We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay in a hectic city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #12 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I suppose I can't totally compare prices in Agra to some of the prices we paid for similar quality hotels in other cities in India, but all the same I thought the price here was a bit high for the quality received as compared with very similar hotels in Delhi and Jaipur. But, I suppose in Agra you might pay more for the general security of this premise in the heart of Agra (which is a much more chaotic and dirty city than we were expecting), and its proximity to the Taj Mahal. At any rate, price was decent, and quality was nice enough, and comfortable. Gym left a little to be desired (although at least they had one) - 2 fairly beaten up treadmills and an all-purpose weight setup in a fairly small room in the basement. The breakfast was very nice and the service was great, room was comfortable and clean. Wifi in the room was kind of variable, which could be frustrating at times. Entire premise is under pretty high security, which is a pretty nice feeling given it's busy location. You get some noise off the street as a result of the location, but it does die down overnight to where it wasn't a problem for us. Don't bother with using the hotel travel desk to arrange taxis around town unless you're looking for multiple stops - you can grab a tuk-tuk right outside the gate for 1/4 of the price the travel desk will try to charge. Which is pretty standard practice among tourist hotel like these so not really a knock against them for doing it, but just a tip for those comfortable with negotiating outside the gates.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pummy17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,304)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

778 - 784 of 1,305 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

With a couple of exceptions the service in this hotel is terrible. On arrival our room wasn't ready, even though it was 2am and I had emailed saying we would be late due to train. Had to wait while they checked a room. Then had to move rooms next day because of a noisy generator which they then down graded us to an old disgusting room with terrible bathroom.
Food was good, but staff are really lacking in skills for a hotel of this price range and customer service does not seem a priority. If you are looking for a hotel near the taj mahal then this is adequate but it is over priced for level of service and quality you would expect.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexellenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

While researching for hotels in Agra, I realised that there were very few options for Hotels which are mid-tier, good value, with amenities one would desire.

When I came across Howard's Plaza and even after booking it; I didn't have much expectations from it. However all of us in the group were pleasantly surprised how well maintained and grand the property looks for the price. Esp when compared to other options in the same price range. The rooms were well-appointed and comfy. The service was quick, only gripe being that the bell-boys and attendants seemed to be very 'tips-focused'. They used to linger around longer after the work was done and used to ask us repeatedly if everything was well. Well that's something you can ignore!

The rooftop lounge looks great and apparently had a view of the Taj Mahal. However due to heavy fog and biting cold we just surveyed the area before scurrying back into our comfortable rooms. The breakfast buffet was average and just about satisfactory. They have an excellant emporium selling a large variety of local artisans' work and a lot of other knick-knacks. Its takes a while to just window-shop and if you run into Mr.Salim, the artisan specialising in marble motifs and in-lay work; he can keep you engaged for close to an hour with an interesting discussion on his work and the current plight of all the artists in Agra.

Its located at a central area with a lot of restaurants in the vicinity about 10mins walk to the Taj! Do drop into the Silk Route Restaurant right opposite it for a superb meal. We were there only for a night and wouldn't mind coming back here if we choose to stay in Agra another time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krishna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed with family during our visit on Christmas Eve of 2012. The hotel staff was very professional and helpful. Location of the hotel is good as it is about 1 Km drive for Taj West Gate entrance point. The hotel boast off swimming pool and spa. The room was comfortable and amenities reasonably good. Dinner served on Christmas Eve was good but nothing extraordinaty. The service remained good and consistent. We enjoyed the evening with Christmas Carol and festivities. The only problem we faced was elevator. It needs immediate repair / replacement. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kapsha_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

. Great service from front office staff, and reasonably good service from the restaurant staff. The room was very nice but the food though was below expectation, as it wasn't tasty at all. Internet was cheap but not working at all. Even with the help of their IT manager, who by the way was extremely service minded. Overall impression: above expectation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeathToThePixiesBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Straight to the point, the hotels been renovated and gives it a brand new feel, The pricing is slightly on the higher side but considering its the tourist season I think its fair enough for a person who can afford it. The Bar on the Roof-top is top class and the food absolutely brilliant. The Apple Lychee Martinis deserve a mention but for a person who enjoys his drinks, you might need a Tank-full to feel happy. Pretty decent pool and my room which was a double was fantastic. Recommend it highly for its close proximity to the TajMahal.

Room Tip: Corner suites surely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChillGoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

To see the Taj Mahal you have to treat it like a date with a beautiful woman, prepare right and make sure you are fully energised for the moment that you will remember for the rest of your life and this hotel allowed us to do this easily. The only issue was no free wifi (100rs per hour), the hotel is a small can ride to the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. The hotel is very clean, the staff helpful and also the shiek guy on the door looks pretty handy. A must for weary travellers though a little pricy for the backpacker.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisTypeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,637 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.7 mi away
Orient Taj
Orient Taj
#110 of 142 in Agra
1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#11 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $58 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing