We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel with pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #12 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Northumberland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“An average hotel with pleasant staff”
Reviewed April 29, 2008

We stayed here as part of a Golden Triangle tour - and it seems as if most of the other guests were also staying for only a brief visit. The swimming pool was not working, and the advertised beauty, hair, spa etc were nowhere to be found. The bar contained nothing but beer and whiskey, so we didn't stay there for too long! We ate in the restaraunt and found the food pleasant, but rather overpriced. Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice and the usual egg chef, but fresh food was being regularly put out, and the coffee was fine. Checkout was a disaster, the two staff on duty simply could not cope, and eventually our guide had to step in, or I think we may still be waiting to escape. Our room was large, and overlooked air conditioning units, but in the distance we could see the top of the Taj Mahal, and that made up for everything! We tried to explore the local area but found the touts so harassing, that we gave up and stayed in the hotel.

  • Liked — A view of the Taj Mahal
  • Disliked — Poor bar, poor checkout
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tranquilnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    447
    255
    93
    55
See reviews for
349
362
77
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2008

This hotel would have been okay ish if the pool was up and running, but as it is we had to use an auto rickshaw and pay 250 Rupees each to use a pool nearby when ever we felt the need, which in the April heat was often. There could have easily been an arrangement between the hotels, but there was none and no compensation was offered either. Apparently they have been renovating the pool since November last year, which was well before we booked our trip and had we known we would never have booked with them. The hotel backs onto a local school, so you wake up to a pesistent bell early each day, or wait a while and the angle grinders will get you up! From talking to other travellers, it seems most people only come to Agra for a couple of days...definitely would recommend you plan your trip that way too.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CarolynFelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2008

The pool was closed for refurbishment & no recipricol arrangement was available at other hotels without paying c300 ruppees pp per half hour. When we asked where we could sit outside instead, we were taken to 2 sets of locked doors showing us the so-called "roof terrace" which was advertised as having views of the Taj Mahal & told we could not go out there either. There was nowhere to sit in the sun & we were told not to even open the bedroom window because of the monkeys. When we went outside we were harrassed constantly by taxi drivers as we walked.
The local entertainment-a puppet show in the fancy foyer-involved drums throughout the evening-which could be heard in the bedroom.
The breakfast was great but having Pizza Hut & Cosca coffee nearby was a welcome change from Indian Fare.
Like others, we were wrongly charged for water we didn't use from the mini-bar.

  • Liked — Buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — nowhere to sit outside within the Hotel complex
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Scotwimmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having your stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback.

Sincere apologies for inconvenience you had, We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I stayed in Park plaza on April the 9th and I lke it although it was average hotel, the room was clean but had I funny smell, and it seems like it need a renovation. The staff in the reception was Ok but in the restaurant they were not very friendly. To spend only one night it is ok.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having your stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback.

Sincere apologies for inconvenience you had, We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2008

The desk staff at this hotel are very unfriendly and not at all interested in helping--either with check-in, currency exchange or directions. Additionally, when we arrived, our air conditioning was not working and it took more than an hour to get moved to a room with working air and then, it was a much smaller room. No apologies on the part of the desk staff or manager. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank happytrails500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was indeed a pleasure having your stay with us and we are grateful for your feedback.

Sincere apologies for inconvenience you had, We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

Reasonable quality hotel with a nice and good value restaurant downstairs. There is also a terrace restaurant on the roof with (distant) views of the Taj Mahal.

  • Liked — Localtion & restaurant
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plamingos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2008

Good, clean hotel for a short stay in Agra. Situated close to the Taj Mahal. Resturant is nothing to rave about. Food is ok. Don't order the Pizza! Service at the resturant can be improved.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank RajaHindustani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 9, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.5 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,903 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Property: Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#11 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing