We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANK YOU FOR UPGRADE, BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 144 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“THANK YOU FOR UPGRADE, BEAUTIFUL GROUNDS”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

A lovely hotel, with stunning pool and grounds and we were given a wonderful upgrade by the manager.

The only disappointment was the food which was really ordinary for a hotel of this calibre.
Limited menu at the pool - welsh rarebit dry and tasteless and not really as it should be.
Food in the Continental restaurant very average too.

The Indian restaurant was beautiful, it seems that the chefs are great at what they know, but not so good at world cuisine.

Restaurant decor bit ordinary too compared to other parts of the hotel.

We were given a wonderful upgrade for which we are grateful, but otherwise the hotel is very very expensive compared to say Taj Hyderabad which has amazing amazing food and service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and both your positive comments and feedback is much appreciated.

Your Feedback is definitely taken most seriously for our betterment and has been shared with the concerned members of the team.

I look forward to welcome you back to The Oberoi Amarvilas and give us an opportunity to restore your faith.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,585
    331
    89
    20
    13
See reviews for
620
1,542
126
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (838)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Very close to the Taj Mahal and with views of it from our bedroom the location is very good. As one expects with Oberoi good size bed rooms and a feeling of luxury throughout. Very nice grounds and outdoor pool. My only disappointment is that I felt the service in the restaurant was average and not what you would expect at this level, perhaps I caught them on a bad couple days. Even so recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Totham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am pleased to read your comments regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the view and the location of the hotel. However; I have made a note of your feedback regarding the restaurant service which is much appreciated.

Thank you for choosing the Oberoi Amarvilas and I hope you will return to stay with Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2013

It is all worth! We had a beautyful stay for one night. First class Service. Very good Indian Food in the Speciality Restaurant.
Short guided way and a beautyful view to the Taj Mahal

Perfect garden with pool. You will miss nothing - just enjoy

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muctom6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that your expectations were exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests. I am happy to read that you enjoyed the cuisine and the services at the resort.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

You can't beat the view - however we expected better service for the $800. After many emails we had confirmed price for Toyota Innovan van to pick us up in Delhi. They arrived 6 hours early with a CRX. Uncomfortable 4 hour ride. Obscene that they charge for wifi which didn't consistantly work. Before we left I was given a free card to get access. Granted we had 2 phones, 2 ipads but hadn't been a problem in other 5 star hotels. We stayed two night and were disappointed at the duplication in menu choices at two restaurants. Guess most guests only spend one night. Breakfast buffet impressive. Hotel close to Taj and golf cart nice at sunrise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank upred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

It is with regret I read of your experience during your stay.

I have taken note of the concerns you have raised regarding the transportation, internet charges and the menu’s, please be assured that your feedback is most appriciated and taken most seriously and has been shared with those concerned.

I do hope that in time you will allow us the opportunity to make amends and restore your faith in The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have been wanting to visit India for some time and my one non- negotiable item on the itinerary was to stay here in a premier balcony room!! I'm so glad we did. When stepping on to the balcony for the first time and seeing the Taj it was wonderful. We just sat on the balcony with a glass of wine, even at their prices, to celebrate just being there. For me I would say its the only place to stay in Agra. Golf buggies take you down to the Taj at anytime but Sunrise is best and it really is magical as the sun comes through. No matter how many photos you have seen none do it justice. It is magnificent. Being able to go back to our balcony and have breakfast served on it with the Taj to look at in the distance was a moment I will always cherish. Not sure why one review says their room was tired! Ours was beautifully furnished and the bathroom was very well appointed. I agree the main selling point is the location, breathtaking view and fabulous pool and gardens. It was disappointing having to pay for Internet though. Also we thought it was a shame the two restaurants didn't have a view at all. They were at ground level and had no outside area either. The food here was disappointing too for the price. There was even an entertainment tax added on to our bill. Having said that I still believe its the only choice in Agra!

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the Taj but the higher ones are better and it's definitely worth upgrading to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stockhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas. I am most delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and your positive and most generous views are much appreciated.

This definitely helps us and our teams to stay motivated. I have also made a note of the comments on food and the feedback has been put to good use.

Thank you once again for choosing us and I hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

lovely room. Frontal view of Taj. Prizeless view of a pink Taj Mahal at dawn. Can't beat relaxing poolside after the morning's crowded sightseeing at the Taj.
Fantastic breakfast. It is hard to choose among the endless & tasty choices .
Its Indian restaurant is fine but expensive.
We also stayed at the Oberoi in Udaipur & Trident Nariman in Mumbai the same trip. Must say you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: We stayed in a balcony room on the 4th floor- ? 404. It offers a frontal view of the Taj. Don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boshim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a trip advisor review regarding your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Your feedback is most appreciated and these compliments always helps us to stay motivated.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush. mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently came back from a two-week trip to India with our two young children - ages 3 and 8. This was our first trip to India, and we visited Mumbai (we stayed at the The Oberoi Mumbai), Hyderabad (Le Taj Falaknuma), Agra (The Oberoi Amarvilas), Jaipur (The Fairmont), Jodhpur (Raas Haveli) and Delhi (The Leela Palace).

I am really conflicted about giving this hotel a fair rating, because there is a striking contrast between the hotel grounds (which are fabulous), its location and views (can't be beaten), and the rooms- they are very, very NOT fabulous. We have seen nicer Holiday Inn rooms in Canada. While we don't mind paying high prices for great hotels, at this one we felt we were grossly overcharged. It was the most expensive room of all our travels, and it was dungy, dusty, with an outdated bathroom, tired furniture and dirty carpets. The Taj Mahal we could see in the distance was really the only thing worth looking at.

Food was just OK, the breakfast was decent and so was the dinner we had in our room, nothing to write home about though.

That being said, we were the first one through the Taj Mahal door early in the morning, because the location of the Oberoi can not be beaten. A hotel golf cart took us close to the gate, but we could have easily walked.

Overall, if I could split my rating, I would give the hotel 5 stars for its grounds, location and view from our room, but the room itself does not deserve more than 2 stars, and the price we were charged for it was simply outrageous. I wouldn't say this is an average hotel, but unfortunately this seems to be the only fair rating...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bringing_the_kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

It is with regret I read of your disappointmnet with your room and the food. I have made a note of the concerns you have highlighted in your comment and please be assured that correctice action has been taken for the same.

I do hope that in time you will allow us the opportunity to make amends and restore your faith in The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 144 in Agra
3,842 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 144 in Agra
2,713 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Prestigia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing