treated as special guests, firstly we were upgraded to a bigger room as we needed 2 extra beds. The owner was very kind as he arranged food to be brought to our room as one of us was ill. We enjoyed eating with the other guests and talking about our travels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Jayesh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hi Jayesh,
you are such a lovely son to your parents. You really took care of them. We were just
instrumental in doing what you desired. Thanks for selecting Bansi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

We were a group of 11 that stayed in Bansi Homestay for one night in October, in four rooms. Our arrival was delayed, and we were hungry and tired. However, Mr. Burman immediately arranged for the cooks to whip up a hot meal according to our jain diets. It was incredible! They served us hot chappatis from the pan to the plate along with freshly cooked vegetables and daal. We were so full that many of us could not even come down for dinner! The best part was however, the next morning's breakfast - since it was a Hindu fasting day - they cooked us a meal that exactly conformed to our strict standards! We were extremely touched by their thoughtfulness - they had carefully planned it all.
The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. They assisted us with all our sightseeing plans. Our only regret was that we did not stay longer. I would definitely come back here again.

Room Tip: We had Kanha, Shyam, Utsav and one more (the name of which I forget). They were all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Hello every body !
the other room was Pitamber. I am happy that the Bansi team took up your meal
requirements as a challenge and came up to your standards. We look forward to welcome you
again. Burman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

My family and I came from Bahrain and stayed at Bansi Burmans Home stay for 2 days. It was amazing, great people, made me feel as though I had known them my whole life. One could spend hours talking to Mr Burman and his associates, hearing the incredible stories he has to share. The food provided was delectable, no doubt some of the best Indian food I have personally had. The rooms were not what I expected, as I thought it would be small and under developed. Thought it turned out to be the complete opposite, very nice bedrooms, spacious, very nice and clean bathrooms, the beds were extremely cosy. Free wifi is provided which means you can still be in touch with people around the world. The home stay is located in a very convenient place, close to the Taj Mahal and town centre. All in all, I had a memorable experience and I certainly advise people to look into Bansi Burman Home stay, you will definitely not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishanguha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We also had a good time talking to you and really enjoyed your stay with us. Burman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

What is good ?

Proximity to Taj approximately 15 mins drive.This is could get more if you plan to visit during rush hours. Good quality vegetarian food, whats more they can custom tailor to your spice palate more or less as desired. Flexible, kid friendly food , which in our case is no spice , and preferably white sauce based usually. The chef was kind enough to accomodate. The rooms were big and clean, we stayed on the top floor Radha & Shyam - while the rooms were comfy, bear in mind , there is no view - its all curtains and beyond that you wouldnt want to try anything fancy.There is a mini garden on the top floor - nice place to sit for a relaxing evening. Didnt bother to check about wifi but cable was working just in case you need to stay indoors.

What could be better ?

A wine cellar would be just perfect addition if there is any space left! Not sure about non vegeterian cuisine or continental cuisine availability.There is no wine shop in the walking distance.I would have liked a buffet layout for breakfast perhaps instead of eat-what-we-have-cooked menu, while that is not bad at all,but just a larger variety would be appreciated.
Please carry cash because they recently got the credit card swiping machine and still are figuring out how to use it.

What's bad ?

Parking. Especially if you have a SUV - bear in mind its a dead end lane and reversing your vehicle could be a nightmare since the homestay is right at the end and there are vehicles parked at either end.Thought for first time India visitors, you should know that India has a strange way working things out - and while it maynot be the most perfect way of doing things- net of it - it still gets done. So if you do get your SUV stuck - it will eventually get out magically.No kidding.

Anecdotes :

Keep Hotel Atithi as a GPS landmark/guide and take the lane just after the hotel (assuming the hotel Atithi is on your left.)

Mr.Burman the owner and Mr.Kohli the manager are polite and sometimes it embarases you,but Indian hospitality is also about asking a couple of times more if you ve had enough to eat or make you try something which you are already stuffed with. Apply this basic logic , Indians believe that if you say its Good food then it = eat more.! If you eat less then perhaps they think its not cooked well.

Yamuna Expressway is just fine - well designed,smooth,good stop points for wash and rereshments,beware of speed violation even though you might see every second vehicle zooming past you.

Must view Taj only in the early mornings lest you have to deal with a sizeable noisy crowd.

Overall - its a good stay, perhaps comparable to better B&B's around the world.

Room Tip: Shyam on the third floor has a small garden out side - could be a good sit back and relax time enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aayanban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkburman, Owner at Bansi Home Stay, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out from your busy schedule and writing a helpful review.
The parking some how has really been magical and the guests come out pleasantly surprised.
Certain suggestions we cannot implement for the simple reasons of economy of scale.
We will remain a vegetarian set up.In an Indian home not to have a buffet
breakfast is deliberate. What about the personal touch !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sidhartha
Hotel Sidhartha
#29 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 mi away
Aman Homestay
Aman Homestay
#1 of 192 in Agra
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bansi Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bansi Home Stay

Property: Bansi Home Stay
Address: 18 Handicraft Nagar, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bansi Home Stay 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our home stay is located in a best administered colony on Fatehabad road of Agra. It is approved by U.P. Tourism (Govt. of Uttar Pradesh)We have 5 AC rooms with private bathrooms divided into two setups facing each other.Our kitchen is vegetarian, an evolving art with our very own chefs. Cumin, Coriander, Cardamom, Mustard, mango, ginger, fenugreek, turmeric, tamarind, saffron, curry leaf, coconut leaf, almonds and cashews….indeed these are only the seasonings! We will cater to special requests, and typically serve fresh, organic and locally procured produce and food from the very best sources. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Bansi Home Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing