We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh My Gosh..awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We arrived in the evening and our first impression with the water entrance was stunning! They met us with cool cloths and a wonderful cool drink before we started our check-in process. Our room was large and beautiful, and what a great surprise for us to open the drapes that next morning and looking out to see a the incredible Taj Mahal. The service is above reproach, the staff cannot do enough for you and nothing seems to big of a request. The bar was a great place to unwind in the early evening and to watch the sun set. The pool area is SPECTACULAR! In the evening they had live Indian music and local dancers...the peacock dance was beautiful. The breakfast buffet was abundant and hate a great many choices to choose from...overall this was an incredible experience!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DayDreamer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. The hotel, with its elegant and understated architecture and décor, provides the perfect setting for your stay in the City of Taj. The monument itself is visible from every guest room, while the Bar area is the perfect place to watch iconic building as the sun sets. Our picturesque garden and pool area is the perfect place to unwind after a day of sightseeing. I am glad that our team was able to make a positive impression with their service. It will be my pleasure to share your generous praise with them.

We hope that pleasant memories of your stay will tempt you to return soon to one of the other Oberoi Hotels and Resorts.

Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,459 - 1,465 of 3,186 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

Had an awesome stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas. We were a group of 11 doing the Delhi-Agra-Jaipur circuit. The Oberoi experience is simply something else. The property is spectacular. The rooms/food/service absolutely outstanding. No other property compares to it. Each room has a great view of the Taj. My only dissapointment is that we spent only one night in Agra. It's not enough time to enjoy the hotel. I could spend a lot more time just enjoying all that the property has to offer!!

Room Tip: A higher floor will give you a better view of the Taj.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to learn that the rooms, public areas, food and service at the hotel were to your liking. All guest rooms, as well as most public areas do indeed offer stunning views of the Taj Mahal, while the hotel golf carts provide easy access to the monument, located just 600 meters away. Our restaurants, bar and scenic pool areas are other highlights of the hotel.

We hope to welcome to back to the hotel for a longer stay in the near future.

Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Visited the hotel on a standard Golden Triangle tour as the last stop. Like the other Oberoi hotels we stayed in on the tour we were treated like royalty - but without any hint of subservience - the staff seem to genuinely want to do the best they can for you and nothing was too much trouble. They even provided earplugs on one of our nights, as there was a festival going on by the Taj and the noise could be heard from the hotel (it wasn't that loud and we didn't need them) . What else can I say that other reviewers haven't already? - all the rooms have a view of the Taj which is a great start, and they're sumptuously appointed with large comfortable beds and ours had a great bathroom with walk-in power shower. Food is excellent - unfortunately placed near a noisy group of other tourists the first night but no problems thereafter. Didn't try the pool but it looked great and the gardens are lovely to walk round after breakfast. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to know that we were able to delight you with our product and services. The view of the Taj Mahal from every guest room, as well as the beautifully decorated interiors of the hotel and scenic garden and pool areas, set the mood for a wonderful getaway to the City of Taj. Our trained and dedicated team endeavors to delight you with their attentive yet unobtrusive service, while our restaurants and bar pamper guests with the finest food and beverages.

I hope that the fond memories of your stay will prompt you to return soon to one of our excellent Oberoi Hotels and Resorts.

Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

First time visit to India for our family of four (with 2 boys, 9 & 12). Arrived 1:30am at Indira Gandhi International Airport, met our driver and drove directly to Agra.

We were greeted warmly upon arrival and check in was swift and done over coffee/tea service (which was much appreciated after the 4 hour drive), boys were gifted toys which brought the hotel up a notch in their "cool" meter. We were then promptly taken to our beautiful rooms on the 3rd floor with balcony views that will literally take your breath away for a few seconds. Complimentary pastries and refreshments also awaited us in our rooms so we were able to relax and enjoy the view before paying homage to the Taj Mahal (tour arranged through the hotel).

Service is impeccable - from purchasing our plane tickets to Jodhpur to producing bug medicine for our kid who had bug bites. A special thank you also to Chef Solanki who baked cookies with the boys - they want to try out your recipe as soon as we get back home. And also a special thank you to Himanshu who consistently made sure we were pampered, specially the kids.

As our first stop in our 10 day journey, Amarvilas was a great way for us to ease in to the fascinating culture of India.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank Roselyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing you kind review on Trip Advisor.

Besides offering stunning views of the Taj Mahal from every room, the hotel golf carts provide easy transport to the monument. Our beautifully designed interiors and picturesque pool and garden areas are a delight to view. Our team understands that a vacation with family is indeed a truly special time and they constantly endeavor to make the experience one to cherish for a lifetime. I am glad that in this instance they were successful in creating fond memories for you and your family.

Thank you for your generous appreciation, which will be shared with the concerned team members.

We hope to welcome you all back to the hotel in the near future,

Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Probably one of the most beautiful hotels we've stayed at. The Oberoi Amarvilas has one of the most elegant designs with all the rooms offering a breathtaking view of the Taj Mahal. The property is huge, but you don't feel like staying at some big, typical hotel chain. Lovely, relaxing pool and great bar to watch the sunset and enjoy pre-dinner drinks -- we met some interesting people there. I'd also recommend getting the Thali at Esphahan, the Indian restaurant, which will allow you to sample many of the country's finest dishes.

If you plan to visit the Taj, the hotel can arrange a ticket and an English speaking tour guide. They also provide a golf cart for a drop off and pick up with no charge.

Downside: Windows needed cleaning when we got there, obscuring the view of the Taj. Staff cleaned promptly. Signs to hotel can be tricky, so make sure you study the route or your driver knows where he's going in Agra.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ploytenkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am most delighted to read your pleasant comments regarding your stay at the Oberoi Amarvilas. I am pleased that the location of the hotel, the environment, the cuisine and the service were to your expectation. The view of the Taj Mahal from all guest rooms, as well as the shuttle service to and from the monument make sure a visit to the Taj truly memorable.

We at Oberoi Hotels always try to cater to our guest’s individual needs, to ensure that the quality of service and products are delivered as expected from us. We aspire to make bonds for a life time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotels and resorts.

Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

When you arrive, you are first invited to have a afternoon tea with a view on the Taj. After that you are accompanied to the room and only then starts the check-in process.
The service is outstanding. There is a butler at your disposal for 24 h.

When you decide to visit the Taj, a golf cart takes you just in front of the gate to visit the Taj.

The garden around the hotel is very well kept. The large Swimming pool helps you to support the heat of northern India.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time out to put up your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor.

The hotel location and design allow stunning views of the Taj Mahal from public areas and all rooms, while the elegant décor gives a feel of true luxury. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay have carried away fond memories of the hotel facilities and service. We are always striving to achieve the high standards and value that our guests expect from us.

I hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again in the not so distant future.

Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a 5 star plus hotel,, compare it it any 5 star in the world and you will be happy here.. We were in Agra to see the Taj Mahal,, and there is no other reason to go to Agra,, it is an old ugly city, but the beauty of the Taj makes the trip worth it. This hotel has the perfect location for viewing the Taj Mahal,, get a room with a balcony so you can sit out and see it at different times of the day and beat the heat and crowds. Food at hotel is excellent,, we had French Toast and Salmon eggs for breakfast,, awesome,, lunch by the pool was a sandwich we shared but one was enough for 2, it was the veg sandwich but on a warm bun with mushrooms and cheese and fries, dinner in the Indian restaurant was great,, chef came out to ask what we would like to eat, and then made it (chicken,, spicy but not overly ,, and he added what he thought would go along with it).
Room was beautiful...bed was one of best we have stayed in (and we travel alot), pillows were so soft,, sheets smooth,, bathrobes in room light and comfy, soaps and lotions smelled divine.
Staff amazing,, so friendly...Pool area a must to sit by,, or just explore,,, pool goes into a seating area with couches and loungers for those who do not want any sun.

I will not ever be back in Agra,, but if I were,, this is where I would stay....I will stay at other Oberio properties while in India though,, just based on the amazing experience at this hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony,, a few more rupees but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vtogoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is located just 600 meters from the Taj Mahal, offering spectacular views of the monument from all guest rooms as well as the bar, lounge and lobby areas. The hotel also provides day long golf cart service to the Taj Mahal, adding to guests’ convenience. The restaurant and pool areas are other highlights of the hotel and I am glad that the food and service there were to your satisfaction. We endeavor to provide for your comfort in all aspects in our guest rooms and appreciate your feedback regarding the same. We believe that our dedicated team members are our greatest assets and it will be my pleasure to share your kind comments with them.

We hope to welcome you soon to one of the other excellent Oberoi Hotels and Resorts.

Warm Regards,

Ankush Mahajan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 144 in Agra
4,079 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 144 in Agra
2,832 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 144 in Agra
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $876 - $1,761 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing