We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Ranked #10 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OK hotel”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was OK. I ended up paying more than I thought it was worth, as I left booking too late, and this hotel was the only one left that wasn't a homestay on the one night I had in Agra. I'm trying not to let that affect my review too much, however even with the high amount of my bill, I still paid half of rack rate, so be sure you're not paying any more than that when you go!

They are currently renovating the second floor, so perhaps they hadn't gotten up to my room yet. It definitely needed renovation and had a damp smell. I was in a suite with a Taj view, however it was too foggy to properly see the Taj, and as some other reviewers have commented, the room was REALLY noisy, so in my personal opinion, if I went back, I'd ask for a garden view room - as the view of the Taj isn't worth the extra price (you're going to see it properly whilst you're there anyway) and I'd imagine the garden view rooms are much quieter.

Pro's: The garden is really lovely and the hotel has a gym and a pool (note, the staff tell you the gym is 24/7, but that means that if you want to access it after 9pm, or before 6am, you need to go to reception and ask for a key). There are magicians and puppeteers in the evening, which are probably good if you have kids. There are yoga mats in the rooms, and the staff are very friendly.
Cons: Room was noisy, damp, and visibly aging (as noted, they are renovating, so this may be fixed soon). My shower was broken, and when fixed, water pressure remained bad. When I arrived, I only had one towel in my room. I asked for extra towels, and arrived back to my room to find a single extra towel (Agra is hot, and you walk about a fair bit... expect to take a couple of showers a day!), so again had to ask for more.

In all, this hotel wasn't my cup of tea. If I went back, I'd book a room earlier and stay at the Oberoi. If I'm going to be gauged on price, I want it to be worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairstein_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,880 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    731
    737
    316
    62
    34
See reviews for
612
704
88
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Inauguration of new express way from New Delhi - Noida to Agra has made Hotels in Agra busy for some time ! The Express way reduces the journey time significantly by at least two hours to Agra. Its always a good idea specifically due to poor weather most of the year in Agra- to stay overnight - plan to see the Taj Mahal in either moon light or early morning. Agra Fort visit on same day - in the evening with Sound and Light Show at 1915 Hrs. I believe this is best way to spend evening Day 1 and visit Taj early morning pre-breakfast is best idea- due to heat - dust - humidity most of the year !

Stay at Gateway Agra Hotel-managed by Tata's is best and relaxing.

Room we stayed was comfortable with excellent house keeping. Specially offer of laundry at just $ 12 for any 10 clothes.You could dry clean in about 2-3 hours all your dirty clothes unlike US or Europe !
Taj Mahal is close and so is Agra Fort - Gate way has location advantage,

Food breakfast is excellent,
Have food only in Coffee shop as the Punjabi -Indian is understaffed and poor service. Best is the Bar ! Taj culture of excellent and efficient staff makes the stay pleasant.

Room Tip: Chose floor 5, and any side - pool side or road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MADHUKAR K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by friends and we were not disappointed. We arrived fairly late in the evening, and on entering our room we could see the Taj Mahal through the window which was a magical moment. The room was very clean and tidy with the usual amenities that you would expect in this price range, although throughout our stay in India, we never really got used to having to pay for WiFi, but as we discovered this seems to be the norm in India, even at the most expensive hotels.
I really enjoyed the breakfast buffet (my favorite meal) and rather overindulged!
We stayed two nights and the staff were friendly and helpful in answering our questions. We did have to call housekeeping on one occasion for a minor issue (light bulb), and this was taken care of promptly, as was our laundry.
The hotel is in a good location with nice grounds, and a short drive from the Taj and the other major sites. Will probably never have the opportunity to go back, but would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Well worth the relatively small extra cost for a Taj view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Convenient to the Taj Mahal, the Red Fort, everything nearby...... Good breakfast buffet, excellent rooms (and mattress), and service. Restaurant food was also quite good, but even though it is surrounded by 6 acres of gardens, the noise level is poor. Maybe it was the wedding nearby. But then, there are always weddings in India.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. I don't know where that would be, but I'm sure all the hotels in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoyaDenver_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
316 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Gateway hotel boasts views of the Taj Mahal from the front facing rooms and our first glimpse of the monument came from the window of our room 406. This alone makes it a special hotel, along with the welcome mangoes in the room (so tender and sweet!). The Gateway is busy with groups of western tourists, but the staff were friendly and the service was excellent. The room featured a lot of local touches, such as inlaid marble and silk decoration. The public areas were very tastefully decorated with traditional handicrafts, and the lifts were efficient. The rooms come with a kettle for tea and coffee making, and a shower and small tub. We paid for Wifi in the room using rather a confusing pricing schedule (Half an hour? One hour? Two hours? Six hours? 24 hours?), but it worked.

There is a pool, and a gym and a spa. The gym is limited, with more cardio equipment than weights. The headphones on the treadmill are very high quality however – unusual to see. There was a small locked cupboard of books by the terrace.

There are two restaurants, which feature a magician in the evening outside, and a stone cutter in the morning. Breakfast was good, with some excellent yoghurts, omelettes cooked to order and a good mix of cuisines, both Indian and international. The fruit smoothies were ridiculously sweet, however, and the lack of water available at the buffet meant we had to buy a bottle, which is a little annoying.

Room Tip: Get a Taj facing room or regret it for the rest of your life!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

After a night in a hotel which smelt horrible and had no window, we booked a room in this one.

We had a superior room with a Taj Mahal view and it was great : the view was amazing, the room was clean and quiet.

The staff was attentive and nice : they offered us a drink when we arrived, they brought us apples in the room, on the morning we had newspapers...

I also had a lovely back massage at the spa and ate at the restaurant which was fine (but quite expensive...).

We had a lovely stay and hope we will come back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saezelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We arrived without a reservation, having made a booking at a homestay that was not really habitable. Agra as a city is a sad, neglected and, I might assume, dangerous place. Sad because the Taj and other sites are so magnificent. But the Gateway is an oasis in the chaos. The service is warm, the rooms (we also were upgraded to a Taj view room) are spacious and clean and the breakfast is excellent.

Room Tip: Try to get a Taj view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Br00klynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,800 reviews
1.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.8 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel, Agra

Property: The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#5 Family Hotel in Agra
#7 Business Hotel in Agra
#8 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#9 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Gateway Hotel, Agra 5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ABOUT THE GATEWAY HOTEL FATEHABAD ROAD AGRA: Set amidst six acres of landscaped gardens, The Gateway Hotel Fatehabad Road Agra offers an excellent view of The Taj Mahal from many of its rooms. GETTING THERE & AROUND:• 5 km from the railway station• 10 km from the airport• 3 km from The Taj Mahal. STAY:• 100 rooms including suites• Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel• Television with cable/satellite channels• Electronic safe. Standard City/Pool View Rooms: Well-appointed rooms. Superior Taj View Rooms: With a mix of contemporary and Mughal design, these rooms offer an excellent view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Taj View Rooms: An elevated sitting area in these rooms on higher floors offers a breath-taking view of the Taj Mahal. Executive Suites: These have a private library, a DVD Player and a spectacular view of the Taj Mahal. HANGOUTGAD - All Day Dining: The all day dining restaurant serves Indian and International cuisine. Jhankar: For traditional Indian cuisine(19:30 till 23:30 hrs only) Saqui: For a fine selection of wines, spirits and cigars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, DerbySoftTaj, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gateway Hotel, Agra Hotel Agra
Gateway Hotel Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing