We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #8 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at The Gateway / Agra from March 27th - 29th 2014. The property is nice, located quite close to the Taj Mahal.

Plz coordinate your booking / visit with Ekta Sengar [Guest Service Supervisor]; she is extremely helpful.

What really impressed me throughout my stay was the fantastic service I received from virtually everyone in the hotel - from the House Keeping staff to the Front Office Mgr's.

I was upgraded to an Executive Room from the Superior Room by Ekta which was definitely worth it. The Exec room is far bigger, has a good view of the Taj Mahal & most importantly was on a non-smoking floor, so didn't have any lingering cigarette stench [which the Superior room unfortunately did]

The food was quite good, though I only had a quick breakfast once @ the coffee shop so can’t really comment on their cuisine choices or spread.

Rajiv Jain [Executive House Keeper] & Gaurav Kumar [Asst Front Off Mgr.] deserve a special mention for their outstanding service & willingness to always help with anything a guest needs.

I would definitely recommend staying @ The Gateway; worth every penny!!

Room Tip: Choose the Executive Room instead of the Superior Room; it’s definitely worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niranjanpanjwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. We are happy to note your culinary experience at our restaurants . The Front Office team especially Ekta and Gaurav were also pleased to know that their efforts were so well appreciated. I have also shared your positive comments with Rajiv .

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,073)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,028 - 1,034 of 2,076 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel...could have made better use of the skydeck bar....which was not well advertised and overpriced ...but all in all good.

The bedlinen was not 5 star a bit thin...with cheap looking pillows ... easily sorted out though....if one was to ask....

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank akt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I would like to inform you that The SKYDECK has recently been opened and is a facility for in house guests. We have started to promote it online and you will definitely find it on our mobile application in a few days from now .

I have noted your observations regarding the linen and it has been taken up with the executive housekeeper
We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed for one night at the Gateway as part of our tour of India. The welcome was typical Indian friendliness and efficiency. The room was large with all necessary comforts with a good sized bed. The room looked straight out towards the Taj Mahal, which was a little special. The restaurant was busy but well staffed, and the buffet was a very good choice, with options to suit all tastes. The gardens are particularly attractive with lovely plants and shrubs, with a good pool too and outside changing/toilet facilities. We left early to see the Taj Mahal at sunrise, but the gates don't open until after sunrise so it was nearer 0650 before we got in, but the colours were magnificent. Take minimal belongings into the Taj as bags and owners are searched very thoroughly and no food is allowed inside (except Fisherman's Friends).The Gateway hotel is well sited for the Taj, Red Fort and mini Taj. After arriving back from our visit to the Taj, breakfast is available until 1030 and is an excellent buffet choice with eggs and breads to order.

On aspect that guests should be aware of is that room wifi is charged in blocks of time. We bought 30 minutes which we thought would be fine for a few e-mails and a bit of FaceTime over the time we were there. But the clock starts ticking once you login. There is no log out option, so your 30 minutes runs out exactly 30 minutes after you start. Once guest was somewhat irritated at the desk as he'd got travel bookings to make and so had to buy extra blocks of wifi time.

Overall a pleasant place to stay for a stopover in Agra.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Taj from the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliveinoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to write about us.

We are glad that you liked the hotel and our services. The little touches that the team does go a long way to delight our guests, your feedback has just reassured us of this fact.

Please allow me to explain why there is a charge for internet at our hotel- Hotels around us provide an average speed of 02 MBPS for which there is no charge. We, at The Gateway Hotel Agra provide a speed of 10 MBPS for all our rooms.
This speed requires a set up that can be run by experts, and for this very reason we have hired a professional agency who provide an uninterrupted service to the hotel for your convenience. This is the only reason that you find internet chargeable.

It is our endeavor to provide our guest with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay memorable and your appreciation is indeed rewarding.

I thank you once again for this wonderful review of our hotel and look forward to the delight of having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Rooms are good, especially the fifth floor and the service is excellent. Staff is very friendly and go beyond their duties to make the guests comfortable. Continental food and desserts are excellent and the Sitar Recital in the morning (with morning ragas) at the restaurant made our day. During the earth hour the lobby was lit with candles and made the hotel look really good too. The stay was wonderful. Thanks to everyone.

Room Tip: Top floors are better. And do visit the sky deck around sunrise to get a beautiful view of the Taj.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S_S_JDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest

We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay experience at the hotel and liked our hospitality and services. We are also happy to learn that you found our staff efficient and helpful, rooms clean, peaceful and well appointed.
I have also conveyed your gracious comments to the team especially to the live performers and the GAD Team, for whom it been a tremendous source of inspiration.

I am also thankful for your support to the Earth Hour initiative and delighted to know that you liked the ambiance

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We could only stay for 1 night in this very nice hotel as we were doing Agra in 1 day. The hotel was busy and really buzzing which I find is a good sign and despite this the staff and service were first class, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and the contrast to its surrounding is really amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a Taj view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to review us on Trip Advisor.. Your time and feedback is precious to us.

We are happy to note your positive comments on our product, food and service.

I have also conveyed your gracious comments to the team, for whom it been a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Agra and to our hotel.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Reviews led me to believe I was coming to an average and slightly dated hotel, but there's clearly been work done on the public areas, pool etc. We had stunning, if hazy, views of the Taj from a comfortable room in this well run hotel. The "Bar food" was of a high standard and, given the high turnover of clients, the staff were attentive and efficient.

Room Tip: The obvious, a Taj view room gives exactly what you expect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us

We cannot thank you enough for taking time to update your experience on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team and I have personally conveyed your appreciation to the Bar tendors, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.

It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services, facilities and products that our guests have come to expect from us. Feedback such as this will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed in this hotel at the end of March. Rooms are quite big and well appointed - at least for a hotel at this price point. All hotel employees went beyond their duty to cater to every need of the guests - this is what I have got used to expect from Taj in any way. Position of the hotel is good with close proximity to Taj and Agra Fort. You can see Taj from Taj facing rooms - but too many houses block the view in the day time and there is no light at Taj at night.

The only reason for deducting one star for an otherwise very good hotel is due to pathetic condition of hotel wifi signal. I paid for 24 hour wifi connection and hardly ever got any connection in my room from both my iPad and iPhone. When I contacted the front desk, the engineer in charge behaved as if he was hearing such complain for the first time. However while checking out, a different front desk personnel informed me that wifi connection was a big problem for them and they were on the process of redesigning the network. Till the time hotel wifi connection gets better, they should make the wifi complementary.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you liked the hotel & the service standards.

Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the impeccable service standards.

Your constructive observations about the WIFI have been duly noted and shall be reviewed on priority. Our apologies if you have felt that we fell short of your expectations on this stay. Do send us you contact details for us to discuss the observations with you personally.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Agra and to our hotel.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
1 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 143 in Agra
4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
1.2 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#7 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $96 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing