We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nineteen Seventies or Nineteenth Century”
Review of Hotel Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Marina
Ranked #100 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nineteen Seventies or Nineteenth Century”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel came as part of a private tour package. It is strangely named being nowhere near any water.
On arrival we were not sure if the hotel dated from the nineteen seventies or the nineteenth century. Its marble floors, dark lobby and paint peeling from walls and ceiling due to damp gave it a colonial appearance.
It is not really a bad hotel, but the dark colours, limited facilities and unsmiling staff created a thoroughly depressing atmosphere, guaranteed to cancel out the euphoria of having just visited the Taj Mahal.
We had a large room with a huge bed, and the TV, air conditioning and bathroom, although old, still worked. However, the bedding and curtains had seen better days, and the room was damp.
Our room was on the second floor at the rear of the hotel. Our “view” was a dilapidated motorcycle repair shop and a litter-strewn street. The local pack of dogs howled, fought and barked all night below our window, which, being single glazed, offer no sound insulation. It may be quieter on the higher floors, but earplugs are recommended as a precaustion.
The restaurant served a typical “Golden Triangle” dinner buffet, and quality and price were fine. Three attempts to get milk to make tea in our room failed, and the procedure for accessing WiFi was equally difficult.
Would we stay there again? Not if there was an alternative available! After a great day in Agra, Hotel Marina was a disappointment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    55
    71
    43
    31
See reviews for
63
46
13
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a night as other better rated hotels were sold out due to extended weekend in August 2012. Nothing much to write about it. Old property, decade old TV set with analog signals. The whole room was damp with moisture. Checked other rooms and they too had the same problem. Food was good and palatable.

Try other star category hotels which are available at the same price and are much better.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinodkaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Pune
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had a great experience on my wedding ceremony at Hotel Marina, Agra on 29th June 12; I was very satisfied with all the arrangements and the packages which hotel offered me. I really appreciate the way as the banquet manager Mr. Abhash managed my wedding; He let me pick exactly what I wanted; He explained me everything in very transparent way and executed them in very perfect manner as I expected. Every aspect was perfect on wedding day; I was able to customize my ceremony to fit my desires and make it very personal; this all happened because of banquet Manager Mr Abhash. My guests stayed their for 3 days, I didn't hear any sort complain from them for their stay; their stay was fine. Thanks to Mr. Abash!! for his wonderful job.

Thanks,
Ajit

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajit154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were a large group of 6 that stayed at the Marina, Agra. It is centrally located in Agra and quite close to the Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort. The Rooms were adequate and clean and the service prompt. This hotel primarily caters to the package tourist and was a host to quite a large group of foreign tourists during our stay. The Food was about average in the buffet and the breakfast was mainly continental and quite substantial. Overall a decent stay for a short trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tekumallakarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathi manoos
Level Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Hotel Marina is different than many other Agra hotels. Its a business hotel located near the business district. Hence very less number of tourists are seen around. Staff is courteous and service is reasonably fast.

Food is better than average and served quite fast compared to many other hotels in this category. Rooms are quite and reasonably clean. When checked in, the mini bar was empty. Initially there were some issue with the card enabled ele. switch but it worked. May be because we were guests of an eminent person the service and attention we received was good.

i just stayed there for a night but experience was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canpush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I expect to write reviews of hotels which has some bit of goodness in it. This is the worst hotel I had come up during my travels. I received a room filled with dust. Added to it the electrical had issue. And not to mention the WC was pale yellow in color which is never expected from a property. Hotel Marina is no longer a part of Holiday Inn and hence this is my first review in which I would add a word of caution to fellow travelers. Look out for other hotels.

Room Tip: Stay away from this property is all I can recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank way2anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This was the worst hotel I stayed in India.
(1) Staffs of the hotel behaves as if they own the whole hotel. They don't respond to any of our complaints seriously. Our problems seems to be their jokes. Low standard of performance. Tips seemed to be the only thing they cared.
(2) Blackouts, I only stayed there for two nights and the few times of blackouts I experienced in the hotel was just unacceptable.
(3) Hotel garden at the 3rd floor was just filled with so much bird droppings that you would avoid, though it was kind of a common thing in India.

Room Tip: Please do not be fooled by the travel agents or internet that IT WAS Holiday Inn BEFORE, because, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Alleviate
Hotel Alleviate
#25 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.1 mi away
PL Palace Lords Inn Agra
1.1 mi away
G Hotel
G Hotel
#49 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bhawna Clarks Inn - Agra
4.8 mi away
Hotel Light House Agra
Hotel Light House Agra
#50 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nuova Hotel
Nuova Hotel
#60 of 145 in Agra
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marina

Property: Hotel Marina
Address: 16/2/8, Commercial Complex Sanjay Place, M.G. Road, Agra 282002, India (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing