We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Time warp”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #10 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
179 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“Time warp”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I am absolutely amazed that anyone could give this hotel a good rating. I felt like I had stepped back in time to the 1960s. It is so old and so dated and badly in need of some attention...in every aspect. Even a room change did not improve the situation. I never once had any hot water. I even went to the small and dismal spa and still had no hot water. Outside of Delhi it is hard to get someone to understand you and that made for some uncomfortable situations. The restaurant is ambience-free with some amazingly bad food. On the upside the staff were generally polite. On the downside, it was the annual staff party held onsite and the noise was a big distraction from sleeping. In fairness to the hotel, this is not where our tour group was scheduled to stay. Our itinerary listed the ITC Mughal, but for some still unexplained reason SITA put us at this hotel. We paid for a five-star hotel and got this two-star property instead. The old bait and switch trick from SITA. Buyer beware.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan.W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Agra

At the onset please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service at the restaurant and SPA

We would like to assure you that we are taking necessary corrective action in this regard to ensure that such incidence d not reoccur in future
I deeply regret the inconvenience & discomforts caused to you and hope that this incident will not diminish your otherwise favourable regard for the Gateway Hotels & Resorts.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.
Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    737
    316
    62
    34
See reviews for
612
704
88
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at gateway hotel on our first trip to Agra. It was a pleasant surprise all the way. We were upgraded to a suite with a gorgeous view of the Taj Mahal. The suite was very tastefully done in Magenta and Green with basic ivory background and the highlight was the subtly painted roof in the bedroom. The bathroom was of a fantastic size with his and her basins. and a shower head in the tub and a separate shower cabin.

The most worth mentioning thing about the hotel is its staff and the service. From check in to check out everything was done so smoothl; the welcome with a tilak, garland, nimbo pani (lemonade) and the genuine smiles of everyone at the hotel makes you feel at home. Special thanks to Mr. Gaurav, the Security officer for helping us with our reporting and then sending my phone charger all the way to Delhi. The GM Mr. Pulkesin was very kind in helping us spend a very entertaining evening in Agra and for recommending to eat at the hotels restaurant JHANKAR, where the mughli thali is a must have.

A fantastic hotel, with perfect location and hospitality you will remember for a long time.

Room Tip: if you can spare some cash, take the Taj Mahal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amoKarachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear sir

Greetings from Agra

We are extremely thankful for your positive response for our services.
Your feedback has been shared with the entire team and it will help us to improve the service levels and motivate our staff
we once again thankyou for your valuable feedback and hope to host you again in near future

Warm Regards

Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
106 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

we found average hotel not like other 4 star hotels. i booked the room for three . The rooms and bathrooms were very small not for three persons. they have only this size of rooms . the best part was to see TAJ from the room. Quality of food can be improve. the break fast hall is very small
service is slow.

Room Tip: ask for Taj facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indore_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Agra

At the onset please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service at coffee shop.
We would like to assure you that we are taking necessary corrective action in this regard to ensure that such incidence d not reoccur in future
I deeply regret the inconvenience & discomforts caused to you and hope that this incident will not diminish your otherwise favourable regard for the Gateway Hotels & Resorts.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.
Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The two best things about this property are it's outstanding service and it's location. I have never been treated with such respect by EVERYONE to the level in which you feel like you are part of the upper wealthy class. Staff really take pride in their work. The location is great because it's the o ly hotel that faces the Tab Mahala so that you can see it from your room. Mine was beautifully decorated. Breakfast is extensive and is well done. They have a fabulous travel desk that can assist you with tours. They will help you transfer to wherever you are going and will personally put you on the train if need be. The only thing for me was that there was a fee for a lot of tho.gs such as Internet or usu.g a toll free phonecard. There shops are fabulous inadequate by the way. Can get great deals. Overall it is a great value.

Room Tip: Get an executive suite or room facing the taj. Suite 518 is superb with great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixweeksoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

we travelled in March 2013 and spent one night at the Gateway. Having spent time as part of our tour in two other Taj hotels, this rated as the lowest on our trip. However, that is not to say it was awful, just not as good! The room we had was comfortable and overlooked the gardens at the rear of the hotel. Really the room was in need of refurbishment, but it was very clean and the bed comfortable.
The big problem was the restaurant and bar area. It is just not big enough for the number of guests eating, especially at breakfast time which was mayhem. The staff were not as friendly as the other Taj hotels, but they were under a lot of pressure as the place was so busy. there was a call order cooked breakfast, but apart from the omlettes which were ok, the food was VERY greasy. Evening buffet was ok. There is another small restaurant available, but cannot comment on the food. Just to say that it was not very busy the evening we were there.
We did sit outside for lunch which was pleasant, but with such large and lovely gardens available, there was very limited seating and tables available to eat outside. Service was also quite slow.
The pool looked very nice but unfortunately, we were not really there long enough to make use of it.
There are several shop outlets in the hotel and I wonder if they would be better placed redesigning and placing the bar in this area. The bar has very few tables and with our coach load of 36, plus the additional guests in the hotel, the area could not cope.
Overall, as a stopover to see Agra Fort and the Taj Mahal, the hotel is quite reasonable, but I would not have wanted to stay any longer.

Room Tip: best to request a room at the back of the hotel as the front faces a busy road and there maybe consi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MazSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir

Greetings from the Gateway Hotel Agra

At the onset please accept my sincere apologies for the lapse in service at the coffee shop and We would like to assure you that we are taking necessary corrective action in this regard to ensure that such incidence d not reoccur in future
I deeply regret the inconvenience & discomforts caused to you and hope that this incident will not diminish your otherwise favourable regard for the Gateway Hotels & Resorts.
We look forward to having you stay with us again in future. Please do get in touch with me for any further assistance.
Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

It loses a start for charging for internet access - this occurred in all the hotels I stayed in and is a complete disgrace and should be punished by all rating scales , so in effect I give this hotel 3/4
Its not a grand place , but it was friendly and very comfortable , as in all the hotels I stayed in the service here was of an exemplary nature.
The pool and gardens are a delight and the water quality of the pool was THE best I encountered in India.The room was a little faded but I got a very nice intangible 'feelin' about this place , the other thing is that the bar prices were reasonable unlike other hotels which were astronomical.its close to the major sites.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank sweenoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We are also working on your feedback about the complimntary wifi.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a lunch at ground floor restaurant. It was just at par place to stop for lunch during sightseeing place. They serve multi cuisine. Service was excellent. Our waiter was well dresses and courteous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmitTandon, Director of Sales at The Gateway Hotel, Agra, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

Greetings from Agra
With reference to your feedback on trip advisor we would like to express our gratitude for your valuable feedback.
We would like to inform you that your appreciation for our services has been shared with the entire hotel team and this will motivate us to further increase our service standards in order to make your future visits more comfortable and delightful.
We look forward to welcome you back at the Gateway hotel Agra
Please feel free to contact me for any future assistance

Warm Regards
Amit Tandon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,800 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.8 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#9 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Hotwire, DerbySoftTaj, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing