We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking”
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Book In Advance
More Info
$67.00*
and up
Agra Tour From Delhi Including Home-Cooked Lunch in a Local Home
Ranked #1 of 107 things to do in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The Taj Mahal is better than expected. It is big, beautiful and very well respected by the Indian people and international community. It is 750 rupees for foreigners which includes water and shoe socks for inside the mausoleum. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18,633
    2,839
    651
    131
    82
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Hard to Get to, but Worth the Effort”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was on my bucket list. It was hard to get to Agra, since its 3 and ½ hours after you get to Delhi. The car lets you off about a half mile from the entrance. There are lots of people who want you to buy something.

However, once you are there, you can only say Wow. It definitely looks like 22,000 craftsmen worked 20 years to build this not so large place. The amount of carving needed though is staggering. By my math, that;s one half million man years of work.

Regardless of the effort, this was worth it.

I found 2 hours sufficient, though I can see longer. I selected this as 2 -3 hour attraction. A tour guide is mandatory, unless you really know your Taj Mahal. We paid 2,000 rupees, and found this a great investment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMcLeanVAFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificient Beauty..!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The beauty of Taj lies in the combination of it's giant structure and the precise workmanship with attention to each minute detail. Would love to visit this place again very soon. It's a true wonder..!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freelancer2416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Take a ride from a "cared for animal"”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We visited in September of 2012.Of course the palace itself is extrodinary but please please do not take a horse ride in as only electric cars and animal rides are the only way in. The horse we took looked abused and I didnt realize it until we were being pulled bythe poor thing. I told the driver to give him water but I dont think the driver cared. So if you do take an animal pass by the ones that don't look well and tell the driver why you arent taking their ride!
We had the pleasure of a local that we found on Viator. The whole day was very reasonable price and we met on time at the train station We also had a private driver as well who provided us a safe ride also. "Rajeev" knew quite a bit about Taj Mahal as he is from the area. He took numerous photos of us through little tricks that we would never have gotten without him. We took as long as we wanted as there was no rush, There are benches to sit on the grounds and just escape the horns and honking of the cities, There is a "tourist" like that Sikawar took us through because foreigners pay MUCH more than the locals to go in, we have a quick line and they let you in first. We kept our tickets as souveniers as they are dated.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mittensmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Vah Taj”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Taj is wonderful in this world. My first visit there and I have no words to describe. Yamuna looks beautiful from Taj. People all over world visit to Taj Mahal.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharmaedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

 
Agra, Agra District
Agra, Agra District
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing