We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words fail in front of The Taj...”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.00*
and up
Agra Tour From Delhi Including Home-Cooked Lunch in a Local Home
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Private Taj Mahal at Sunrise and Agra Day Tour from Delhi
More Info
$81.25*
and up
Private Tour to Agra From Delhi Including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort
Ranked #1 of 107 things to do in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Words fail in front of The Taj...”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Its a poetry in marble, a pure masterpiece..!
What else can I say, its The Taj!
Feel blessed if you had the opportunity to experience the grandeur the mausoleum first-hand. Its an experience which takes time to sink in completely. :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dhawal_Keswani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18,810
    2,877
    671
    132
    84
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Symbol of Love”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Its a symbol of real love, very nice monument to see although all the gems from Inside has been removed, Inside you can find Shahjahan & Mumtaz's Tomb, Behind Yamuna river (Not Very Clean) & the garden is the place to sit & relax by enjoying the cool breeze & view of Taj.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rahul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“REAL WONDER”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The beauty as known is great. Should visit during the Full moon.
What i disliked most was people not following rules laid by ASI. When it is clearly mentioned not to take photographs inside the Taj almost everyone was flouting the rules. Taj symbolises love peace but people were almost yelling inside the Taj.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanejasachin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular testament to love”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

the Taj is a must see if you go to India. Taking 27 years to build it is Shar Jahan's testament to the love he had for his wife. not only is the architecture amazing but the grounds are well kept and the gardens and fountains are lovely. All around you see people sharing this experience, people on their knees proposing and others sitting and enjoying the wonder that is the Taj. The marble inlay work is amazing and something you must see as it is becoming rarer in Agra and there are fewer people who do this work. Given that the Taj is such a source of interest and the main tourist attraction in Agra there are many hawkers. Simply be polite but firm with them if you are not interested in buying things. In addition a phrase I learned when I was in Agra was thank you but I am tired. This is a polite way of telling people you are not interested in buying. I used this many times successfully.If you are visiting India the Taj is a must. I would see it again if I had time. It is truly a wonder of the world and when you know and understand the story behind its building you will understand that it is one of the greatest testaments to love. But most of all enjoy the experience that is the Taj and simply sit for a period and take it all in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

There are no words to explain how I felt when I saw the Taj Mahal, you just have to experience it for yourself. Our guide was amazing, the locals were complaining about the heat, for us it was o.k. being just before the busy season there were not a whole lot of people around. Do your self a favour, go and see this amazing structure. We went at Sunset, next time we would like to go when there is a full moon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maeve68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing