We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“staff bound by hotel rules” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Gateway Hotel, Agra to your Saves list
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taj Ganj, Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TripAdvisor Special Offer
Ranked #12 of 129 Hotels in Agra
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“staff bound by hotel rules”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed in the hotel from 9th Dec'12 to 12th Dec'12. My visit was to attend FAI seminar at Agra. My booking was upto 13th Dec, but rescheduled to upto 12th only.
I requested hotel staff to cancel booking for 13th but they told 1 day charge will be lavied as penalty (cancellation charges).
I do not understand this rule. If I am cancelling my total booking and paying 1 day charge, it is ok. But if I am cacelling my last day booking out of 4 days booking, i do not understand cacellation charges for that day.
I did not take complimentary breakfast on 13th (as I checked out on 12th), hotel should refund Rs. 1500 (which they charge for extra person).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank G0palMittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The best part of this hotel is that many of the rooms have a good view of the Taj Mahal. Apart from this BIG plus point there is nothing much to talk about the hotel . It is like a normal 3 star hotel . The staff are helpful as with every taj hotel . The food is good and the overall experience of this place is in the range of average

Room Tip: surely a room with the TAJ view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manishgiria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel, Agra!

This has reference to your feedback received through Trip advisor with regards to your stay at the hotel in the month of April.

At the outset, please accept my sincere apologies, for not meeting your expectations in terms of our service and attention.
While it is our constant endeavour to provide our guests with exceptional standards of products and services, in this particular instance, we seem to have faltered. I hasten to add that your experience is not reflective of our usual services that we provide to our valued guests.

I would request you if you could take out some precious time of yours and further elaborate the matter to us so that we can take corrective action
Once again, I deeply regret the inconvenience & discomforts caused to you, and hope that this incident will not diminish your otherwise favourable regard for The Gateway Hotel Agra.
Kind Regards,

Yours sincerely,

Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
170 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Be it a Ginger, Gateway, Vivanta or Safari property, the TAJ people have taken some kind of an oath to treat their guests as precious gems!!!

There is a surprise waiting for you at every step of your stay in a Taj! Its a whole new world, a world of luxury, pamper, royalty, class, surprises & gifts!!! I am overjoyed with my stay at the Taj Gateway, Agra & this review is a trailer of my experiences.

At first I was a little sceptical as I was staying at a Taj Gateway property for the first time & wasn't sure enough if it would meet my expectations of the Taj standard. But it turned out that this property with the efforts, training & unique attitude of the team called Taj, have stolen my heart!

Taj & other high end properties have something called as their best available rates. The key to getting these amazing rates(paying in pennies as against taking advantage of the brand power!) is to book on the Taj website, look for a property & check their best rates or offers(which they keep coming up with). Another trick is to become members & take advantage of all the pampering there is like the gift certificates, free pick ups, free upgrades & a whole bunch of lucrative offers! I booked the best available rate on the phone & stayed for 3 nights by paying peanuts for a Taj property!

On my arrival, I was served a welcome drink, greeted warmly with smiles, luggage taken care off, no waiting & escorted to the room in no time. The rest of the 3 days were like I was floating in a bubble with everything else around me well taken care off! From the concierge, the lift man, the waiter, the receptionist to the GM everyone works on a Chinese whisper code language thing. When I would move anywhere within the hotel, I was always address by my name & I guess everyone knew my back ground & so each & every staff member was equipped to handle any kind of situation I was in. Nevertheless, the service I must say is the best in the industry!

The room was quite eloquent with state of the art decor, a kingsize bed & grand bathroom with finesse & traditional opulence. I had requested for a room facing the Taj Mahal at the time of check in but nothing was available. On my second day of stay in a series of surprises bestowed upon me, I got an upgrade to the executive Taj facing room, absolutely free!!!

Lets talk about the food, which needs no introduction! I had the opportunity to try both a la carte & buffet & each time I was in for a surprise, a culinary surprise! A burst of flavours, subtle yet crisp tastes, style & oomph defines the food of Taj. I was sure in a culinary haven enjoying the best food.

I would like to mention some special people who made my stay a very comfortable & memorable one. Ms.Ekta at the desk was ever eager & warm & an epitome of the brand that Taj stands for. The GM Mr.Pulkesin, went out of his way to play a perfect host symbolising the Taj star power. I hope I could do justice to express & share in a gist the experiences that will remain as an everlasting memoir in my travel journeys. Thanks to the staff & team of Taj.




As they say, the rest is history.

Room Tip: The Taj Mahal facing executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel was the second of our India tour, and was booked directly by ourselves. Belonging to the Taj Group of hotels, we had never experienced the Gateway brand, and we wondered what to expect as we arrived. However, we were not disappointed, and the hotel and its facilities matched our experience of all the others we have stayed at from this group. Our arrival was dealt with in exactly the same way, being made comfortable with refreshments by front of house staff while check-in was taken care of. All staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for us during our stay, in the hotel's very luxurious surroundings. The grounds and pool at the rear are as just as breathtaking as we have come to expect from this group. Our room was spacious and impeccably clean, with a well stocked bathroom. The view from the window was, of course, nothing other than the Taj Mahal in the distance. When we made our way to breakfast, we were greeted by live sitar music in the entrance to the restaurant, which added to the atmosphere of this magical place. We would certainly like a longer stay here in the future to explore this area further.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nb-kelly-louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
188 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel being from the Taj chain is very far from the real Taj. This one is well located for the main Agra attractions : the Taj Mahal and the Afra fort.
The hotel itself is a vulgar property with a kind of "gardens" and a pool somehow a bit decadent.
The rooms have a poor decor and the Taj Mahal view i didn't find a very attractive one.
They have 2 restaurants ,one serving international food that is quite acceptable but has a very poor service and an indian restaurant with very good food and very nice service.
Price : very moderate .
The best is really the location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isabel a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Agra

At the onset please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in the service at the GAD Restaurant
We would like to assure you that we are taking necessary corrective action in this regard to ensure that such incidence does not reoccur in future
I deeply regret the inconvenience & discomforts caused to you and hope that this incident will not diminish your otherwise favourable regard for the Gateway Hotels & Resorts.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.
Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAUZ KHAS
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I visited the said Hotel after a gap of two years and was really amazed by the raised standard of service and food, this property of the Taj had really gone down in both of the above stated facts but now the food served was really good tough the lay was not that all big but the food had the aroma and was good also some improvement is needed in the lay of pastry products as most of them were stale and the variety of sweetdish need to be increased.special mention needs to be made of the SPA services offered as it was really good.

Room Tip: Taj facing Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MANOJ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new delhi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed overnight for a weekend trip...everything was in order...the service was perfect...the ambience brilliant....the view of the Taj Mahal was brilliant.....cozy property and highly recommended....rooms on higher floors give a perfect view of the Taj Mahal, the property is located close to all major attractions an important fact when traffic in a city can be the biggest deterrents...

Room Tip: Insist for higher floors for a perfect view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meenal_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 129 in Agra
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#10 of 129 in Agra
4.0 of 5 stars 2,641 reviews
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
1.3 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 129 in Agra
4.5 of 5 stars 1,996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Address: Taj Ganj, Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#6 Spa Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing