We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke by Nayland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We picked this hotel for the location. We were promised stunning views of the Taj Mahal and we were not disappointed. The service in the hotel was good. Although perhaps a bit large chain and a bit impersonal at times. However, we were well looked after and the hotel is close to the Taj, offering an excellent shuttle service to get you there. We were also told that there were fixed eating times. However, I am not sure this is really the case and I think you could pretty much turn up whenever you want. If you took away the view, it is perhaps a little dull and corporate - it caters for people who want a sanitised view of India. However, the views are what sells this hotel.

Room Tip: You need to ask for a Taj view and make sure you are high enough up. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the views from your room and that you had a pleasant stay with us. We offer complimentary shuttle service to the Taj Mahal ensuring the monument is just minutes away from the hotel.

We have two restaurants out of which one is an all day dinning restaurant and the other is a Specialty restaurant which only operates for dinner service for which we take prior reservations.

We hope that our service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many Oberoi hotels and resorts in the future.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,586
    331
    89
    20
    13
See reviews for
620
1,543
126
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

What more can I say.
High staff/ client ratio, superb service, lovely food.
They aim to please, the staff are outstanding, we loved it.
Agra isn't great but the hotel is an oasis in a sea of chaos.
You probably won't visit the Taj Mahal again, it's a once in a lifetime trip.
Make it really memorable and stay here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas

It’s a pleasure to read your review which is much appreciated. Your feedback is a great source of motivation and is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavor to provide to our guests.

We take special care in recruiting and training our staff in order to exceed guest expectations and ensure a memorable stay.

I hope you will return to stay with the Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This Oberoi is the best we’d stayed during our 10-day's trip to India. So elegant designed and structured, with the Indian culture touch to it (the staff's uniforms are a delight to our foreigners' eyes), plus the outstanding services, it stands out among all its peers! My room had a huge balcony and the magnificent views of Taj Mahal, gardens and pools from it totally made up for the long and tired-some bus trip from Delhi!
We arrived during sunset and were greeted by a champion reception and colour- lighted fountain. The following day around 7am we rode the horse carriages parked in front of the hotel and within a few minutes reached the east gate of Taj Mahal. After waiting in line for around half an hour, we made to the first wave of visitors entering the gate. We spent a couple of hours there till the crowd flooded in, headed back by the electric carts to the hotel for breakfast. It was the best buffet breakfast, ever!

Room Tip: Select a room with a balcony facing Taj Mahal. The views are truly spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northerner-Can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read your comment and your generous praise of the hotel and our staff. All our rooms are beautifully designed to have a view of the magnificent Taj Mahal and the beautifully manicured gardens and lawns. However, it is our trained and guest focused team which is our most valuable asset. I am glad that their dedicated service has made this stay a once in a life time experience for you.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi hotels soon.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
317 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We were recommended this hotel as the best view of the Taj Mahal & certainly it delivered on that front. Beautiful water gardens & pool area & our room was lovely.

The shuttle service to the Taj Mahal is terrific & if I can give you a recommendation - take advantage of it & get there early. If you can manage 6.30am you'll be at the front of the queue & will manage to get an uncluttered view. Later in the day - complete bunfight.

In terms of the well meant criticism - the hotel's public parts are lacking (probably because it's a newer property) & the food is edging on poor. It's expensive & they could do a lot better.

I wouldn't necessarily let that put you off - still a very lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarristerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to read that the view of the Taj Mahal and the gardens, water bodies and rooms were to your liking. The swimming pool is one of the most beautiful and serine places of the hotel to come back and relax after a long tiring day of sight seeing. We provide a complimentary shuttle service to the Taj Mahal, ensuring that the monument is just minutes away from the hotel.

I have also made a good note of your feedback referring to the hotel public areas and the cuisine. Please be assured that your feedback has been taken seriously and will be put to good use. We rely on the constructive feedback of our discerning guests to help us achieve the highest levels of product and services we aspire towards.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas in future.

Thank you,
Ankush Maharaja
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Seeing the Taj Mahal from your own terrace is pure delight. To complement it by staying at Amarvilas is a real moment of serenity. The hotel itself is a jewel, with beautiful rooms, amazing gardens and a discreet but very attentive staff. Best to get a room with terrace overlooking the Taj to fully appreciate the place. Food is on par with the rest as is the Spa. A real gem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on Trip Advisor.

It gives me immense pleasure to read that you enjoyed the beauty of the hotel during your stay and that we were able to create fond memories for you to carry back home.

I will be pleased share your generous comments with the team which will be a great source of motivation for all.

We hope that our service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many Oberoi hotels and resorts in the future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan,
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Some rooms, especially on the top floor, have direct views of the Taj Mahal. But wherever you are this is a great hotel and typifies the Oberoi group, with elegance and sophistication. The style was typical Raj Indian, and the staff are immaculately dressed in traditional uniform, and are extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was quite large, although not as good as the Oberoi in Jaipur. However, it did have a huge balcony/roof terrace. Unfortunately because it was not very warm when we visited it was not warm enough to sit out in the evenings. My visit to the spa for a back massage was not as good as in the Imperial Hotel in Delhi where we had previously visited.
There are special buggies laid on from the hotel to the Taj Mahal, which is a nice touch and typical of the service levels.

Room Tip: The higher the better to get a view of the Taj Mahal. Some have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose-of-the-Shires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the magnificent views of the Taj Mahal from the lobby, lounge and your bedroom. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the service and location of the hotel.

Your feedback regarding your Spa experience is of much concern to me. Please be assured that this has been taken seriously and the concerned team has been briefed regarding the same. We strive to provide to our guests only the best and we appreciate that you would only expect the same from us. We as an Oberoi brand believe that by working on feedback we can achieve higher standards.

I hope to welcome you back again in the not so distant future.
Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Even though I stayed elewhere during my most recent visit of Agra I went for a sundowner at the bar. The view from the terrace is spectacular and inside seating very stylish.
Be prepared to spend about 375 Rs for a gin & tonic or 550 Rs for a cocktail (Caipiroska).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1001-traumreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on trip advisor which is much appreciated.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your drinks with us at the Bar and liked the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the not so distant future.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan

Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 144 in Agra
3,842 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 144 in Agra
2,714 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Prestigia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing