We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but don't get a room near street!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #11 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night for business and would stay again.

Had a room overlooking street which was horrible!!! The street noise was too loud which was difficult to get a good rest even with ear plugs.

Nice gift shops inside

Room was nice and clean but there was water damage to a wall

Bathroom needed some small repairs to tile

Minibar did not get cold

First hour of wifi per room is free otherwise it's Rs300 ($5.03) for 12hrs

Buffet dinner could have had more non vegetarian options

Did not use pool because of time

The staff's English was good to great

The bed was really firm...not sure if this is the same for all rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Med107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,240)
There are newer reviews for Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,240 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked 2 plaza rooms from 6/29 to 6/30/2013. After check in & reaching towards the first allocated room, we found out that it was still being cleaned & stank of vomit which the cleaning staff couldn't notice because of obvious reasons! Got this room changed !! Other room was fine. We booked both rooms to be with king size bed but they could only give us rooms with single beds. Rooms were advertised to be with bathtubs & bathrobes which were missing! Crickets in rooms were not advertised but were present in the rooms in large numbers. Free -Wifi provided per room only for one hour. Both dinner & breakfast buffet were pathetic along with the service. Anything you ask at the reception & pat comes the favourite one liner " Sir..let me check & i will come back to you" which eventually doesnot happen! Thankfully it was only a one night stay & we got through this nightmare of a hotel. Kindly avoid if you want to have a good time!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rohitshokeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Location is about 10 kms from yamuna express way . We stayed with family & kids, had a terrible experience.
Horrible services, room services are simply pathetic, you'll order & wait for the stuff to arrive for 1.5-2hrs, which is really disappointing.
Very small rooms with no cleanliness, I had seen so many people were fighting with hotel GM (MR CHANDER BHUSHAN SINGH).i had planned my stay for three days but left the hotel in only one day .We had a horrible experience. The restaurant food was so bad that I got sick. Breakfast was poor, not clean and food was keep out of the refrigerator, so the fruit (pineapple and melon) was fermented. The tap water was dirty (not acceptable). There were roaches and bugs on the breakfast room. The AC was turned off in the evening to save power. Rude staff. Management ignored all complaints. Will not recommend. Just very bad!
Worst hospitality experience..



Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank SANDEEPJAIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOWARDPLAZA, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Mr.Sandeep
Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
At outset please do accept my sincere personal apologies
It is very surprise to know that feedback form filled by your family member is excellent.
While I regret the inconvenience you had experienced, may I assure you that, your comments with regard to these issues have been taken up with our department heads to ensure that our usual high standard is always maintained and such incidents do not reoccur. Please be rest assured your this experience was certainly not reflective of our usual standard of service and I do apologize for the inconvenience they were caused. It was most kind of you to have brought the matter to our attention & valuable feedback of yours would help us to continue monitoring and improving our service and product standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

General Manager
Howard Plaza Agra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed at the Howard Plaza in September 2006 and December 2007.
Hotel was clean, staff friendly and service excellent. Good food was the order of day with a variety of choices
Location was 1km from the Taj (which was partly visible from the roof top) and very close to shops.
Area around the hotel was not so great but that is the norm in most cities and towns in India which makes walking into the hotel like an oasis in the desert. If ever I go back to Agra I would stay at the Howard Plaza again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Facilities - Shopping area , Pool , Terrace Restaurant , SPA & gym options available. Great experience dinner at the terrace @ Terrace Grill (don't miss it).
Room was good and bed comfortable. Big minus wi-fi (chargable) in room, average spread for breakfast.
The off season rate was fantastic but with regular pricing the same facility would not get the same review, Staff and service is good, they could improve in maintenence, all in all the hotel needs to improve as per the brand name and the regular charges.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool facing rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pros -
Facilities - Shopping area , Pool , Terrace Restaurant , SPA & gym options available.
Memorable experience would be our dinner at the terrace @ Terrace Grill (don't miss it).

Cons -
Rooms average, not at all of 3 star standard ; On the website its mentioned as Family friendly & having an option for baby sitting/children area but nothing like that.
Bath accessories were average & were delivered only after multiple reminders.

Would recommend to opt for Raj Mahal or The Retreat which provides better facilities within the same budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshishBansal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were in hotel on 23rd May 2013.
Service is good at this place staff is courteous.
We had 4 rooms and all rooms had problems with the air conditioning , being summer it was difficult to manage with kids
The Gym and SPA is not upto the mark, you wil not want to return there for your sessions.
Food quality requires improvements.
They have a good rooftop restaurant with Taj View

Rgds
Avinash BHATNAGAR

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhatanagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,583 reviews
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.5 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 142 in Agra
3,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#11 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $37 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing