We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,296)
Filter reviews
2,296 results
Traveler rating
990
832
360
73
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
990
832
360
73
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taj view taj group puppet show indian restaurant rooftop bar swimming pool an upgrade coffee shop excellent hospitality restaurant staff memorable stay golden triangle tour red fort welcome drink front office courteous staff buffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,217 - 1,222 of 2,296 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A free upgrade upon arrival to overlook the Taj Mahal was very welcome!
Staff were vert helpful and friendly throughout.
Our room (apart from the view) was comfortable and a good size. Along with the Taj, we could also watch the comings and goings on the street below - very interesting!

We enjoyed a couple of beers on the roof terrace watching the sun set over the Taj and listening to traditional music - highly recommended.

Dinner in the Indian restaurant was a delight. The thali is one of its specialities - and for good reason! Delicious and plentiful too. As was the breakfast, with a good range of Indian, European and American options.

Good location too- not far from the entrance to the Taj Mahal, but beware of street-hawkers and pick-pockets even on such a short stretch. The hotel will find you a taxi!

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Gateway - great service and great value!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Fatehabad Road, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us during your visit to Agra

We cannot thank you enough for taking time to update your experience on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our product, restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.

It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services, facilities and products that our guests have come to expect from us. Feedback such as this will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.
We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Regards,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We stayed at Gateway in early April for 2 nights. The room was excellent, very clean and comfortable. The swimming pool was also very nice. Food was very good and service excellent. Breakfast was very good too although not as much European choice as other places. Overall a very pleasant stay for a couple of nights during our Golden Triangle tour. Some lovely sights of Taj Mahal can be seen from the rooftop viewing area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Fatehabad Road, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.
I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed for two days (25-27th April 2014). Special mention for the prompt & responsive staff: Tanya, Gaurav, Madan, Sunil, Mr Chopra, Chef Vikram, Sr Chef Anupam Banerjee. On request, I was allowed to accompany CHEF in the kitchen, and made Thai Curry. They have some healthy unique signature recipes worth trying. Sky deck view of Taj from the hotel terrace is icing on the cake.

Kudos to Taj hospitality and staff. It was one of the best experiences.

Plan my next trip soon!

Room Tip: Go for the TAJ VIEW room on the fifth floor. These quiet and with a full agra view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKHANDUJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Fatehabad Road, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to review us on Trip Advisor. Your time and feedback is precious to us.

We are happy to note your positive comments on our product and service.

I have also conveyed your gracious comments to the team and especially to the kitchen team , for whom it been a tremendous source of inspiration.

I am happy to know that the team at The Gateway Agra was able to personalize your service experience and help you in time of need. We wish you a healthy year ahead

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Agra and to our hotel on your next visit .

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Stayed there for 1 night in Apr 14. Its's a nice hotel with great lawn and an average pool. Dinner in coffee shop was not so great but the splendid breakfast breakfast menu did the trick. Service of Hotel staff is nice as expected from a reputed 5 star hotel. However, not all pool facing rooms are actually pool facing...trick is to take room at higher floor...the ones on forst 2-3 floors are hardly poll view.

Room Tip: Take a pool view room instead of Taj view
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mamba_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Fatehabad Road, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.
We are glad that you liked the hotel and our services. The little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests, your feedback has just reassured us of this fact.

I have taken your feedback regarding The dinner being average and have shared the feedback with the kitchen team . The positive feedback about the breakfast and service has also been discussed with the GAD team.

It is our endeavor to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding.

I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at the hotel during the easter weekend (18-20 Apr 2014). Its a nice cosy hotel providing right amenties at appropriate price. We took the Taj view executive room, view was good but the bed was small. I suggest a king size bed should be there. Food was fantastic & chef provided personal attention to the details. Staff was courteous & always helping. Garden & pool though small but good enough for evening strolls & enjoyment. We recommend stay at Gateway Hotel which is a nice property to stay in Agra.

Room Tip: Take the room at top floors to avoid road side traffic noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shekhu_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Fatehabad Road, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our product, restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.
I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews