We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room with a View and more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Amarvilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Room with a View and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2007

If you ever intend to spash out on one night in a luxury hotel make it this one. Sitting on the balcony watching the sun go down over the Taj Mahal is a truely memorable experience. From the balcony the Taj is framed beautifully by the sky and trees that lie between it and the hotel. (We did not find the divide to be the wasteland eyesore described by other reviewers). To explore the Taj at closer quarters use the free golf carts provided by the Hotel to take you to the entrance. This is a convenient extra which helps avoid some (but by no means all) of the souvenir sellers and would be guides on the way.
Whilst the main attraction of the hotel is the stunning view and proximity to the Taj it also boasts wonderful service, elegant rooms and the most beautiful pool/garden area. We only stayed here for one night but were given a late check out enabling us to enjoy the hotel until the early evening of our departure.
This is an expensive hotel but if your budget can stretch to it you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TonyBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,466
    323
    87
    20
    13
See reviews for
587
1,486
122
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

This is a long-overdue review but I thought I might add to the tripadvisor statistics in saying that this hotel is an absolute must for any visitor to Agra (with the means, of course). If you are debating between this and another local hotel based on a few hundred dollars, I say the debate is over. Regardless of the gorgeous facilities, superb service, good food, lovely ambience, the views alone are worth it.

We stayed here for two nights during a two week whirlwind of Rajasthan in December/January 2007 and I would absolutely have been kicking myself if we chose to skip Amarvilas. Make sure you have a room on one of the upper floors and be prepared to take numerous photos throughout the day. These may be the only Taj photos you get without hundreds of other tourists in them!

Assuming that this may be your only visit to the Taj Mahal, Amarvilas is the place to be. There is nothing like it.

  • Liked — The Views, Of Course
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank claassenam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2007

We stayed at the Amarvilas as part of our tour of India and was there for my husbands 'significant' birthday! Although I did contact the hotel before hand to arrange a special dinner, the hotel gave us a complementary upgrade to a suite which was simply magic !

The views, as everyone has stated, were magnificent and our first sunset was wonderful.

Service was extraordinary, as you would expect with the Oberoi chain, and although only one restaurant was open in the evening the choice was fine for us. For our first sunset over the Taj, I put all the single rose buds into one vase and put it on the balconey table (vain effort of romance !), the next day we had a stunning arrangement of roses left on the table at no charge!

Our 'special' meal was amazing, the path up to the area over looking the pool was lit with a hundred or so candles - very very pretty, the food and service was lovely - the heat however got the better of us and we had to retire inside which was a real shame - the hotel were very apologetic, even the next day.

One good tip is to hire the hotel car if you want to do a bit of shopping - just let them know what your after and there is a list of recommended shops - very pleasant way to spend a couple of hours.

We had our 9 year old son with us and although we probably made other people's quite time round the pool not that quite - no one complained and we had compliments regarding the laughter we were making.

The Taj itself is wonderful as you'd expect.

The cost is expensive, but worth it, we had no complaints at all. Relax and enjoy it. It's an experience of a lifetime.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2007

Amarvillas is a super hotel. Great service and the place is just gorgeous! I think for India though, the price is STEEP! They could reduce the charges so that more people could afford to stay there. I was there in the middle of summer and the place was pretty empty.

Also, beware... the views of the TAJ are fantastic however you also overlook an empty field where Indian men do manual scavenging. It's a sanitation and health problem and not a pretty site. There I am sitting in my $400 + room with a balcony with a view of the Taj Mahal and at the same time, numerous men going to the bathroom and wiping themselves with their hands. I was just so saddened and disgusted. I could not go out onto my balcony the rest of the time. I raised this issue with the manager but all he could say was that he would speak to the management and town officials. My point is for the STEEP PRICE, the whole experience SHOULD BE PERFECT! The Hotel with all the money they're charging, should get together with the other hotels in the area, hold education classes for these people around the hotel and install portable potty stalls... show some concern and responsibility for the people in the town they operate.

  • Liked — facilities and views
  • Disliked — kept calling ma'am or madam
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Alzira Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OberoiAmarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, July 8, 2007
Dear Trip Advisor Members,
Please rest assured that the hotel management, the town officials and other hotels in the area are all aware of the issue raised in this review, but our hands are tied for a number of socio-political reasons unique to our location which are too complex to elaborate or discuss in such a forum.

Sufficeth to say that the "empty field where Indian men do manual scavenging" mentioned by the reviewer is government-owned and protected land which the hotel has no control over. This area is plainly visible only for a few weeks each summer, when the trees between our hotel and the Taj Mahal shed their leaves and the green cover is reduced.

With all due respect to "Alzira", I urge all Trip Advisor readers/members to go through some of the other reviews and traveler photos of the views from our hotel not just on Trip Advisor but elsewhere on the internet and then arrive at your own conclusions.

Thank you.

- Visheshwar Raj Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Windsor
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2007

This is an incredible hotel in an incredible location. If you can afford to stay here then you should.

One word of warning: don't let your guard down with regard to the food. The quality and oppulence of this Oberoi led us to forget where we were......as travellers from the UK we should have been as careful with what we ate as we were in other places.

Liked: incredible service, room with a view, pool, food, proximity to Taj (incl. golf buggy ride there), room size, room / bathroom facilities, food

Improve on: it's pricey (but worth it!)

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Windsor_Wool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OberoiAmarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, July 10, 2007
On behalf of the hotel management, I would like to acknowledge and thank the Trip Advisor member for taking the time to communicate with us. The reveiwer and his wife felt unwell after having fresh pre-cut watermelon during their stay with us. Although we already follow industry best-practice hygiene standards while processing food products (especially raw fruits and vegetables), just to remove any doubt we have again reinforced the hygiene and sanitation regulations in our kitchens to ensure we continue to maintain the highest possible standards in this regard.
-Visheshwar Raj Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2007

Exquisite hotel in Agra. Gorgeous view of the Taj Mahal. The food is excellent. Service was A+++. I've posted pictures of the pool and views of the Taj. Just remember in India it is hard to stomach the vast difference between the 5 star luxury and the poverty immediately outside the gates of the hotel.

Stayed December 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank amwerewolfinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2007

This hotel must rank in my all-time top 3, and certainly knocks spots off the other Oberoi hotels that I have stayed in. Staff were amazingly efficient and charming; pool area was heavenly; rooms very well appointed; views breath-taking; and restaurants superb. I highly recommend trying the under-patronised Indian restaurant (Esphahan) over the competent but bland European effort.

I always try to find a "but" when giving a good review (after all, nothing's perfect), but I really can't think of one for this place. There can be no better hotel to cap the experience of visiting the Taj.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AreAnyNamesNotTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing