We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel but not great restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #9 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good hotel but not great restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

High three star hotel with very nice, clean rooms and very good bedding. Nice grounds with large pool. As an American traveler with family, we were mostly restricted to eating in the hotel. The restaurant offerings were adequate, but the service was horrible. Within town, but not any obvious alternative eating options nearby. A basic fitness room. Front desk staff was helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SLOtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    714
    311
    60
    34
See reviews for
593
681
85
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

Another weekend getaway was planned with friends to agra to visit Tajmahal and after reviewing lot of hotels around that area, we narrowed down to the Taj Hotel as our prior experiences with Taj Hotels were pleasant.

The hotel rooms were excellent and the staff was courteous. The Tajmahal was just was just 2km away from the hotel and also the food joints around were quite decent. However, the food served in the hotel was quite disappointing. We got a complimentary breakfast but as compared to other Taj properties visited earlier this turned out to be a complete disappointment. Not many options and the food was also not that great.

The other amneties like the Sports area and swimming pool were well maintenaned. We played basketball for a while and after the basketball game the boys jumped in the pool and enjoyed. There was a huge lsuh green garden to walk around for the health concious people. The place was also very peaceful.

This place is good to stay considering the price offering as compared to other hotels surrounding Tajmahal and you will love it if you have not had any experience in other Taj properties.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karishma K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

I have stayed in many hotels in Agra before but this one is just awesome. It was so pleasing to see Taj Mahal from the Room window, it was looking like a real treasure. Room Rate for the whole family was INR7500 including breakfast for all and just 3 Km from Taj. So excellent location, great food and affordable price for a 5 star hotel. In the evening they had magic show, puppet show, Astrology, Tattoo etc for children was very exciting for my son. Hotel staff was very helpful and sweet to talk. On the whole nice place to stay in a place like Agra.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RishabhG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

Two American friends of mine had come to India for a few days, so we decided on one night in Agra, at a fancy place. We chose this hotel coz of its link to Taj Hotels. It lived up to all our expectations except two: the "Taj view" was partial from our room, so not all that awesome. I have to say, I'm not sure if we would have stayed more nights, it might not have been worth the money.
Second, their Chinese restaurant, where we ate our only major meal, was quite sad. It was neither Indian Chinese, and nor was it good authentic Chinese. I'd go with the Indian restaurant next time.
Location-wise, its hard to say anything about this hotel, coz you don't really walk up to the Taj anyway -- you take a car/cab (which we'd brought with us from Delhi). So, this hotel was not too far from the Taj entrance and not too close.
The breakfast buffett (included in our price) was good, and my friend tried a back massage which she said was ok.
It's hard not to recommend it, because it's Taj-like service at lower than Taj Hotels' price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bubblesanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

This hotel is really nice as i stayed on 5th floor for one day there was really nice view of Tajmahal from the room as the hotel name suggest taj view u can see tajmahal from the rooms Bakery is really nice Buffet in breakfast was good tea and samosa was very bad.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphinsolution
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

I stayed in Gateway by Taj during my recent weekend trip to Agra. Nice comfortable hotel but expensive for a small town like Agra (INR 7k).

The Hotel needs good amount of improvement as it seems very old. Rooms are very small for Taj's standards and no value for money for the amount you pay. The food in the Restaurant is good but service is slow. Also the Breakfast spread also needs some improvement.

Overall I would recommend the hotel if Hotel reduces its prices as we get 5 star accommodation in place in Malaysia for less than this amount.

Regards
Kiran

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran Kumar W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jodhpur, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

This hotel is one of the few hotels which has a view of Taj from some of its rooms. The hotel is okay in terms of its infrastructure but the maintenance requires improvement and upgradation in its quality.The price charged is a bit high for the quality offered. Restaurant is good and the food offered is delicious. The staff is helpful but lacks promptness.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MANISHOJHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,675 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#9 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing