We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Speechless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Amarvilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
atlanta
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Speechless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Honestly, we almost enjoyed the Taj more from the hotel than going to it at dawn. The views from the hotel will leave you speechless. The hotel itself is absolutely beautiful, good restaurants, awesome pool.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank blondeinbombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on the trip advisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the view from the hotel.

View of the Taj Mahal is one of the biggest unique selling points of the hotel and I am happy to read that you had a comfortable and a memorable stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back and enjoy the hospitality at Oberoi hotels and resorts.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,465
    323
    87
    20
    13
See reviews for
587
1,486
122
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We travel extensively and this hotel is as fine as any we have stayed in around the world. The facility is extraordinarily well maintained; spotless floors, handrails, bathrooms and common areas. Our room was well appointed and exceptionally comfortanble. The unobstructed view of the Taj Mahal from our room and the terrace bar added to our overall enjoyment of the experience.The food and service in the restaurants was excellent. I will recommend this hotel unconditionally to family, friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip advisor with regards to your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am most delighted to read your comments regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay thoroughly. Our Bar terrace is one of the most magnificent place in the hotel and i am happy to read that you had a great experience at the terrace. I have also taken the liberty of sharing your thoughts with all members of the team.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Their common area such as the lobby, gardens and pool were beautiful and grand. But we were fairly disappointed by how simple our room is. Although we did get one of their cheapest rooms, so we couldn't really complain. The shower pressure was very strong but the water doesn't drain quickly enough so it got flooded easily. We did however have a balcony with a view of the Taj Mahal and a good view of the pool and gardens. The check in was prompt and effortless. We were even greeted personally by the GM. The breakfast spread was delectable. The best I have had in a long while. Do ask for their freshly squeezed orange juice. On the morning that we were checking out. Brown water came out of our bathroom tap. Fortunately my sister and I had already had our shower. The staff seemed very professional and attentive. However we felt that they lack warmth and sincerity shown by the other hotels that we have stayed at in India.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pittstprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay and your review about The Oberoi Amarvilas. I am pleased to read that your enjoyed your visit and your positive review is much appreciated.

I have made a note of the comment regarding shower pressure and water and please be assured that this has been addressed with the concern teams.

We hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi Amarvilas soon

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

While the exterior of the hotel at the entrance is quite special, the rest of the hotel is so/so.

Pros: closest location to Taj Mahal of any quality hotel which is very useful for early morning tours, golf buggy takes you as close to the East Gate entrance as is possible, a remote but still impressive view of the Taj Mahal from your room (if lucky).

Cons: average rooms, very thin walls/doors to the extent you can hear your neighbours speak quite clearly, impersonal service given that most guests seem to come and go in a day.

Overall, it was a good location to visit the Taj Mahal from, but there are far better hotels in India than this so don't linger!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FraHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I have made a good note of the feedback and I am happy to read that your enjoyed the view and location of the resort however we were not able to meet your expectations when it came to services.

Thank you for your comments as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the services at the resort.

Please do let me know if I can be of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

It is very hard to find the words to describe our recent stay at the Amarvilas. The Taj Mahal has been on my bucket list for years and I was lucky to have read about the amazing views of the Taj Mahal from the hotel rooms, so for me it was the only place to stay. I am pleased to say I wasn't disappointed. The views were truly amazing but the hotel was wonderful too. From the moment we arrived the service was impeccable, polite but also friendly, and we were very sorry to leave after three days. The hotel is beautifully decorated, our room was well appointed and needless to say we looked out over the gardens to one of the most beautiful buildings in the world. Both restaurants were wonderful, but for a really special Indian meal reserve a table at Esphahan - you won't be disappointed. If you have time to relax the spa treatments were fabulous too. I may have crossed the Taj Mahal off my bucket list but I hope I can now persuade friends to visit to give me the excuse to go back, and I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip advisor. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed staying at the resort and its services exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your most generous compliments.

I would be most delighted to share your review with all members of the team. This helps us to strive for excellence.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Unbeatable views of the Taj from every room supported by good service and a great spa.

Lovely poolside area, quality dining and beautiful interiors are the perfect backdrop for a visit to the Taj and Agra Fort.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thepolarbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read your comments about the product and services at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Your review is much appreciated as it helps us to constantly monitor and improve on the quality of service we strive to provide to our most valuable guests.

I hope our distinctive services will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent and award winning Oberoi hotels and resorts.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Without hesitation the best hotel in the area. We could see the Taj Mahal from our room, and the rest of the hotel was like "your own Taj Mahal". Impressive arquitecture and excellence in service. Good food, not the best, but very good. Our room was really gorgeours and didn't miss any detail.
If you plan on visiting the Taj Mahal, staying in this hotel is more than worthy.
Have a nice trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evlex73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am most delighted to read your very beautiful comments regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your entire stay thoroughly. We choose our staff very carefully and ensure that they are well trained to deliver the best possible service to exceed our guest expectations. You feedback on food has been shared with our culinary team.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan,
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 146 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 146 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 146 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing