We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2009

Every rooms has a view of the Taj Mahal, staff are excellent, rooms are beautiful. It's a bit expensive but worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott29inSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,594 - 2,600 of 3,270 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2009

This hotel was simply fabulous. Each room has a close view of the Taj. The service and the restaurants are equally fabulous.

Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
Thank CharlesS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Beautiful elegant furnishing, stunning pool and surroundings. The spa treatments were sumptious and put any other I have had elsewhere to shame. The staff have the right mix of attentive and non intrusive, always greet you with a genuine smile. Have longed to go back the moment I left.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rg100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Rated the 2nd best hotel in Asia
Rated the 8th best hotel in the World

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rammi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We simply loved staying at this Oberoi. We went to the Taj Mahal first thing, straight off the train. Checking in you walk through the stunning oberoi architecture and it all makes sense as it echos the Taj compound. The pool is dreamy and a marvellous place to for lunch. Kartik the head of F&B made sure we were all set in the restaurant for dinner, introducing us to Indian food. The music before and during dinner was excellent and the whole place is lit up with candles and lanterns. Definitely come and stay here if you can and make more of your stay than just the Taj, it would be a terrific spot for 3 or 4 days.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chutneywallah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We spent 2 nights in the Amarvilas after 3 nights at the Udaivilas. Whilst Amarvilas is a good hotel, it is only a patch on the Oberoi in Udaipur. The hotel appeared rammed full of people on package tours and, because the hotel was at capacity, service suffered. We booked direct, and at around $700 a night, it was extremely expensive and I felt that our stay was compromised by the multitudes of people who were paying a fraction of that on their package. This will disappoint those like me who paid for an amazing experience, but got a package one in return. The food however was outstanding.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Don_J_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

Good bits,

Its clean, functional, has great food in the indian restaurant & has much acclaimed views of the taj Mahal (and less notorious views of a slum in between)

Bad bits,

It is completely devoid of atmosphere. Its a new build and it feels just like it. The hotel is huge but always feels empty - particularly sad in the bars - where they no longer allow non guests to drink (or for that mattter eat in the restaurants) and as most the guests probably drink on their balconys, the bars are completely empty.

The smell from the fat fryer in the kitchen by the pool is disgusting. Its so strong the complimentary bottles of water we were given were undrinkable as they smelt of of fat - having come from the same kitchen. To avoid the worst of the fat smells - try to pick a sunbed on the left (if facing the TM) of the pool.

Also worth noting the pool is sunken and doesnt have views of the taj mahal, and as guests tend to stay for one night, tend to arrive late in the afternoon and leave after visiting the TM in the morning - the pool is empty between 8am-4pm and then all the beds are sudenly taken between 4-6.

The much acclaimed golf buggies were not available on our return journey to the hotel from the TM - because they were being recharged! It seems the hotel were suprised by most of the guests going to see the monument in the morning and were therefore caught unaware!??

It is so expensive to stay and frankly just not worth it. If your heart is set on visiting I would strongly reccomend not staying more than a night.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 143 in Agra
4,178 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,879 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 143 in Agra
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $802 - $1,730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing