We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, bad wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good hotel, bad wifi”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I stayed in this hotel at the end of March. Rooms are quite big and well appointed - at least for a hotel at this price point. All hotel employees went beyond their duty to cater to every need of the guests - this is what I have got used to expect from Taj in any way. Position of the hotel is good with close proximity to Taj and Agra Fort. You can see Taj from Taj facing rooms - but too many houses block the view in the day time and there is no light at Taj at night.

The only reason for deducting one star for an otherwise very good hotel is due to pathetic condition of hotel wifi signal. I paid for 24 hour wifi connection and hardly ever got any connection in my room from both my iPad and iPhone. When I contacted the front desk, the engineer in charge behaved as if he was hearing such complain for the first time. However while checking out, a different front desk personnel informed me that wifi connection was a big problem for them and they were on the process of redesigning the network. Till the time hotel wifi connection gets better, they should make the wifi complementary.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you liked the hotel & the service standards.

Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the impeccable service standards.

Your constructive observations about the WIFI have been duly noted and shall be reviewed on priority. Our apologies if you have felt that we fell short of your expectations on this stay. Do send us you contact details for us to discuss the observations with you personally.

The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to Agra and to our hotel.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    741
    320
    62
    34
See reviews for
632
707
91
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. It is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The dinner buffet is a little limited in choice but the a la carte food is excellent. The hotel has a nice pool but you have to pay for wifi, even in the lobby, which was a big surprise. Our room was at the front of the hotel, facing the main road, although it wasn't noisy. It was a little dated but otherwise fine.

The hotel is in the middle of a commercial area which is a little threatening if you walk out of the hotel. I was actually clipped on the shoulder by a motorcyclist whilst walking on the 'footway'. Maybe we felt uncomfortable because we'd only recently arrived in India for our first visit and weren't used to the hassle and traffic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDB44R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

Your constructive observations about our rooms and wifi have been well noted and will be reviewed on priority. Our apologies, as we fell short of your expectations on this visit.

We are happy to read your compliments on our Specialty Restaurant Jhankar

Your positive sentiments have been shared with the team. I am sure this will go a long way to motivate them further to keep up the high levels of guest services.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I am generally a trident (Oberon) fan, but stay at Gateway Hotel was truly a memorable one. The staff was excellent and courteous, specially Gaurav and the housekeeping team. Take the executive room with a view of the taj. Once do try the dinner at the sky deck restaurant.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your time for updating your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are overwhelmed to read your kind words of appreciation for our product and service.

I have conveyed your compliments to the team especially Gaurav at the Front desk and house keeping team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration. We are happy to note your culinary experience at the SKYDECK.

It is our constant endeavor to provide our guests with the highest level of comfort and to make their stay truly memorable. Appreciation such as yours increases our motivation to achieve the expectations that our guests have of us.

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Thank you and regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed 2 days there: this was a return trip from 6 years ago, when it was called Taj View.
Part of the third string chain of Taj, the hotel is still good value for money. It is well located (in the middle of a commercial area) and offers a good view of Taj Mahal. I paid for a top floor room, from where the view on the Taj Mahal is unobstructed by power lines etc., but unfortunately for nothing, due to very dense fog that apparently prevails throughout January. Rooms are well appointed, although the furniture is a bit dated. The same goes for the bathrooms.
Breakfast was average minus, while food in the restaurant was good and well served. I understand that they are now opening a roof top restaurant, which will be a definite plus.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on Taj Mahal on the top 2 floors (more expensive but worth it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpiot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us another opportunity to be of service to you during your visit to Agra.

The team and I sincerely are grateful for your time taken in posting your feedback on Trip Advisor

We are happy to note your positive comments on our product and service.

I have also conveyed your gracious comments to the team, for whom it been a tremendous source of inspiration

I am sorry to know that the fog could not enable you to have a wonderful view of Taj Mahal from your room which is a unique feature of our hotel .
I have also noted your comments about the breakfast and the matter has been taken up with the chef and the F& B manager and they have been asked to improve the quality of breakfast.
I was delighted to know that you did like your meal at our restaurant Jhankar.

Let me take this opportunity to introduce to you our new rooftop restaurant SKYDECK , where you can enjoy a full view of Taj Mahal and Agra fort while you are treated with the Royal Mughal Thali

I look forward to welcome you back to the Gateway Hotel Agra

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The overall experience was good. The room was clean and appropriately appointed, if a bit dated in decor and style. The breakfast buffet had good variety. Not a top of the line hotel, but in its class it worked. Would be use it again, yes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelled_from_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing time to review us on Trip Advisor. Your time and feedback is precious to us.

We are happy to note your positive comments about our food and service.

I have also conveyed your gracious comments to the team, for whom it been a tremendous source of inspiration.

I have also noted down your feedback about the rooms being dated and would like to inform you that we are in a process of a phased wise renovation of rooms in order to upgrade the property
The team at the hotel and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Gateway Hotel Agra.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level Contributor
277 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

I've always loved the Taj hotels. They are all great but they all engage in some goody behavior from an American point of view. E.G. they charge for the Internet... That's unappetizing when you expect the best. They also Always mess up the booking. One time they insisted we didn't book for 2 people (we did) and insisted on charging more (who cares about the money but the hassle and annoyance is something that should never be put on the guests.) another time they insisted that Breakfast was not included (it was). There's more to each story but my point is to just print out everything, take screen shots, recheck... Because they will probably get messy with you. I will probably stay staying at Oberoi and see how that goes.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cindynor41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you liked the hotel & the service standards.

Your positive comments have been shared with the team and shall go a long way in ensuring that we keep up the impeccable service standards.

Please allow me to explain why there is a charge for internet at our hotel- We provide a speed of 10 MBPS for all our rooms. This speed requires a set up that can be run by experts, and for this very reason we have hired a professional agency who provide an uninterrupted service to the hotel for your convenience. This is the only reason that you find internet chargeable.

I have also noted down your concerns for the check-in process and have taken up the matter with the front office manager and advised him to ensure that such irritants should be handled in a better manner

We are grateful for your recommendation and do hope you will continue to provide us with more opportunities to be of service.

Warm regards,

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

this hotel had a better Taj view than I thought it would do. It has a very pleasant pool area. The room was good, though we had to ask for a heater. The restaurant was average...we only had the buffet.
This is one of ten hotel reviews from our recent 25 night holiday across northern India. Within those 10 this hotel comes in the middle.

Room Tip: Taj facing rooms are at a premium. The higher the better. I think there were 5 floors with bedrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maureen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Guest

Dear Guest

Greetings from Agra

We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable stay experience at the hotel and liked our hospitality and services.

I would like to inform you that we maintain a temperature of 21 to 23 degree centigrade in room as per standard . we have noted that you found the room a bit cold and have updated your preference for a warmer room

I have also taken up your constructive feedback about our coffee shop and would like to assure you that we will definitely increase the standards to delight you on your next visit

We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra

Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 144 in Agra
3,843 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.2 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 144 in Agra
2,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Expedia, DerbySoftTaj, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing