We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #11 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“do not stay here”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

this hotel is going through a renovation we were booked by an agent and only stayed an hour the hotel is a building site noise dusty fire exits blocked this was pointed out to the management But did not seem to understand the danger to guests

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximdeparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 18, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    451
    256
    94
    55
See reviews for
357
367
78
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westervoort, Gelderland, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very nice and clean hotel above average for the money. We payed INR 4.500 for double room + breakfast. Large rooms, helpful staff and good food for breakfast and dinner. There were some construction-works going on, but that was a minor problem. When I had pain in my back and legs and had to lie down after a massage, it was no problem to postpone checkout from 12.00 till 19.00

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I was there for the past 2 days. Basically breakfast was good. Good selection and tasty. Rooms were clean and spacious. Very near to the main attraction Taj Mahal. Staffs were friendly and helpful. Good coffee shops and pizza hut near by. No free wifi was a little setback. There is extensive renovation going on. So the smell of chemical and paint was irritting but Once it's over it will be a very nice hotel to stay. Oh yah the spa. Hmm don't foot facial it's lousy. But head massage was good. Overall review about hotel.., value for money. Definitely will recommend to others and will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARALAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cochrane, alberta
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Also known as Howard Plaza on Expedia. They are under a major renovation right now. They had us eating the terrible meals in the basement which is very dark and stuffy. Don't be fooled by the nice lobby pictures, the lobby is under construction and that chandelier is all that's in there. They don't tarp off the construction so all the fine dust is in the air you're breathing. The rooms are still old and the carpet is mildewy. The bathrooms are terribly small and not so clean. They are doing one floor per year, keeping the guests on the floor right above construction which doesn't stop until very late at night. We reserved this room before construction started, so had no idea. When we asked for a refund due to feeling mislead, they said there was nothing they could or would do. So we lost one night fees because it wasn't worth staying.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kalikea83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 18, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I heard many reviews from previous visitors and most of them are quite correct and some are now been taken care by hotel.

Overall I would say :
* Ambiance and Cleanliness is V Good of the Rooms.
* Food Quality is up to the mark and there is a scope for little improvement.Overall good.
* Hotel Staff is Very Co-operative and good hospitality.
* Since Construction is going on rite now (Sep 10 - 2012) so little bit untidy entrance.Should get better once finished.
* Hotel Amenity quite good :Gym, Pool, SPA , Lounge.
* Bathing area could have been much better, only issue was the lesser space.Quite small.

Paying Rs 2700 per night is not that bad deal.Voted Up for this hotel.

Regards,
Rahul Ramchandani.

Room Tip: All Rooms Facing toward Road are good, Nice View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RahulRamchandani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

The lobby is a war zone and the reception staff were courteous but not that helpful. We arrived at 8:45pm and construction works were still going on, we were told they were 9am to 9pm. We moved rooms because to pay the price they ask here for that noise is a bit silly. Once we moved it was not so bad, but again stay when the refurb is over. The room was clean and comfortable, very much your standard 4 star chain hotel package.Overall, the breakfast was good with variety, the staff there were very keen to assist. The pool was ok, the location pretty good. I would stay here again once the refurb was completed but that , as with everything, would be dependent on price.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank neverenough44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, January 22, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta, West Bengal, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I was in Howard Sarovar Portico for one night with my colleague in the mid of June, 2012. We took an executive twin bed-room. The room was magnificent with almost all modern features. It is a 4-star hotel and the hotel and room facilities provided by them prove its excellence. This hotel is one of the good quality hotels in Agra. Room was large, beautifully decorated with a combination of dark red and transparent printed white coloured curtains, table lamps, sofas etc. Bed was extremely comfortable, bed-sheets and quilts very clean-nicely placed over the bed. Still I can feel the comfort of that bed. I can still feel the touch of that bed. Bathroom was very neat and clean with several facilities like bathtub, hair drier etc. swimming pool was also good and clean. Complementary breakfast was awesome with large variety and taste, anybody would love it. U will have plenty of options in their dining. I would definitely love to stay in this kind of hotels.

I won't say anything about service since we did not seek any service as such from them. One thing bad about this hotel is that they have some hidden charges which they don't disclose at the time of entry. The customer will come to know at the time of check out. So, travelers be aware of that.

Room Tip: Get back side rooms at higher floor facing swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Animeshroy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 143 in Agra
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.5 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Property: Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#11 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing