We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Inn of Agra” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mansingh Palace, Agra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mansingh Palace, Agra
Ranked #24 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn of Agra”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2008

The Mansingh Palace is an average, Indian business hotel. We were forced to book one night here since we could not secure a room at the Oberoi Amarvilas for the first night of our stay in Agra. There were no problems with the hotel. The rooms were clean, the staff friendly, and most rooms had a view (when it wasn't foggy or too smoggy) of the Taj Mahal. If you're looking for functionality and basic, clean accomodations, this is the place for you. Having stayed at Oberoi hotels for most of our trip to India, this was definitely "a step down" for us, but was better than sleeping on the streets! The breakfast was tremendously disappointing, so bring some granola bars to start your day.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelmom_60302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    298
    212
    82
    36
See reviews for
246
243
41
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2007

We didn't know what to expect but I must say we were very pleased with the overall hotel. The room was just great, fantastic airconditioning and a very modern bathroom that functioned perfectly. Hotel check-in and check-out was also very efficient. Breakfast was a bit pushed as this hotel obviously caters to groups, but there was a large selection of Indian and continental choices. Our only problem was getting transport from the hotel to a restaurant 3km away. The hotel 'travel service' wanted to charge us Rs500 for the return trip. We eventually (after wasting a lot of time) negotiated with the hotel branded rickshaw driver who did it for Rs250. However, on the return trip there was a lot of problems with this particular rickshaw driver who wanted to take us shopping to 3 shops at 9.30pm when all we wanted to do was go to sleep as we had a 5.30am start to visit the Taj.

But we would certainly recommend the hotel, just make sure you have some way to get around if you don't want to eat dinner there.

  • Liked — Great clean room with modern bathroom and good amenities
  • Disliked — Transport options organised by hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gohomemumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2007

I have now been twice to this particular hotel and have found it consistantly good. The standard is similar to what you would expect in a holiday inn. Clean, comfortable rooms, with a high level of customer service. In comparison to other hotels we stayed in the cost of room service etc was a little pricy, but then this hotel was a bit smarter. The restaurant is pretty busy. It seems to attract tour groups. If like us, we were 2 friends, you are in a small group, there are hardly any small tables in the restaurant and you end up sharing with others. There's an extensive menu, Indian buffet food along with other types of food i.e Chinese or European. The food was good. Next door is a Costa cofee and a Pizza Hut. Not very Indian but a refreshing change. Access to the Taj is only 10 mins away. Next door is a shop that sells all the usual nik naks. It had very cheap internet access at only 10 rupees for about half an hour.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuzyB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2007

Setting out on a ten day trip though Rajasthan, the 100 room, four story Mansingh Palace was our first stop for a one night stay. Located on a quiet street, the hotel's lobby, rooms,and ground floor hallways were adorned through extensive use of colored marble and terrazzo.
Check-in was swiftly and efficiently handled, however our assigned room room 301 was not inhabitable, evidently a water leak one floor higher caused water to drip out from the ceiling and the A/C unit, the toilet did not flush, and the room safe was locked and would not open. Without much ado, we were assigned another room, which aside from a few insects seeking to hide when we turned the bathroom light on, turned out to make for a comfortable stay. The amply sized room came with two single beds with a comfortable mattress, decent pillows, and was very quiet, making for a good night sleep. It had a couch, couch table, area rug, writing desk, flat screen TV, fridge, Coffee/tea maker with supplies, A/C, and everything in the room and in the bathroom worked, except the room safe. It was locked and required a technician to open it, and on wanting to retrieve our belongings in the morning, it would not open again. It took about 30 minutes for someone with the master code to open it for us. The bathroom with tub shower offered the usual assortment of toiletries, good towels, hair dryer and was very clean, as was the room.
Dinner of Indian dishes in the nice restaurant was excellent and reasonably priced, and served by attentive staff. For those not familiar with the Indian menu items, consider SHORBA GHAFFARI, a delicate extract of chicken soup, spiced with herbs and saffron, kADHAI MADCHI, fish cooked with capsicum, onion and a tomato gravy, NAAN, a Tandoor flower bread, and a Kingfisher Pils to rehydrate. Two musicians offered Indian pop. Breakfast, served buffet style in the ground floor cafeteria offered something for every taste. Additionally an omelet cook stood by.
A bar/lounge, business center, gift shop, and a beauty parlor rounded out this full service hotel. All in all and despite some irritation with the safe, the Mansing Palace made for a good one night stop.

  • Liked — comfortable room and great restaurant food
  • Disliked — trouble with non-functioning in-room safe
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garches, France
Level Contributor
103 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2007

Room was ordinary but okay. Staff has some difficulty to smile. Spend no more than one night there.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Arnaud92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2007

We decided to splurge on our last night in India and stayed here one night before returning to Delhi the following day soon after seeing the Taj Mahal first thing in the morning. The alternative would have been to pay the same Man Singh Palace low season rate for a 3 star crap-hole in Delhi.

Its very basic and average for a supposedly 4-5 star hotel. We avoided eating in-house after having had to contend with stomach and bowel problems over the preceding 10 days. We decided to play it safe and eat at the neighbouring Pizza Hut, which was heavenly despite the thick tasteless crust.

The aircon in the double room we got barely worked even after having it at max and reporting it to the front desk. Except for the female concierge that greeted us when we first arrived, the rest of the front desk staff we found to be surly, moody and grumpy. One chap kept staring at me like he had some personal issue to sort out. But by that stage of our trip I was so worn out I just didnt have the energy anymore to deal with it. I was just looking forward to seeing the Taj and getting to Delhi International Airport the following day.

I would reccomend this only because a cheaper or equivalent alternative in Agra will probably leave you with a bad after-taste of your trip to see the Taj.

GE

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank gypsyesprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Agra hotels

West Byfleet, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2007

Good standard hotel rooms. We got to know ours very well, as something in the thali the night before kept us there all day. So the second night we went next door to the Pizza Hut - utterly incongruous in grotty Agra, and worth going just to see the waiters line up down the restaurant at eight pm and perform a Bollywood dance.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank BTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.1 mi away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
1.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
0.6 mi away
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
Hotel Clarks Shiraz
#17 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mansingh Palace, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mansingh Palace, Agra

Property: Mansingh Palace, Agra
Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mansingh Palace, Agra 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mansingh Palace, Agra is a five star property ideally located to suit the needs of travellers whether on leisure or business.100 centrally air-conditioned rooms with telephone, swimming pool, spa, health club, CTV, laundry and dry cleaning services, secretarial, fax & e-mail services, beauty parlor, safe deposit, tea / coffee maker, hair dryer, doctor on call, travel desk, 24 hour money exchange, WIFI. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mansingh Palace, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mansingh Palace, Agra Hotel Agra
Mansingh Palace Hotel Agra
Agra Mansingh Palace Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing