We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Hotel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Marina
Ranked #107 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night on 16th of Aug. We were returning from Kanpur to Gurgaon but it got dark, so decided to stay in Agra. Room Rent was INR7000/- but was offered 50% discount. We got room on 4th floor.

The manager on the reception was short of smile on his face and was un-courteous. There was no welcome drink, nor i have seen smile on any staff member......

First impression was that room has not been opened for long time. Smell of moisture in bed-sheets, pillows .. all over....

I expected a LCD but there was a bad quality 21" CRT TV.

Breakfast was not up to mark... very very limited options...

I would never recommend this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank deepakpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    55
    71
    43
    31
See reviews for
63
46
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a budgetary hotel. Doesnt have much fancy stuff to offer like the 5 stars but the service is quite impressive. We requested for a quick breakfast at an odd time still we were served as per our convenience. The staff is supportive and concerned. I may suggest the hotel for low budgets.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karan83ssdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Rooms were dark and out dated. We could just make out e Taj from our room, as it is some distance from Agra, there appeared no meet and greet upon arrival and staff did not appear to go beyond what they were paid for, but i suppose that a lot of visitors are only there for a night to see the Taj and then off again.
There were a few shops in the lobby selling usually stuff, such as the stones used to build e Taj, and also jewellery, these staff were pleasant enough and we preferred to stay in the hotel as Agra was dirty and chaotic.....
Would personnel lay prefer a small hotel with a few personnel touches, as this felt a bit like a tourist conveyer belt. Service in the restaurant was not great either only wanted a tea but there appeared to be no staff so then order it for the lobby, as we had to wait for our room.
Food was a bit Standard and nothing to write home about and table was dirty....
Can not even recall having breakfast that memorable...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

A classic 4-star appearance. Nice lobby. Rooms - average for a 4-star, nothing special.

Our reservation was made a few months before arrival. On arrival, they did not have a room for us. We had to wait for at least 15 minutes before they allocated a room to us. No other guests at the reception at the time. A free cool drink was served while we waited. Customer services of the low-level staff was as expected from a 4-star hotel. However, the well-dreessed staff at the reception (the manager?) who allocated our room never smiled or gave a welcome expression throughout our stay. Internet access was available only at a desk they called 'business center'. Unfortunately, they said something was wrong so we did not have Internet access during our stay. This is the worst hotel experience we have had during this trip (we stayed in 6 hotels ranging from 3 to 4 stars in all).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldCouple2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel lobby smells, Shabbily dressed women at reception totally un courteous ,Ac doesn't work properly in the room, ph switches doesn't work, telephone charging plugs doesn't work ,over priced ,menu, no valley parking ,monkeys bathing in the pool , I have travelled all over india/world never had such a bad experience.Men staff was okay and courteous ,location is good,food is ok ,room service is very poor.

I booked three rooms for 12th and 13th july room no 303,304,306

Room Tip: never have a room at marina agra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

From name, it looked like just another hotel at a tourist place. However, everything including the food was good in the hotel. Only thing not liked was the high salinity of the water in the swimming pool. Hotel staff was courteous enough to serve food to the guests coming late at night. Overall a nice family stay option.
Tip: don't miss the sumptuous breakfast, go for a CP plan

Room Tip: Opt for a room facing the pool side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandeep b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, India
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went to agra on 4 june to attend a marriage and booked hotel marina by net for two nights. The property is centrally located and next to market that is the only attraction otherwise,
1) Very poor rooms seams the management only wants money from tourists and no maintinence.
2) We change two rooms at midnight although we were extremely tired as the AC was not working properly and after changing the room got to know that phone in the room not working.
3) Food not up to the mark.
4) If the management is finding hard to run the hotel it should close it.

WARNING PEOPLE VISITING AGRA SHOULD THINK TWICE IN STAYING THIS HOTEL although my previous stays in this hotel were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anuj729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
3.2 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
0.0 mi away
Hotel Atithi, Agra
Hotel Atithi, Agra
#70 of 146 in Agra
239 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Light House Agra
Hotel Light House Agra
#45 of 146 in Agra
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Vits Agra
Vits Agra
#26 of 146 in Agra
212 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Grand Imperial, Agra
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina

Property: Hotel Marina
Address: 16/2/8, Commercial Complex Sanjay Place, M.G. Road, Agra 282002, India (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing