We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,265)
Filter reviews
2,265 results
Traveler rating
968
826
357
73
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
968
826
357
73
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaj viewtaj grouppuppet showindian restaurantrooftop barswimming poolan upgradecoffee shopexcellent hospitalityrestaurant staffgolden triangle tourred fortwelcome drinkfront officecourteous staffbuffet breakfastcomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,816 - 1,821 of 2,265 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We booked at short notice and were promised rooms with a view of the Taj Mahal which did not happen. The hotel decor looks a bit tired and is in need of a makeover. Apart from this it was a fairly pleasant stay with very friendly staff and despite the tired appearance everything was very clean. The food and beverage selection was good. The Hotel is good value for money and is also ideally situated for visits to Agra Fort and Taj Mahal.

Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank HeinB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarayanRoy, Sales Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2010

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Agra.

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to note that you had a pleasant stay at our property and liked the food and service standards.

We would like to assure you that we have a detailed renovation/refurbishment plan to ensure that we offer a very crisp & contemporary product to our customers in keeping with the Gateway brand promise.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Narayan Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

I have to agree with the previous reviewer who basically said this was a nice hotel but not up to American 5 star standards. We spent Christmas eve here and had a nice stay. The entire hotel is adequate but the lobby, buffet restaurant and rooms all need some refurbishing. The outdoor grounds and pool are nicely maintained. The spa and gym are small but are very useable and provide massages and facials for very reasonable prices. The hotel has some nice children's activities like a magic show in the lobby and a puppet show by the pool.The breakfast buffet is quite extensive, with Indian and Western selections as well as freshly made dosas, pancakes and omlettes if you wish. The Christmas dinner was somewhat hokey, with a large buffet with just ok food, and terrible singers/live band. After we left Agra, we stayed at 2 more Taj properties, the Sawai Madhopur Lodge near Ranthambore National Park and Jai Mahal Palace in Jaipur. Both of these properties exuded luxury and high quality service, something this hotel does not. It is strange to me that the Taj group does not have a premier luxury hotel in Agra, the location of the Taj Mahal. We did have lunch at the ITC Mughal hotel and without having seen the rooms, the property and facilities seemed quite modern and top notch. Of course, the average price for that property is about $100 more per night compared to the Gateway. Since we couldn't afford to pay over $700 a night for the ultra luxury Oberoi Amarvillas, we would probably choose the ITC if we had to visit Agra again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Havefuneatwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarayanRoy, Sales Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2010

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Agra.

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to note that you had a nice stay at our property and liked the in-house activities ( magic show, puppet show etc. ), spa, gymnasium, buffet speread and the live kitchen. We are also happy to note that you had a peasant stay at our properties - Jai Mahal Palace (at Jaipur ) and Sawai Madhopur Lodge.

Please note we also have a detailed renovation and refurbishment plan to ensure that we offer a very crisp & contemporary product to our esteemed customers in keeping with the Gateway brand promise.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Narayan Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Fantastic hotel, staff, food. Attention was good, service too. Hotel lovely, rooms good what more can you ask for.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
Thank Jackiejajugu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarayanRoy, Sales Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2009

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Agra.

Thank you for your review. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay at our property.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,

Narayan Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Well, you're probably thinking "This guy is nuts! This hotel is amazing!". Yes, it was an excellent hotel and very luxurious, from an Indian's point of view. To me, this hotel should be rated three stars instead of five because the following reasons: a hotel should always have good service, AC, and clean and decent rooms. That's exactly what a three star hotel in America always has and is what the Gateway Hotel pretty much provides. It's a little overpriced for what this hotel is giving me. A five star hotel should be in a good location, have overly excellent service, amazing rooms, and food that is amazing, which this hotel is lacking.
I did like this hotel very much though compared to a lot of Indian hotels. I always have stayed at Taj group hotels in India, but sometimes I don't because they don't have one in that location, so the best I find is three star ones and let me tell you three star in India is not the best.
I was disappointed because most of the Taj group hotels have been much, much more luxurious and worth what they're asking for. This hotel may not be the best from US standards, but it is much better than the other hotels.
One thing that I'm upset about is that I booked this hotel as a superior Taj Mahal facing room and the view was hazy and all you could really make out was this mini white haze. The pool view room was much better!
Now that the negativity is over, here are the highlights of the hotel. There were lots of activities to do; my son and I played badminton. The service was very nice and much better than other Indian hotel that doesn't belong to the Taj group. The ride to the Taj Mahal was only 3 km away! The food was pretty good, but home cooked Indian food is better; the breakfast was awesome though!
I do recommend to stay here if you go to Agra, but I think it should just be rated less than five stars and cheaper than what the price is. I hope this review helps!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IdealReviewer001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NarayanRoy, Sales Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2009

Greetings from The Gateway Hotel, Agra.

Thank you for your review. We have noted your concerns with respect to the overall feel of the property in comparison to the other Taj Hotels, specially in terms of 'luxury' & pricing. We would like to assure you that we have a detailed renovation/refurbishment plan to ensure that we offer a very crisp & contemporary product to our customers in keeping with the Gateway brand promise.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed the overall experience at our property and liked the in-house activities, food & service standards.

We look forward to your visit in the near future and assure you of our best of services & personalised attention at all times.

Warm Regards,
Narayan Roy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2009

We stayed at the Gateway in Agra on a weekend trip with friends. Check in was smooth but thats when the trouble started. Our room was on the 3rd floor and both the elevators were not working. We had to climb up (and down) 3 flights of stairs (5 flights for our friends who had been upgraded to a suite on the 5th floor). One of the elevators was repaired in an hour or so but just one working elevator meant long waits given that the hotel was full that weekend.

We had dinner at the restaurant in the hotel; the service was slow and the A/C was not working on a hot September evening. The A/C in the lobby and restaurant area continued to be out of order when we had our breakfast the next day.

The room though was exceptionally good for the price paid (about $100/night) and the staff tried to make up for what was clearly not their fault. The hotel is located about 2km from the entrance to the Taj Mahal and we had no problem in reaching the Taj Mahal parking lot from the hotel the next morning. We had decided to go to see the Taj Mahal early in the morning (5:30am)and the hotel staff packed up a nice small breakfast with fruits and muffins. This was sufficient till the time that we got back and enjoyed the full spread of the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lucozade_Warrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews