We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,283)
Filter reviews
2,283 results
Traveler rating
984
828
357
73
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
984
828
357
73
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taj view taj group puppet show indian restaurant rooftop bar swimming pool an upgrade coffee shop excellent hospitality restaurant staff golden triangle tour red fort welcome drink front office courteous staff buffet breakfast comfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,222 - 1,227 of 2,283 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We could only stay for 1 night in this very nice hotel as we were doing Agra in 1 day. The hotel was busy and really buzzing which I find is a good sign and despite this the staff and service were first class, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and the contrast to its surrounding is really amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for a Taj view room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Fatehabad Road, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to review us on Trip Advisor.. Your time and feedback is precious to us.

We are happy to note your positive comments on our product, food and service.

I have also conveyed your gracious comments to the team, for whom it been a tremendous source of inspiration.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Agra and to our hotel.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Reviews led me to believe I was coming to an average and slightly dated hotel, but there's clearly been work done on the public areas, pool etc. We had stunning, if hazy, views of the Taj from a comfortable room in this well run hotel. The "Bar food" was of a high standard and, given the high turnover of clients, the staff were attentive and efficient.

Room Tip: The obvious, a Taj view room gives exactly what you expect!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grahamb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Fatehabad Road, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us

We cannot thank you enough for taking time to update your experience on Trip Advisor. Your time and praise is overwhelming and precious to us.

We are delighted to read your fantastic review and sincerely thank you for your encouraging and kind words of praise for our restaurants, food and services.

Your compliments have been shared with the entire team and I have personally conveyed your appreciation to the Bar tendors, for whom it will be great source of inspiration.

It is our constant effort to ensure we meet up with the services, facilities and products that our guests have come to expect from us. Feedback such as this will encourage us to strive for even higher standards of service.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed in this hotel at the end of March. Rooms are quite big and well appointed - at least for a hotel at this price point. All hotel employees went beyond their duty to cater to every need of the guests - this is what I have got used to expect from Taj in any way. Position of the hotel is good with close proximity to Taj and Agra Fort. You can see Taj from Taj facing rooms - but too many houses block the view in the day time and there is no light at Taj at night.

The only reason for deducting one star for an otherwise very good hotel is due to pathetic condition of hotel wifi signal. I paid for 24 hour wifi connection and hardly ever got any connection in my room from both my iPad and iPhone. When I contacted the front desk, the engineer in charge behaved as if he was hearing such complain for the first time. However while checking out, a different front desk personnel informed me that wifi connection was a big problem for them and they were on the process of redesigning the network. Till the time hotel wifi connection gets better, they should make the wifi complementary.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanmoy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Fatehabad Road, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you liked the hotel & the service standards.

Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the impeccable service standards.

Your constructive observations about the WIFI have been duly noted and shall be reviewed on priority. Our apologies if you have felt that we fell short of your expectations on this stay. Do send us you contact details for us to discuss the observations with you personally.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Agra and to our hotel.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. It is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The dinner buffet is a little limited in choice but the a la carte food is excellent. The hotel has a nice pool but you have to pay for wifi, even in the lobby, which was a big surprise. Our room was at the front of the hotel, facing the main road, although it wasn't noisy. It was a little dated but otherwise fine.

The hotel is in the middle of a commercial area which is a little threatening if you walk out of the hotel. I was actually clipped on the shoulder by a motorcyclist whilst walking on the 'footway'. Maybe we felt uncomfortable because we'd only recently arrived in India for our first visit and weren't used to the hassle and traffic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDB44R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Fatehabad Road, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

Your constructive observations about our rooms and wifi have been well noted and will be reviewed on priority. Our apologies, as we fell short of your expectations on this visit.

We are happy to read your compliments on our Specialty Restaurant Jhankar

Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team. I am sure this will go a long way to motivate them further to keep up the high levels of guest services.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I am generally a trident (Oberon) fan, but stay at Gateway Hotel was truly a memorable one. The staff was excellent and courteous, specially Gaurav and the housekeeping team. Take the executive room with a view of the taj. Once do try the dinner at the sky deck restaurant.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank Sidkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Fatehabad Road, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team especially Gaurav at the Front desk and house keeping team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. We are happy to note your culinary experience at the SKYDECK.

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards

Pulkesin Mohan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews