We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular locaion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel has the prime views of the Taj you could ask for. Every room has a view of the Taj Mahal. We arrived in the afternoon and were checked in by Archana and Vikram, both were very hospitable in welcoming us to the hotel.

The room was very nice, had a balcony to sit and watch the sunset over the Taj Mahal, room for two suitcase racks, secure safe for valuables and plenty of bottled water, and internet facilities. The decor was a bit strange with very bright turquoise colors, I guess they were going with a theme :P.

The swimming pool is very large and staff tend to you very quickly and provide sun screen, water and snacks on arrival. Rajeev and Kitendra stood out at the pool and provided exceptional service - made my time at this hotel really great.

The restaurants come in two varieties, an Indian restaurant and a Continental restaurant, but anything from the India restaurant can be ordered and brought to you in the Continental restaurant which sort of defeats the point of having two restaurants but it worked. We were turned away from the Indian restaurant for being under dressed and I wasn't about to layer up in 35'C heat.

This was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed at in India and was not the best by a long shot, you are definitely paying for the view of the Taj Mahal. In saying that, this hotel is still spectacular and comes extremely highly recommended. Staying here was easy and made my holiday all the more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the Taj, the higher the floor the better, level 2 and up is best.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crytos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Oberoi Amarvilas and for taking out time from your busy schedule to review the hotel.

I am pleased to read your detailed feedback which is much appreciated. We try and take special care by personalising our services to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience. Our team members, who help us achieve exceptional service standards, are indeed our most valuable asset.

I have noted your process related feedback and we will certainly work towards exceeding your expectations in the future. I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you.

Regards,
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,134)
There are newer reviews for The Oberoi Amarvilas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 3,134 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great hotel at wonderful location! One of the better hotels to visit! Spacy rooms, wooden floors, choices of pillows,... Excellent restaurants and breakfast buffet. Location is unique as all rooms have view on Taj Mahal and staff is extremely friendly, helpfull,... nice pool! Distance to Taj Mahal is 5 minute ride or 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75Patrick77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment on Trip advisor regarding your stay at the Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am pleased to read that the rooms, services and products were to your liking. We take special care in recruiting and training our staff for them to anticipate our guest needs and deliver exceptional service.

Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We are just thinking when could we come back to Agra. Thank you for your elegance, intelligence, flexibility, for your anticipation to our desires, for the way you care about all the details, for the way you all do that in an spontaneous, sincere way and with a suprising continuity in time. At your hotel we felt spoiled, really, we were better than at home. Thank you and congratulations for your very well done job.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and your positive review is much appreciated. I will be pleased to share your comment with the team. I am happy to read that you felt pampered and spoilt due to the services provided at the resort.

Thank you for choosing to saty with us and I hope you will return to stay with Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very pleasant experience. We enjoyed the hotel, pool and our room immensly. The only area for improvement was restaurant staffing. It felt like we had to get waiter of bus-boys attention for any request. Doesn't take away from the overall excellent rating. The view of Taj Mahal was great from every window.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bdunbar111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Oberoi Amarvilas and for taking out time from your busy schedule to review the hotel.

I am pleased to read your feedback which is much appreciated. We try and take special care by personalising our services to ensure that our guests have a pleasant experience.

I have noted your service related feedback and we will certainly work towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Regards,
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The talks about amarvilas and the taj !
No doubt you can view a far away taj mahal from every room of the hotel.
But the property sure needs some renovation within the general rooms itself and specially toilets.
The towel during our stay had certain dirt marks which turned us off completely, and that is never expected from a 5 star property.

Food is amazing specially the south indian breakfast, made us feel we are in the south.
Great chef, good staff and old property

Room Tip: Higher floors can view taj mahal better
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pooja24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor.

It is with regret I read that we fell short to meet your expectation during your stay. I have taken note of the concerns you have and I am so sorry your visit fell short of your expectations

I do hope that in time you will allow us the opportunity to make amends and restore your faith in The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you,

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A superb hotel, fantastic food, great staff. All the rooms look out over the Taj and also over the pool. The pool itself is stunningly beautiful. I echo all of the comments already made. There is a golf buggy that takes you to the Taj direct from the hotel although it is walkable. This is an advantage as the Taj is less busy first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms provide a view of the Taj Mahal. The better views I think are the rooms higher...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrNickFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting your reviews on Trip advisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the resort. I am taking the liberty of sharing your views with all members of the team.

Views of the monument of eternal love, food and service and our people have always been our strength and I am happy to read that your experienced the same all over the property. Our Pool side has always been an area where all our guests enjoy a swim after a long day of sightseeing. We try and anticipate all our guests needs and what better than having a Golf buggy waiting for you to drive you to the monument.

We look forward to having you come back and stay with us and feel free to write to me in case I can be of any assistance.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

You can find everything you would expect in a five star-hotel: kind staff, large, clean rooms and the exceptional view of the Taj Mahal. They also provide you the tickets and a complimentary golf-cart service to go there. But I find it too pricy (compared to other five-star hotels in India) and with a negative aspect: the internal “bureaucracy”. Just to give a few examples: if you want to eat at the restaurant, you first need to book a table (even if it is empty!); if you want a hamburger, you can have it only by the swimming pool (hence, if it starts raining and you need to go back to your room, you get wet); the hotel requires a certain dressing code for dinner (nevertheless we saw people who were having dinner and they were dressed up like if they were going to the beach…). I could give many more examples of this strange “rules”, which make your stay somehow not completely comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BREADandBUTTERitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor.

However, I am sorry to read that your stay was not up to your expectations. Your feedback is appreciated and taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

I have noted your product and process related feedback and we will certainly work towards exceeding your expectations in the future.

We hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi Amarvilas to allow us the opportunity to make amends and restore your faith in us.

Thank you.

Regards,
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 142 in Agra
3,999 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 142 in Agra
2,793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $467 - $1,776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing