We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality & close to the Taj Mahal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #9 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good quality & close to the Taj Mahal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

In Agra to visit the Taj Mahal and spent two nights. A very nice hotel, with lovely gardens and swimming pool where you can relax in between sightseeing. They are also a nice bar and two restaurants. We ate at both, one a traditional Indian which is excellent and I drank a cocktail with a whole chilli in it - amazing. The buffet restaurant was ok but if I went back I'd stick to the Indian restaurant. Pleasant, clean room with a/c and TV with plenty of channels - mainly cricket - but still some premier league football. Staff were very pleasant and they even had a palm reader on site - if that’s you thing!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view as the gardens are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    714
    311
    60
    34
See reviews for
593
681
85
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swakopmund, Erongo, Namibia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel, old could do with a facelift, restaurant not top class but the food is good
Pool is a wonderful break from the heat and the view of the Taj Mahal is not close up but in the distance. Hotel in an interesting area with shops and restaurants for all tastes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Taj Mahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guynamibia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Jaded Property - hotel vibe/decor is from the 80s/90s. To their credit, they tried to create a festive mood - live sitar music, astrologer, card tricks, etc.

Biggest irritant - had to pay $15/day for wifi and access was restricted to only 2 devices.

Food quality in hotel restaurants was mediocre, esp. for the price paid.

Hotel was really crowded as it was a holiday week in India and restaurant wasn't staffed to deal with that, so long delays in getting service.

I would recommend you explore other hotel options for Agra - Wyndham, Radisson, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Agra

At the onset please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in the service at the restaurant . we are taking up the issue with the concerned and assure you that the same will not reoccur in future.
With respect to the Wifi- being complimentary we would like to inform you that the wifi charges are levied due to high rate of Taxation on Bandwidth in India hence it was charged. Never the less we are taking up this issue as well and trying to get it rectified on a priority basis

I deeply regret the inconvenience & discomforts caused to you and hope that this incident will not diminish your otherwise favourable regard for the Gateway Hotels & Resorts.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.
Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

10 minutes drive from Agra Cantt. Railway station. Located near Taj mahal. Nice view of Taj Mahal from hotel room was a bonus.A well planned and well maintained hotel. Rooms are very good, bathrooms are nice. All the in room facilities are there. Both living room and bed room has TV. A good collection of books within room to read. well decorated, spacious. Hotel location is ideal, walking distance from market. All the staffs are very helpful and polite. Travel desk provided us a complementary drop off to station. Agra tour was arranged with reasonable rate.
I will always recommend this hotel for comfort.

Room Tip: Book a Taj facing room on upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debasis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed at the Gateway last year in October along with my family. I booked it through Taj Central reservation system. The stay was extremely good with very good service. The food spread was OK . Gateway is an old Taj property and is situated within 10 minutes ride to the Taj that way it has location advantage.

Please make sure to book higher floors facing Taj , there is a foul small on the lower floors.
They are able to maintain the service level of Taj and go overboard in accommodating customers. The chef packed the breakfast for kids advising that i may need it in few hours for kids.

Only negative was checkout - i paid in advance to Central reservation system and the hotel could not find my entry , multiple calls to the central reservation systems finally resolved the matter, that is why 4/5
.

Room Tip: Higher floor with Taj View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dearvivek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Agra

At the onset please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in the reservation deposite process

We would like to assure you that we are taking necessary corrective action in this regard to ensure that such incidence do not reoccur in future

I deeply regret the inconvenience & discomforts caused to you and hope that this incident will not diminish your otherwise favourable regard for the Gateway Hotels & Resorts.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.
Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

After staying in the Gateway hotel in Jodhpur, we landed in The Gateway hotel in Agra, and we were disappointed with the maintenance of the property. The rooms were congested and bathroom was not well maintained. We got the driver Bhim who was helpful and funny. Our sightseeing with him was a memorable experience. Food was not that good, but it was good gesture of the chef to come to our room and ask for our feedback. She also gave us a complimentary dish from her side and the food was good. Overall, it is well located, but you can find better hotels than this in Agra.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 44Sam44_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Agra!

This has reference to your feedback pertaining to our services.

At the outset, I would like to thank you for your patronage of Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces.

Your feedback is indeed the pre-eminent barometer by which we can measure our achievements and shortfalls, in providing the best of services to our valued guests.
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to inconsistent delivery of services. I was extremely perturbed to know about the points mentioned by you in regard to your stay in our hotel. I have taken the matter very seriously with the hotel team and concerned departmental heads and have initiated corrective action.

It is of great importance to us when a guest takes time to let us know about our product and services which you recently experienced. We have noted your comments-both constructive and positive to ensure that we make the necessary changes in our operations and ensure that this does not happen again.

Your patronage to The Gateway Hotel Agra is extremely important to us and I request you to kindly treat this incident as an aberration. I would also like to reassure you that we have taken your feedback very seriously .


Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

As always this was my 6 th stay in Taj property..but 1st in Agra...
Be it d staff.....cleaniness.......rooms......food.......service...all was awesome.....Taj agra treats u like a king...i was in agra for my anniversary.......The hotel nt only gave me an upgrade to a Suite but and sent a complimentary cake.
Staff:- Priyanka , Amitab chakraburty, chandni andMr Ali thanks for all ur service and greetings
Thankso
Yatin
.

Helpful?
Thank Yati1980
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PulkesinM, General Manager at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Agra.

At the outset would like to thank you for your feedback about the hotel and services and would certainly share this with my team.

Your kind words of appreciation would only help motivate my team in performing better.

Look forward to having you stay with us again in future.

Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.

Warm Regards

Pulkesin Mohan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,675 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#9 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing