We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

Words cannot describe this hotel! Waking up in the morning with a view of the Taj Mahal in the distance is beyond breathtaking. And it wasn't just the views- the service, the rooms, the food, everything!

The hotel was simply exquisite. The layout, lobby, pool, and of course, the views from every single room. This must be one of the nicest hotels in the world I've ever had the pleasure of staying it. It is worth every penny of the exorbitant cost. I knew we only had one night in Agra, and we had to stay at the nicest hotel- I have no regrets!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccnolan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,517
    328
    88
    20
    14
See reviews for
602
1,513
124
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
107 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2009

Even though the hotel was beyond my usual budget, spending a night here was worth every penny!! Fantastic service, priceless view, pool(and teddy bear gift from the hotel) my 5 year old daughter really enjoyed and a massage my wife raved about. For the Taj Mahal experience, this is it!

  • Liked — The view and the service. The balcony was a great place from which to gaze at Taj Mahal
  • Disliked — For the money, the rooms could have been a little better.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AwesomeSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed three nights here, and loved the hotel. Our suite was very comfortable, and had a magnificent view of the Taj. The staff were very friendly and efficient. In fact, our stay was really perfect. Food was good; public spaces lovely; location great. (This hotel is in great contrast to the Rajvilas, which was not good). The property really is spectacular and well managed.

My only issue is with the no-refund policy for changes in reservations. I understand this policy when hotels are full, as the hotel loses out on revenue it otherwise would have if there is a cancellation; but the policy is simply unjustifiable when hotels are half empty as they are at present.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crulezim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
175 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

This hotel really is as amazing as it appears on their website. A balcony room is an essential as the view is breathtaking. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and you really feel as though you are miles away from the dirt and noise of Agra. The hotel takes you to the entrance of The Taj Mahal by golf cart and collects you in the same way. The food is lovely and although there were a few slip ups with my food allergy, they did everything they could to make up for this! Although the hotel is beautiful it is not worth the £700/night that we paid but you are paying the premium for the view which you can't get from any other hotel. If I went back to Agra I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fairmont123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

After a long train trip and winding through the streets of Agra past the camel carts and elephants (!), we entered the Oberoi Amarvillas and were stunned by the jaw-dropping view of the Taj Mahal perfectly framed in the lobby windows. We were greeted with cool towels and a cold drink, allowed to relax and soak in the view, and then accompanied to our room to complete our check-in. The staff was amazing - always there when you needed them, but very unobtrusive otherwise - and the golf cart ride to the entry gate of the Taj made it very straightforward and easy.

  • Liked — view & location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnAmericanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2009

The location of this hotel is unparalleled. This is probably its main advantage. The hotel interiors are fabulous and all rooms overlook the Taj. We did not have the chance to try their food or spa since we only stayed there for one night.
The service was very friendly however there were small hickups here and there.
When we arrived at 10am, the hotel informed us that we cannot check in before 2pm, although they were informed of our early arrival.
I'm sure that a hotel that is rated among the top 5 hotels in the world can accommodate early arrival. This is not some 4 star business hotel, this is the oberoi. My stay should be customized to my needs.
When we did check in at 2pm, our luggage did not come up to the room because it did not pass security. They said we had metal objects and they need to be thoroughly searched! Of course we had metal objectives. My husbands shaver is not wood, neither is my hair dryer. What did they expect? And this is the first time in my life that a hotel goes through our luggage for security reasons. I mean so far it never even happened in airports!
It is very conveniently located next to the taj and they have a complimentary golf cart service to take visitors back and forth upon their request.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Checking in process
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed at the Oberoi in early January, and would recommend it as the ideal place in Aggra, with very convenient access to the Taj Mahal. All the rooms overlook the Taj Mahal and the service is very good. The spa is however very disappointing, and the facilities are out-dated and tired. Over-all an excellent experience, but avoid Aggra downtown, it's dreadful. The Taj Mahal is more beautiful than expected!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Spa
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerhard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,745 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing