We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,267)
Filter reviews
2,267 results
Traveler rating
970
826
357
73
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
970
826
357
73
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstaj viewtaj grouppuppet showindian restaurantrooftop barswimming poolan upgradecoffee shopexcellent hospitalityrestaurant staffgolden triangle tourred fortwelcome drinkfront officecourteous staffbuffet breakfastcomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 2,267 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This hotel didnt feel like a 5 star hotel at all. The whole hotel is old and tired looking, and the room wasnt so nice too. I was shocked to see that the pipes in the bathroom were rusty and old. We got the Taj facing room and you can only see the Taj in the day (it's not lit at night) but it isnt much of a spectacular view. The whole night there was a loud mechanical sound coming from the outside of the room, like a generator or something (our room was on the 5th floor near the lift). The service at the restaurant was horrendously slow and we eventually walked out because they hadnt even taken our order after calling them for 10 mins. We walked out of the hotel, turned right and found a Subway somewhere down the street but I would advise NOT TO EAT THERE because I came down with terrible food poisoning after that meal.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time in evaluating our product and services.

With regards to the room, I regret that it did not meet your approval. While all our rooms are extremely well appointed and comfortable, we also have a small inventory of more contemporary styled rooms and I will be happy to personally show them to you on your next visit.

Also I have taken your feedback regarding the service at our coffee shop GAD. I am deeply perturbed by the fact that you were not attended for 10 minutes. I sincerely apologize for the same and would like to get in touch with you with regards to this incidence. Please feel free to contact me at + 91 8171717246 or at Pulkesin.mohan@tajhotels.com
I do hope you will not allow this to mar your opinion of the hotel and that you will give us another chance to showcase our hospitality and services. We value your patronage and would request you to return to stay with us on your future visits.

Sincere regards,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We recently stayed for one night at the Gateway Hotel during a visit to India. We had limited time at the property as we arrived around 8PM and departed at noon the next day following an early morning visit to the Taj. Nevertheless our experience was positive.

Unlike the Taj Gateway in Varanasi this hotel has managed to increase its ambiance. It feels more luxe, with a beautiful lobby, and tastefully decorated hallways. Likewise the pool area feels very inviting and lush.

We had a nice room with a view of the Taj. We also ate at the hotel's Indian restaurant, which served very tasty food. In the morning, we enjoyed the nice breakfast buffet. Service was good throughout.

Again, no complaints and would definitely stay here again. Hope to stay longer next time!

Room Tip: View of Taj!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMRDC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you liked the hotel & the service standards.

Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the impeccable service standards.
It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services, facilities and products that our guests have come to expect from us. Feedback such as this will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.

It is our endeavor to ensure that every guest leaves as an ambassador of our hotel. We are delighted to read that we have exceeded your expectations.

We thank you once again for your appreciative feedback and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We recently spent 1 fantastic night at the gateway on our travelling holiday around India.
I cannot praise this hotel enough... It is impeccably clean, with delicious food and exceptional service. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to an Executive room with an outstanding and breathtaking view of the Taj Mahal. The room itself was beautifully laid out and decorated to a high standard. We ate in both the all day restaurant and the high end restaurant. Both had friendly and attentive staff and the food was top quality. We also used the travel desk to organise a driver for the day in order to fit in everything we wanted to see. Our driver Sunder was an absolute gentleman and made sure we saw everything Agra had to offer. We really felt like nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff which resulted in a relaxed and comfortable stay. We would like to say another massive thank you to everyone that works at the hotel and highly recommend it to anyone stopping in Agra. The only down side was that we only had 1 night there... But that's a good excuse to go back another time!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikkiS4484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you liked the hotel & the service standards.

Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team and especially with Sunder and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the impeccable service standards.

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at The Gateway / Agra from March 27th - 29th 2014. The property is nice, located quite close to the Taj Mahal.

Plz coordinate your booking / visit with Ekta Sengar [Guest Service Supervisor]; she is extremely helpful.

What really impressed me throughout my stay was the fantastic service I received from virtually everyone in the hotel - from the House Keeping staff to the Front Office Mgr's.

I was upgraded to an Executive Room from the Superior Room by Ekta which was definitely worth it. The Exec room is far bigger, has a good view of the Taj Mahal & most importantly was on a non-smoking floor, so didn't have any lingering cigarette stench [which the Superior room unfortunately did]

The food was quite good, though I only had a quick breakfast once @ the coffee shop so can’t really comment on their cuisine choices or spread.

Rajiv Jain [Executive House Keeper] & Gaurav Kumar [Asst Front Off Mgr.] deserve a special mention for their outstanding service & willingness to always help with anything a guest needs.

I would definitely recommend staying @ The Gateway; worth every penny!!

Room Tip: Choose the Executive Room instead of the Superior Room; it’s definitely worth it!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niranjanpanjwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. We are happy to note your culinary experience at our restaurants . The Front Office team especially Ekta and Gaurav were also pleased to know that their efforts were so well appreciated. I have also shared your positive comments with Rajiv .

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel...could have made better use of the skydeck bar....which was not well advertised and overpriced ...but all in all good.

The bedlinen was not 5 star a bit thin...with cheap looking pillows ... easily sorted out though....if one was to ask....

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank akt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I would like to inform you that The SKYDECK has recently been opened and is a facility for in house guests. We have started to promote it online and you will definitely find it on our mobile application in a few days from now .

I have noted your observations regarding the linen and it has been taken up with the executive housekeeper
We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews