We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No... no... no... - it's frankly horrid!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #13 of 145 Hotels in Agra
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“No... no... no... - it's frankly horrid!”
Reviewed August 12, 2008

So, I'll try keep this objective (though I think the place sucks!).

1. if you're curious to see what it's like in a service environment where not one single person smiles, this is the place to go. Let's be clear, I can't stand the "Miami-fake-smiles", but this place is populated by the most miserable looking staff we've ever met.

2. standard is run down... in fact, when I raised an issue even a senior member of the hotel staff said "I actually think the star rating of this place is much higher than it should be, not like places I worked before" (says something, doesn't it). of course, they're working on that.... in fact they were renovating as we arrived and the lobby looked as a construction site (they just forgot to mention that when I called and asked if the pool was working again since another review here alerted me to the POOL renovation.. "yes sir, renovation is done" (guess they only thought of the pool)

3. price is HIGH. Not liking the hotel, I checked in with Sheraton to maybe change as we arrived. Now Sheraton IS a luxury place with great amenities, and their rack price was LOWER than the Howard's (no, we didn't change - couldn't since we booked via net)

4. Restauran sucks... 32 confused waiters, not nice food... in fact, I think the "resraurant" is only geared for the 'all inclusive' tourists arriving with package tours in the buses.

Ok, enough now.. I can go on, but frankly it comes down to this: if you visit Agra, do.... not.... waste.. your... money... here!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RikardS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    431
    249
    91
    55
See reviews for
322
354
72
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2008

2 nights 24/5 June 2008
Great place to stay, very helpful staff, good off season rate 2400IRU, had a Ayurvedic Massage 1200IRU, it was a great experience, the pool was still closed. They had a Marble craftsman Salim in the shop showing how they do the work, very interesting. Lovely friendly man. Breakfast was included in the price, I had the Indian it was great as well, only concern was the internet cost an extra 500IRU for 24 hrs.

  • Liked — Atmosphere, friendly helpful staff, benu
  • Disliked — renovation work, noisy at times during the day
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank coldix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having your stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback. We were especially delighted to read your positive comments you made about the Hotel and the Services.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire, england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2008

Hotel is smart, clean and well located to access Taj Mahal and Agra.

After a bad hotel in Delhi, this was a very welcome relief. The Building is modern, but attractive, with a small driveway and garden area overlooking a busy traffic island. Despite this, it is quiet inside the building.

The reception / lobby area is quite grand for a relatively cheap hotel, with nice chandeliers. check-in was very efficient. room was spacious and had a nice bathroom. not very indian - looked like a western chain hotel, but smart all the same. most importantly, the air con worked well, the bed was comfortable and you couldn't hear the traffic outside.

Lunch in restaurant was fairly tasty and a wide range to choose from. breakfast buffet was very good with lots of indian and western choices.

For a short visit to see Taj Mahal, would definitely recommend this place. Only complaint is that pool was closed for maintenance.

  • Liked — clean, cool and quiet
  • Disliked — pool was closed
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisclaire08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having your stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback. We were especially delighted to read your positive comments you made about the Hotel and the Services.

Sincere apologies for inconvenience you had, We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We stayed here as part of a Golden Triangle tour - and it seems as if most of the other guests were also staying for only a brief visit. The swimming pool was not working, and the advertised beauty, hair, spa etc were nowhere to be found. The bar contained nothing but beer and whiskey, so we didn't stay there for too long! We ate in the restaraunt and found the food pleasant, but rather overpriced. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and the usual egg chef, but fresh food was being regularly put out, and the coffee was fine. Checkout was a disaster, the two staff on duty simply could not cope, and eventually our guide had to step in, or I think we may still be waiting to escape. Our room was large, and overlooked air conditioning units, but in the distance we could see the top of the Taj Mahal, and that made up for everything! We tried to explore the local area but found the touts so harassing, that we gave up and stayed in the hotel.

  • Liked — A view of the Taj Mahal
  • Disliked — Poor bar, poor checkout
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tranquilnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2008

This hotel would have been okay ish if the pool was up and running, but as it is we had to use an auto rickshaw and pay 250 Rupees each to use a pool nearby when ever we felt the need, which in the April heat was often. There could have easily been an arrangement between the hotels, but there was none and no compensation was offered either. Apparently they have been renovating the pool since November last year, which was well before we booked our trip and had we known we would never have booked with them. The hotel backs onto a local school, so you wake up to a pesistent bell early each day, or wait a while and the angle grinders will get you up! From talking to other travellers, it seems most people only come to Agra for a couple of days...definitely would recommend you plan your trip that way too.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CarolynFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

The pool was closed for refurbishment & no recipricol arrangement was available at other hotels without paying c300 ruppees pp per half hour. When we asked where we could sit outside instead, we were taken to 2 sets of locked doors showing us the so-called "roof terrace" which was advertised as having views of the Taj Mahal & told we could not go out there either. There was nowhere to sit in the sun & we were told not to even open the bedroom window because of the monkeys. When we went outside we were harrassed constantly by taxi drivers as we walked.
The local entertainment-a puppet show in the fancy foyer-involved drums throughout the evening-which could be heard in the bedroom.
The breakfast was great but having Pizza Hut & Cosca coffee nearby was a welcome change from Indian Fare.
Like others, we were wrongly charged for water we didn't use from the mini-bar.

  • Liked — Buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — nowhere to sit outside within the Hotel complex
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Scotwimmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having your stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback.

Sincere apologies for inconvenience you had, We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I stayed in Park plaza on April the 9th and I lke it although it was average hotel, the room was clean but had I funny smell, and it seems like it need a renovation. The staff in the reception was Ok but in the restaurant they were not very friendly. To spend only one night it is ok.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having your stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback.

Sincere apologies for inconvenience you had, We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
1,490 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
1,196 reviews
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.7 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#79 of 145 in Agra
1,465 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Property: Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#11 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#12 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing