We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good discount option in off season .... other wise an expensive option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #11 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Facilities - Shopping area , Pool , Terrace Restaurant , SPA & gym options available. Great experience dinner at the terrace @ Terrace Grill (don't miss it).
Room was good and bed comfortable. Big minus wi-fi (chargable) in room, average spread for breakfast.
The off season rate was fantastic but with regular pricing the same facility would not get the same review, Staff and service is good, they could improve in maintenence, all in all the hotel needs to improve as per the brand name and the regular charges.

Room Tip: Ask for the pool facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Pros -
Facilities - Shopping area , Pool , Terrace Restaurant , SPA & gym options available.
Memorable experience would be our dinner at the terrace @ Terrace Grill (don't miss it).

Cons -
Rooms average, not at all of 3 star standard ; On the website its mentioned as Family friendly & having an option for baby sitting/children area but nothing like that.
Bath accessories were average & were delivered only after multiple reminders.

Would recommend to opt for Raj Mahal or The Retreat which provides better facilities within the same budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AshishBansal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were in hotel on 23rd May 2013.
Service is good at this place staff is courteous.
We had 4 rooms and all rooms had problems with the air conditioning , being summer it was difficult to manage with kids
The Gym and SPA is not upto the mark, you wil not want to return there for your sessions.
Food quality requires improvements.
They have a good rooftop restaurant with Taj View

Rgds
Avinash BHATNAGAR

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bhatanagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived at hotel and were greeted by Moses who said to let him know if we need anything etc etc - we never saw him again. Room was good and bed comfortable. We dined the first night upstairs at restaurant and were the only people there - food average as well as service. My main gripe was the breakfast buffet - three mornings we had breakfast at varying times and each morning the food was sparse - bain maries laid empty. It was the same every morning and staff seemed to undertake their duties reluctantly. I found them (one in particular) to be quite rude and nearly intolerant of tourists. I found the front desk staff to be indifferent and I had a facial and the hotel spa which left my eyes burning and red for hours. Of course when I paid for this I was not given any change and inconvenienced him greatly by asking for it! He had to go the the front desk to get change and thought it a funny kind of joke or something which infuriated me as I was not happy with the facial to start with and certainly was not going to give a tip on top of the expensive price.The door men were the saving grace of the hotel and indeed were the only ones that offered a genuine smile and greeting. I rarely write negative reviews but I found generally throughout India the same kind of service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IncaPerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Lovely hotel with the best beds. Nice big pool plenty of shade. Nice restaurant up top with good food and reasonable price. The only thing was they sprayed for bugs whilst we were eating but stopped as soon as we asked. Front reception staff very helpful going out of their way. Front doorman a character. We really enjoyed this hotel and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All good can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed in this property during the third week of May in Agra's sweltering heat.

On check-in after a arduous bus journey from Jaipur, we were thrilled to know that we had been upgraded to a Club Room on the 1st Floor.

Rooms are nice with all modern amenities, a Sony 32inch LCD, and a well stocked mini-bar. Washrooms have a great shower area with a good rain shower. The bed was quite comfy too.

The air-conditioning in the rooms were very weak, to the effect, that we had to even change a couple of rooms to find the proper chill. The management surely needs to look into this.

Breakfast at the coffee shop was very average in taste and choice....infact, we had a full repeat of the buffet breakfast menu on the second day morning from the first....and that is RARE in a hotel of this category.

Must make a mention of Moses at the Front Desk though, who made every effort possible to make our stay a really pleasant one.

And at the prices they offer the rooms at, its a deal !!!!! Go check it out, folks!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dipsy-luvs-to-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel was incredibly close to the Taj Mahal which was the main selling point. The room was very large and the staff happily moved us to a quieter room when you could hear a lot of traffic noise with the first room. There is a roof terrace from which you can see the Taj Mahal if you stand in the right spot. Service on the roof terrace was very, very slow, even when we were the only customers up there and were only ordering drinks. The pool area was nice and there were a few monkeys around which was fun. The food was OK at best. Service in the restaurants was OK but inattentive. My major memory from this hotel will be the fact that our room was infested with crickets. Over the course of one evening and night we disposed of over 30 crickets in the room and I am certain we did not get them all. Over all a good location, pretty room, poor waiter service and too many crickets.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucile_park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 143 in Agra
1,659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.8 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#14 of 143 in Agra
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#10 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $63 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing