We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a excellent hotel. . .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #11 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a excellent hotel. . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in December 2012. The hotel is giant! The lobby is beautiful and very big, it's full of lights and objects and things that make it luxurious, from the outside shows a beautiful color, a white similar to that of the Taj Mahal. Our room was very large and the window overlooked the garden and pool. The garden is full of palm trees and the pool is fairly large. There is a path that passes through the flowers and plants in the garden from which, at night, comes a mist and creates an atmosphere similar to that of cartoons!
You eat very well, we had a dinner at the restaurant buffet which was very full of food! From meals to fruit, from sweets to ice cream. The breakfast is plentiful and the rooms are fairly large, such as the bathroom. I am Italian and I found this hotel like a hotel with five or six stars Italian.
The staff is very courteous and helpful, and during the night are isolated all the noise and you sleep very well!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FedericoP712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, Public Relations Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
We would like to thank you for your words of appreciation about the hotel.

We would further like to add that we have further upgraded the public areas in order to further enhance the overall experience about the hotel

We would also like to inform you that your kind words of appreciation has been shared with the entire hotel staff team which will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.

We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra

Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    681
    296
    59
    33
See reviews for
555
643
81
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

If travel in India worries you or you have been on the cheap and need to recharge stay at the Taj. The food and services are always great. There are plenty of hotels closer but the Taj is rigjt on the main road.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txmdcava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
We would like to thank you for your words of appreciation about the hotel.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the food and beverage team which will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

I am frequent visitor of this hotel and when I entered 1st time I started visiting again and again and this is my preferred hotel in Agra.
There are two types of Room 1 is Taj View, from there you can have your bed tea and evening coffee with incredible view of Taj Mahal and another one is Pool and Garden view, from there you can have a green view.

Room Tip: There are two types of Room 1 is Taj View, from there you can have your bed tea and evening coffee w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ankitkhare0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback and continous support to our hotel.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.we are also coming up with some additional services for our regular guests and would update you about the same in the near future

We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed twice and had a great experience both times. The best thing about the hotel is the wonderful staff - they're fantastic- in true Taj tradition (Gateway is part of the Taj group). The lobby is beautiful and the Indian restaurant is outstanding. The all-day dining restaurant is ok. The only thing that leaves a little to be desired are the rooms which are a bit tired looking. We didn't mind much though because everything worked perfectly and we even had a view of the Taj Mahal in the distance from our room. If you get a chance, have your fortune told by the fortune teller in the lobby. First check to be sure that he is the real one. Two gentlemen switch off and on: one is authentic and phenomenal and the other one is a phoney and isn't any good at all.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Taj Mahal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vaubert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mam,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback we would also like to inform you that we are undertaking refurbishment of rooms in order to upgrade them.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team, especially the specialty restaurant team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was my second trip to Gateway Taj,,,,and as always the hotel was too good...
Be it Helpdesk, Reception, housekeeping, Room Service, F& B , Pool assistant, Bar assistant all welcome you so nicely and are so caring that you can't even think to moving to another place ......
Want to thanks Mr Faizal ( kichen) , Mr Chopra & Mr Satwant ( Coffee Shop ), Ms Ankita , Ms Chandni , Mr Ali from Reception, Mr Murthy & Mr zahid from housekeeping & At last the great to guys Mr Amitava & Mr Vikram ......( Also cannot forget Mr Amit from Sales team for offering a good deal)
Thanks for making my stay a memorable one once again....

Room Tip: All Categories are good to stay....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yati1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback we would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
Faizal , Madan Chopra , Satwant from F & B Service, Ankita , Chandni , Ali, Ram Murthy, zahid & Vikram have been specially recognized by me for a wonderful experience provided to you at Jhankar during your stay

I have also asked mit to update you with future promotions for your future visits

We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra

Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

A superb destination.. everything from the ambience to food to hospitality to service was outstanding- As usual following THE TAJ LEGACY!! It was my dad's birthday and They made it so special for him that he felt like home away from home.. speacial thanks to the chauffer for making sure that we enjoy the travel jn agra...please share the feedback with the chauffer....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEALOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback we would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
I have shared your feedback with the chauffer and he has been appreciated for his agility and knowledge. We look forward to welcome you on your birthday and promise to make it a memorable one.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We arrived tired from a long journey, and immediately we were invited to sit down for check-in and offered cold drinks. As other reviewers have said, the rooms are good rather than spectacular, but the public areas and other features of the hotel are excellent. We enjoyed the pool set in gardens which took us away from the hustle and hassle of Agra. Our evening meal at Jhankar was the best Indian cuisine we had in a two week trip (the cauliflower with ginger was superb). Friendly staff completed the picture for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceriandedmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Sir,
Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback we would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
The chef and His team has been specially recognized by me for a wonderful meal experience provided to you at Jhankar during your stay
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 142 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#7 of 142 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,396 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.8 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#13 of 142 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#11 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#11 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing