We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Nearby Hotels
$114
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of $133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Trident, Agra(Agra)
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$44
$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Agra(Agra)
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$65
$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$37
$26
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$47
$36
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,212)
Filter reviews
2,212 results
Traveler rating
927
817
355
73
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
927
817
355
73
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaj viewtaj grouppuppet showindian restaurantrooftop barswimming poolcoffee shopan upgraderestaurant stafffront officered fortcourteous staffbuffet breakfastcomfortable stayskydeckgadmagician
Filter
Updating list...
1,137 - 1,142 of 2,212 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stayed on 24th april for 1 night along with my family. Obviously we went to see Taj Mahal. As soon as we entered the lobby, we were given a grand welcome. FO manager Gaurav offered welcome drink with a nice & genuine smile. we had buffet lunch, the north indian food was really yummy & we were offered attentive service. In evening we ordered snacks through IRD, wherein I ordered boiled milk along with snacks. The milk was sent to room within 3-4 minutes, which was actually for the baby. This gesture really touched us. Superb eye for detail. Breakfast was great too. While checking out, the security informed me that they had cleaned my car. WOW. A lady in security (at the porch, sorry i couldn't recall her name) was very attentive. A special mention for the warmth offered by Mr. Pulkesin Mohan, GM. All in all a superb hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramitkohli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Agra.

Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team. The front office team and the Eatin team were extremely delighted to know that they were able to meet your expectations.
I am sure this will go a long way to motivate them further to keep up the high levels of guest services.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Thank you again for writing about us

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Went only for a short stay and a very short notice. Amazing people to serve well and They provided the best of services in every manner.
Rooms- very comfortable and amazing Decor. Upgraded it to the suite because the standard room was probably not available. :) :)
View from the Suite- Stayed at Mahtab Suite (4th floor). Breathtakingly beautiful view of The Taj Mahal, right from the window across the bed. Couldn't take off my eyes from Taj.
Food- Good, scope for a little improvement though.
Service- Prompt, Good.
Front Desk- Very Helping, co-operative & polite.
Overall, a wonderful experience. Totally recommended for fellow travelers.

Room Tip: Higher floors for the view of Taj. :)
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaAggarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. The Front Office team was also pleased to know that their efforts were so well appreciated. I have also noted your comments about the food and have discussed the same with chef in order to further improve upon the same

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed in the hotel in the last week of April 14. From the outset, the hotel built a good impression. The ambiance was good and staff was very polite and co-operative. I had requested for two adjoining rooms which the hotel did provide. The room and bathroom were slightly smaller than my expectation but that did not bother me too much. The breakfast was included in my fare and it was quite lavish with a large variety of standard breakfast items available. The waiters did take very good care of us. The pool was clean and not too deep and we did enjoy there with the kids. The only thing I felt was that the room prices are a little on the higher side. I would recommend people to book well in advance to get better deals or otherwise the online price is same as when you get for an on the spot booking. Best deal would be Rs 4.5 K for a 2 seater room including breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vaibhav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you liked the hotel & the service standards.

Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the impeccable service standards.
It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services, facilities and products that our guests have come to expect from us. Feedback such as this will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.

It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We thank you once again for your appreciative feedback and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A free upgrade upon arrival to overlook the Taj Mahal was very welcome!
Staff were vert helpful and friendly throughout.
Our room (apart from the view) was comfortable and a good size. Along with the Taj, we could also watch the comings and goings on the street below - very interesting!

We enjoyed a couple of beers on the roof terrace watching the sun set over the Taj and listening to traditional music - highly recommended.

Dinner in the Indian restaurant was a delight. The thali is one of its specialities - and for good reason! Delicious and plentiful too. As was the breakfast, with a good range of Indian, European and American options.

Good location too- not far from the entrance to the Taj Mahal, but beware of street-hawkers and pick-pockets even on such a short stretch. The hotel will find you a taxi!

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Gateway - great service and great value!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Agra

We cannot thank you enough for taking time to update your experience on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our product, restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.

It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services, facilities and products that our guests have come to expect from us. Feedback such as this will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.
We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Regards,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Gateway in early April for 2 nights. The room was excellent, very clean and comfortable. The swimming pool was also very nice. Food was very good and service excellent. Breakfast was very good too although not as much European choice as other places. Overall a very pleasant stay for a couple of nights during our Golden Triangle tour. Some lovely sights of Taj Mahal can be seen from the rooftop viewing area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.
I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews