We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Ranked #12 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night during our recent honeymoon to India. The hotel is extremely centrally located, you could walk to the Taj Mahal in no time at all. Our room was nice and the hotel staff were very welcoming, professional and helpful. And the breakfast was delicious! We ate at their rooftop restaurant and it was easily one of our worst meals in India, but there is a nice view of the Taj so if you go to the roof stay for a cocktail and then eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyEllaBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    447
    255
    93
    55
See reviews for
349
362
77
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed many times in this hotel in Agra. The rooms are always clean, the location is great and the service is excellent. At the reception the welcome is warm, the housekeeping is great, my room was always best cleaned. As many times I went to the restaurant, I had great feeling after a long and tiring day in Agra.
They provided great variety of food, excellent taste and the service in the restaurant was always great and perfect. Thank you very much for all the stuff helping and serving me:)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank szabi274887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Large hotel located very near the Taj Mahal. Very comfortable bed and pillows. Hairdryer provided, satellite TV with lots of channels. Internet available at a cost. Poor water pressure in bathroom. 2 large bottles of complimentary water provided. Good bar with wonderful views and good variety of food at breakfast buffet in restaurant. Costa coffee located across the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, January 22, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Hi friends,
this is a review of hotel where i just spent 1 night and checked in at 2 am in the night so may be a rating of "average" might not be justified but what ever i experienced,i am sharing here. The hotel is located on the horward plaza crossing which is the most known junction or point near Taj. Its very spacious and rooms are excellent. I went in the month of feb,2012 and checked into a deluxe room which costed me Rs.3700 for 2+2 (including breakfast) but i got some special rates as my company has some tie uo with the hotel at group level. coming back to hotel, the rooms are nicely appointed with king size bed with matching furnishings, mini bar, LCD tv, study table, boradband, nice and clean bathroom with hair drier etc etc. but i think management can do better in terms of cleaning or changing the carpet in the lobby which was stinking an d was very dirty. The breakfast was good with lost of options like continental, american, english, indian,chinese and south indian too. Most of the guest were foriegners from countries like korea, japan, australia and france. Please dont use the mineral water bottle placed in the room as they charged me Rs.350 for 2 bottles (they say thats the water was imported). The AC in the room was not working so the room temperature could not be set to comfortable level (25 degree in Feb). otherwise since i got the room in such an emergency, i liked the hotel and its staff as they were very generous and happy to help. so if you have a moderate budget then can go for this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BhupenderK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, January 22, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your feedback with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had with us. With utmost concern, we have noted the issues put forward by you in your review & the same is addressed to the concerned departments. We will ensure to serve you better on your next visit.

It has always been our focus to provide consistently high quality service to all our guests, and once again would like to thank you for putting together your thoughts and sharing it with us.

We look forward to welcome you again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We payed rs 4500 for a double room (incl breakfast), which I think is a bargain compared to the high standard of this hotel. The rooms were clean and spacious with a good bed, and breakfast was very good with an omelet cooking guy and all. I would have given it 5 stars, but after leaving the hotel we noticed a strange rude note had been placed on one of our bags (apparently while it was stored in the luggage room).

There is a pool, which is in the shade in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jubjab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Its a decent modern hotel . location is central but noisy . Rooms are good enough for comfortable stay . The hotel does not have too many dining options we only had breakfast which was nice . We missed the open lawns as we found hotel little clustered as comapre to our previous hotel . Overall comfortable .

Room Tip: Take room on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, June 11, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,773 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,120 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed for one night here as the sole purpose to visit Agra was to view the Taj Mahal. Check in was far from smooth as they only had reservations for 2 adults and 1 child according to their records whilst our voucher was for 2 adults and 2 children and we had paid our agent in advance and this included having an extra bed in the room. Our hotel voucher given to us by our agent was meaningless to them and reception wanted 1000 rupees more for the extra person and they would not put an extra bed in the room until then.

The matter was sorted out in due course when we phoned our agent who in turn contacted the hotel but this took several hours, in the meantime we went to our room, refreshed ourselves and quickly made our way to the Taj Mahal whilst the matter was being dealt with. Still I find it strange a hotel casually disregards their guests hotel voucher and may not realise the mistake could be theirs!

We got no welcome drinks or anything like that, in fact even the lifts did not work on our first day, thankfully we were only on the first floor. The hotel is getting refurbished on the higher floors although I heard no noise during the daytime, my wife claims she did.

The hotel room was nice and large but with old, slightly out of fashion furniture. We got complimentary bottles of water and later in the evening the extra bed arrived.

The hotel has a rather grand foyer with a big chandelier, there is a nice spa, small gym and a pool but is not heated so it can be rather chilly. There was a wedding reception in the evening when we were there and it seems is popular spot for such functions.

We had buffet breakfast included and it was rather average. The service was functional, there was a moderate variety and made to order eggs and the omelette were rather nice although there is room for improvement here as I was far from impressed with breakfast from any of the hotels I stayed in India during my trip.

This hotel is a good spot for Agra, reasonably priced, not far from the Taj Mahal, there are places to eat nearby with a Costa Cafe, Pizza hut were just a short walk away. There are internet places just across the road as the hotel charges for internet are high.

Once the refurbishment is complete, this would be a rather fine hotel but it did let itself down with a protracted check in process. They should had sided with the customer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrestonGuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPDesk, General Manager at Howard Plaza The Fern Agra, responded to this review, January 22, 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with the overall experience of your stay with us.

We pride ourselves in providing our guests the best experience and appreciation from guests further encourages and motivates us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again at Howard Plaza, Agra.

Warm Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.0 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.5 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 145 in Agra
3,903 reviews
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Plaza The Fern Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Plaza The Fern Agra

Property: Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India (Formerly Howard Sarovar Portico)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Agra
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#11 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Howard Plaza The Fern Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious interiors, personalised service and Howard Plaza Agra's unique location are complemented by Agra's glittering monument to love, the Taj Mahal, this tranquil retreat is an best spot for a business or leisure stay, offering a magnificent view of The Taj Mahal from Beautiful roof top Terrace Restaurant (Terrace Grill), Rejuvenating Experience of relaxation (Elixir SPA), a mellow dramatic view of the bustling city through front tea patio (East India Company, Tea Lounge) and a fine spread of Indian Delicacies (Rendezvous). All the exclusive 86 well appointed rooms in this hotel near Taj Mahal are incorporated with safety lockers, In-room mini bar, and LCD Televisions. In order to maintain the highest standards of hospitality and luxury, Howard Plaza Agra also offers currency exchange, tour desk, wake-up service and many more facilities that make more than just a comfortable stay. Incorporating business facilities like wireless internet access, comfortable furnishing and well trained staff for assistance, our hotel in Agra is well-suited for corporate as well as leisure traveler. After a tiring day, guests can also relax at the swimming pool and spa, with sauna, steam bath and Jacuzzi. Guests can savour some sumptuous and beautifully presented cuisine at restaurants of Howard Plaza or have their favorite drinks at Terrace Grill Bar and Lounge, or just relax and have some yummy treat at Rendezvous, all day dining. Howard Plaza promotes it self as an affordable, friendly and best price option in the city with unique close location to Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and with a variety of restaurants and cafes in walking proximity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Howard Plaza The Fern Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Sarovar Portico Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Hotel Agra
Park Plaza Agra
Agra Park Plaza
Howard Park Plaza Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing