We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view of the Taj Mahal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Exquisite hotel in Agra. Gorgeous view of the Taj Mahal. The food is excellent. Service was A+++. I've posted pictures of the pool and views of the Taj. Just remember in India it is hard to stomach the vast difference between the 5 star luxury and the poverty immediately outside the gates of the hotel.

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank amwerewolfinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,702 - 2,708 of 3,235 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2007

This hotel must rank in my all-time top 3, and certainly knocks spots off the other Oberoi hotels that I have stayed in. Staff were amazingly efficient and charming; pool area was heavenly; rooms very well appointed; views breath-taking; and restaurants superb. I highly recommend trying the under-patronised Indian restaurant (Esphahan) over the competent but bland European effort.

I always try to find a "but" when giving a good review (after all, nothing's perfect), but I really can't think of one for this place. There can be no better hotel to cap the experience of visiting the Taj.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AreAnyNamesNotTaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Amarvilas in Dec 2006 for 2 nights. Everything about the Amarvilas is magnificent, from the interiors to the grounds, to the service. This hotel is an attraction in itself with its decor inspired by the Taj Mahal motifs. The views of the monument can be had from everywhere - from the bar, from the lobby, from the rooms. We had an excellent dinner at Esphahan, their Indian restaurant, and later the chef gave a personal tour of the kitchen to my wife.

My one peeve - we took the hotel car to Fatehpur Sikri and the driver seemed to be hand-in-glove with one of the guides. We had specifically said we didn't want the services of any guide yet he foisted this fellow on us, and even gave him a ride in our car without first clearing it with us. This is the bane of Indian tourism - unscrupulous drivers with all their wheeling & dealing on the side. I expected better from Oberoi in this department. That apart, the Amarvilas was all joy and pleasure.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank agtoau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OberoiAmarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2007

Dear Trip Advisor member,
Thank you for your complimentary review of our hotel.

With regard to your unfortunate experience with the driver provided for your sightseeing trip to Fatehpur Sikri, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience and discomfort you must have been put through. As you may be aware, we outsource our cars & drivers from Avis Car Rentals, but we do put the drivers through guest service and sensitivity training and expect them to perform just like any of our other team members at all times. The majority of our guests use drivers provided by their travel agents.

In order for us to investigate whether the driver was provided by Avis or was a travel agent driver, we would need to know some more details. Although we have the utmost respect and value for your privacy, it would assist our investigations greatly if the reviewer could please send us some more details about his stay (name or your room number would suffice) by e-mail at gm@oberoi-amarvilas.com. Of course, doing so is left completely at the reviewer's discrection and if he does not feel comfortable doing so, we shall understand and respect that.

I do hope the reviewer will e-mail me at his earliest convenience, and will not allow this issue to forever mar his impression of our hotel and service.

Sincerely,

Visheshwar Raj Singh
General Manager
The Oberoi Amarvilas, Agra, India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2007

Cannot complain at all about this hotel. The entrance is splendid, the staff appear to be ex-SAS (appearing and dissapearing with almost psychic ability) and the view of the Taj Mahal was magnificant.
We stayed here after being at the Oberoi Jaipur and the difference was noticable. Breakfast was served in our room - to take full advantage of the view and was excellent (beware the light and healthy - it is neither but very tasty!).
There is a golf cart to take you most of the way to the Taj, which we mocked for being lazy, but actually what it does do is get you past a long line of touts and tuc tuc drivers. Tourists are prime bate here - do not be surprised by the amount of touts - but they are friendly and only trying to make a living.
The pool area is excellent and we spent a very pleasant afternoon here just splashing about.
Take time to use the spa. We had a three hour Auyverdic treatment in the twin treatment room which overlooks the Taj, utter bliss and a bargian compared with UK prices (around 90 pounds each). Watch the sun set over the Taj in a bath of milk and rose petals, doesn't get much bettter.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kittenwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2007

Travelled as group of 3 families around Northern India. Actually stayed in 3 Oberoi hotels so agreed special rate with Central Reservations. They are not the quickest or most efficient of booking systems but everything was great in the end.

This hotel is stunning - the terrace and gardens have an uninterrupted view of the Taj Mahal, and so did our rooms! I could lie in bed and look at the most beautiful monument. Our rooms also had large private terraces, so we had breakfast out there each day. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, as are the bathrooms. It is a very modern hotel with spa (didn't try) and the pool is really well designed, with sheltered areas and sunny areas. Poolside service for drinks and food was great, and they were willing to serve off menu (small children wanted ham and cheese toasties for lunch).

Main restaurant had a mix of foods and service was excellent. The Indian restaurant does not admit children under 12. We gave the kids room service and one of our teenagers babysat, so we had a very pleasant (and peaceful) meal. Room service for one room was a bit late arriving - I phoned to chase it up and the waiter who had taken the order phoned back and apologised profusely, and promised to hold our booking in the main restaurant.

Used laundry service which was fine, and changed pillows from feathers (which make me sneeze)- they have a pillow menu!

Can't really think of anything to fault it on.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

We stayed here two nights. The hotel facilities were beautiful - our room's balcony view of the Taj Mahal was breath taking - and the staff appeared very attentive and friendly. On the morning that we checked out this officious little man with a long bird feather (his low tech version of a pointer) came into our room, not to get our bags as requested, but to search the room (including going through the bed linens and dirty towels) to make sure that we had not stolen hotel property. Over the past thirty years, my family and I have traveled throughout Europe, Asia, the US, the Middle East, and Central America, several times a year, always staying in comparable hotels (even other Oberoi hotels) and have never been treated this way. Of course nothing was missing - we didn't even use the mini bar, but I was mortified. I don't know if we were treated this way because we are Black American women or if this is standard practice at that hotel. I do know that when I take my other daughter to Agra next year I will not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TravelingmommaDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_OberoiAmarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2007

Dear Trip Advisor member,
On behalf of The Oberoi Amarvilas team, please accept my sincere apologies if you were in any way offended during your stay with us. Let me assure you and all other Trip Advisor members / readers that we do not encourage or tolerate any sort of discrimatory or suspicious behaviour towards our guests by any staff member.

I must confess that the experience described in this review is completely uncharacteristic of our check-out procedures. We do of course follow a system of the floor butler going to the room after getting a 'room check-out' message on his pager, but this is primarily done to see if the guest has left behind any articles in the room by mistake or if the room safe is open/empty and also to verify any last minute mini-bar consumptions. Neither our room attendants nor our butlers carry "a long bird feather" or any such "low tech version of a pointer", which makes this experience all the more bizarre and mystifying.

However, my team and I are taking this matter very seriously and would certanly like to get to the bottom of this troubling experience that one of our guests went through while leaving our hotel. Although we have the utmost respect and value for your privacy, it would assist our investigations greatly if the reviewer could please send us some more details about her stay (just your name, or your room number and date of departure would suffice) by e-mail at gm@oberoi-amarvilas.com. Of course, doing so is left completely at the reviewer's discrection and if the reviewer does not feel comfortable doing it, we shall understand and respect that.

My team and I assure you and all Trip Advisor members/readers that this unfortunate incident was an abberation in our guest service standards, and we will be greatly disappointed if the reviewer does not allow us an opportunity to make up for it on her trip to Agra next year.

I do hope the reviewer will e-mail me at her earliest convenience, and will not allow this issue to forever mar her impression of our hotel and service.

Sincerely,

Visheshwar Raj Singh
General Manager
The Oberoi Amarvilas, Agra, India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2007

We stayed here for one night in late March and it was fabulous. The hotel itself is stunning with a location and view to match. Very expensive for a room but the food in the restaurants is of reasonable cost by UK standards.

The one thing that stands out is the service - the best I hae ever encountered. From the minute you arrive the staff are nothing but friendly, smiling and talkative. By the second day everyone we met seemed to know our names. We went for dinner in the Indian restaurant and the chef personally came out to ensure the dishes we had ordered were spiced exactly as we wanted. When I asked him if one of the dishes could be made spicier, he insisted on making a fresh batch along with new plates, rice, daal and naans and then refused to charge for the original dish as he felt it wasnt perfect the first time around. I have many more examples of the service but too many to detail here.

Overall I would definately recommend this hotel for anyone going to Agra. It really is as good as all the reviews on this site say it is with not a single thing I could find to fault it.

One tip is to ask for a room on the the higher floors as the trees have grown since the hotel posted photos on their website so the views are much better higher up.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank undedjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 142 in Agra
4,138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 142 in Agra
2,862 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $802 - $1,729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing