We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of a Lifetime!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2005

I have been to the Taj Mahal twice before this but this time it was simply the best. We stayed in the Kohinnor suite for a nite and I must say there is no other way of expiriencing the glorious beauty of the Taj from dawn to dusk. It was the most mesmerizing experience. This is by far the best place to enjoy the beauty of Taj from the minute you wake up to the time you fall asleep. The ambience and the decor of the room was simply breath taking. It far exceeded my expectations. The service was more then excellent. The hotel staff was very very helpful and it was best hotel experience I have ever had. We wanted to enjoy every minute we could in our room, so we had arranged for dining in our suite and it was mind blowing. They had decorated the table with beautiful roses and candles and the food was excellent. It did not feel like you were in India. The service was fantastic. It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sassyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,863 - 2,869 of 3,357 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
London
973
Reviewed October 8, 2005

This is a totally unique hotel, the only one with direct views of the Taj Mahal (all rooms overlook it but you need to be on a higher floor to get a decent view).

The hotel is impressive, if a little unatmospheric. The food at the Indian restaurant is absolutely divine, it is a must. The hotel also served one of the best breakfasts.

The rooms were lovely with very large bathroom and separate dressing area.

The staff were friendly and the hotel offers a complimentary cart ride to the Taj Mahal (best to visit early am).

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Zurich
15
Reviewed September 10, 2005

It is very nearby taj mahal. Nice view from each appa. to taj mahal, beautiful pool outside, but really OVERPRIZED. You have to pay for everthing extra. food is not really fine but overprized. room-interieur is clean and very well.

  • Stayed: November 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2005

This hotel was absolutely fabulous. The view of the Taj Mahal from the hotel rooms, lobby and pool area are stunning. I can't imagine that any other hotel in Agra could compare. The service was outstanding as were the accommodations. Our room was large and well appointed, as was the bathroom. This was simply the best!

  • Stayed: July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KatieKDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2005

Agra was our first destination in our recent 10 day trip to Rajasthan. Amarvilas set the high bar for rest of the hotels in our trip to meet for sure. I can't think of a better way to begin your India journey... After arriving at the hotel in the afternoon, we sat on the terrace for sunset. The view of the Taj Mahal at dusk will forever be one of the most memorable travel moments. Once the sun sets, you can enjoy the traditional Indian dance across the terrace. While many hotels in the region have the same types of show, Amarvilas tops it all. The music, the dance, the atmosphere... ALL in the backdrop of the shadow of the Taj... It is all simply amazing.

I can't say enough about how special the hotel is. The rooms were clean, well kept and comfortable. The service was top notch. The restaurants were superb. Make sure to enjoy the live sitar & tabla show at dinner.

At the end of our trip, Rajasthan became one of our must-go-back-soon places. And Amarvilas is certainly a huge part of it!!

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tokyomom212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2005

Hi,
if you want a room with a view you won't get any better then the Taj Mahal from any of the rooms in the Amarvilla's hotel. We had an excellent stay here. The hotel is relaxed, personal and beautifully appointed. It's worth it! We stayed in 3 Oberoi properties during our stay in India and each one is amazing. Go on...treat yourselves!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SineadDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JMRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 147 in Agra
4,311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#4 of 147 in Agra
1,702 reviews
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#3 of 147 in Agra
2,963 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 147 in Agra
1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $793 - $1,767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing