We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but not top 5 hotel in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Location but not top 5 hotel in the world”
Reviewed January 28, 2009

The location of this hotel is unparalleled. This is probably its main advantage. The hotel interiors are fabulous and all rooms overlook the Taj. We did not have the chance to try their food or spa since we only stayed there for one night.
The service was very friendly however there were small hickups here and there.
When we arrived at 10am, the hotel informed us that we cannot check in before 2pm, although they were informed of our early arrival.
I'm sure that a hotel that is rated among the top 5 hotels in the world can accommodate early arrival. This is not some 4 star business hotel, this is the oberoi. My stay should be customized to my needs.
When we did check in at 2pm, our luggage did not come up to the room because it did not pass security. They said we had metal objects and they need to be thoroughly searched! Of course we had metal objectives. My husbands shaver is not wood, neither is my hair dryer. What did they expect? And this is the first time in my life that a hotel goes through our luggage for security reasons. I mean so far it never even happened in airports!
It is very conveniently located next to the taj and they have a complimentary golf cart service to take visitors back and forth upon their request.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Checking in process
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nonni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,637
    333
    89
    20
    13
See reviews for
644
1,560
127
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (853)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

We stayed at the Oberoi in early January, and would recommend it as the ideal place in Aggra, with very convenient access to the Taj Mahal. All the rooms overlook the Taj Mahal and the service is very good. The spa is however very disappointing, and the facilities are out-dated and tired. Over-all an excellent experience, but avoid Aggra downtown, it's dreadful. The Taj Mahal is more beautiful than expected!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Spa
  • Stayed January 2009
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerhard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

Absolutely fantastic hotel. It was pricey, but worth every penny. When you arrive, the hotel does seem a bit dated, but it really is transformed at night. We took a dip in the pool surrounded by torches enjoying live music and dancing on the roof above us. Steam room and sauna were very refreshing as well. The rooms are very spacious and what you would expect from a luxury hotel, but the view of the taj is unique. Food was also excellent at the Indian restaurant, but we ate at the Continental restaurant for lunch and were not as impressed (my wife's chicken sandwich was really good, but the club we ordered was pretty embarrassing for the price). Service was also impeccable throughout, along with breakfast delivered by room service.

  • Liked — One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in
  • Disliked — Bad chicken club at lunch, but that's it
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank cph216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Creek, Ca
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My sister and I literally started crying with the beauty of it when we were shown into our room at this beautiful hotel. Our only regret was that we were in one of the most romantic rooms either of us has ever seen with each other and not our husbands. We were there for one night last January as the big splash out treat on our trip to visit our brother who lives in New Dehli. If you are unhappy here, you will be unhappy anywhere

We booked the lowest level room and somehow were lucky enough to be put in a room with an extra large terrace and a bathroom with a view of the Taj Mahal. We could see the Taj Mahal from the shower, the bathtub, and yes, even the toilet. Exquisite.

We fantasize that we got this fabulous room because we were so in awe of the hotel before we even checked in. We were smiling and hugging each other and gratefully acknowledging the staff who gave us watermelon juice and escorted us to the lovely lounge with the view of the Taj Mahal to await check in. The beautiful young woman who escorted us to our room smiled coyly and said, "I think you will like your room" as she unlocked the door. The room literally took out breath away. I'll post pictures.

This is a very special hotel.

  • Liked — The view, the staff, and the bathroom
  • Disliked — Can't thnk of a thing
  • Stayed January 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ramblin_Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2009

This is a fabulous Oberoi hotel – we were just disappointed we couldn’t stay longer! The attention to detail is brilliant and the staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much bother.

The restaurants are excellent and the golf-cart service to the Taj Mahal is great

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank DandLSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2009

By coincidence, my daughter visited this hotel one week before us. This is the best hotel in the world, she texted me. Maybe not completely true but certainly one of the best and with one of the best unbeatable locations in the world. A trip to the Taj Mahal is unmissable and you have to stay at this hotel. In addition to its location it has an awesome pool with steam rising in the evening because of its heat. The staff are charming and attentive if a little inexperienced. Don't miss the little shopping mall by the entrance - beautiful shawls, etc.

  • Liked — The views of the Taj Mahal
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank camdencalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed at the Oberoi Amarvilas for 2 nights in Dec. 2008 in a deluxe room on the third floor. We had a an unobstructed view of the Taj Mahal from our balcony - a perfect place to sit and watch the sunset. If you want a view of the Taj, the rooms with the best unobstructed views are on the 3rd, 4th and 5th floors of the hotel. I believe the 5th floor is suites only. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in our room rate and was the best we had during our 2 week luxury tour of north India. Spa rates are consistent with what you would pay in NYC or LA . A very Western-friendly hotel - exactly what we needed after hectic day out and about in Agra. Went to the Taj Mahal at sunrise - there are golf carts that leave from the hotel and take you to the Taj entrance gate and will bring you back when you are finished. Definitely worth the splurge.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Paying for internet access at a 5 star hotel
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IndiaTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,949 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,755 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing