We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Nearby Hotels
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$80
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$76
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$34
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$59
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$35
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tourists Rest House(Agra)(Great Value!)
$11
$10
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$39
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,451)
Filter reviews
3,451 results
Traveler rating
2,972
357
89
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,972
357
89
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartbellevue restaurantbalcony roomindian restaurantonce in a lifetimepremier roombeautiful hotelplace to staythe general managerpool area isbeautiful poolthalinew delhian oasistaj vieweast gateagra fort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,166 - 2,171 of 3,451 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We take one night 2-3.03 we pay 980$ for night room was nothing special, lunch nothing special, wi-fi was extra 20$ a day. Big plus they give good car to taj Amal gate. Everything 3+. Breakfast 3+. Not nice selection of fresh beverages I don't like also bed and pillows.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor with regards to you stay.

It is with regret that I note your disappointment with your stay, for which I apologise. Your feedback is appreciated and taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

Once again I am sorry that your stay was not up to your expectation and I do hope that in time you will return and allow us to make amends and restore your faith in The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

As we were first led into the lounge on arrival, I felt surprisingly emotional as I saw the Taj Mahal framed in the splendid window - wow, what a first sight. That was only the first treat at this very special hotel. Everyone without exception greeted us and did their utmost to make our stay memorable, and it certainly was that. The staff were fantastic, the hotel is beautiful as are the gardens. We were constantly 'wowed'. The whole experience really was quite perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandinsky1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your most generous comments are much appreciated as they are a great source of motivation for our team. Our exemplary staff is trained to anticipate guest needs and deliver the same for a memorable experience.

We hope to welcome you back to the Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Without doubt the most stunning location for a hotel, given that all the guest rooms have view of the Taj Mahal which has to be the most amazing man-made structure in the world. As well as this the hotel staff are wonderful - couldn't be more helpful at every turn and, here's the important thing, you're not permanently expected to tip for the slightest thing. Gratuities are at your own discretion when you check out and so of course you make sure you leave a decent amount. The food in both restaurants was fabulous - all in all a real pleasure and privilege to stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Is there a bad room? If you can afford it opt for a balcony though and try to visit when there's a full moon as this site over the Taj Mahal must be amazing.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moraig30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable comments regarding your stay on Trip Advisor.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your most generous comments are much appreciated as they are a great source of motivation for our team. Our exemplary staff is trained to anticipate guest needs and deliver the same for a memorable experience. Our gratuity policy has been made keeping in mind so that our guests can experience a memorable stay with us.

Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Amarvilas for your special occasion and we hope to welcome you back soon, and will ensure that this time you get a room with balcony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Beautiful grounds, spa, swimming pool and wonderful rooms. Look out your window directly at the Taj Mahal. I believe all rooms have a balcony. The dinner and breakfasts were excellent and its location is just right.

Room Tip: Try for the 3rd floor and above.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Virginiatraveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards to your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated. We have rooms with balcony and without balcony as well; however they all have a view of the Taj. Thank you for complimenting our Culinary team and I will be happy to share your feedback with them.

I hope you will return to stay with Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Oberoi Amarvilas is probably the best hotel we've ever stayed in.

The hotel has got everything that you'd expect from a 5-star hotel as far as service and facilities are concerned. The public rooms, pool area, grounds, restaurants and bedrooms are all perfect. But what makes it really special is the breathtaking view of the Taj Mahal when you step out onto your balcony. That alone is worth every penny.

We only stayed the one night for our anniversary but the whole day was made very special thanks to the hotel and staff. From the decorations, flowers and rose petals in the room to the delicious Anniversary cake presented after dinner in the hotel's excellent Indian restaurant.

If you want a romantic hotel then really this cannot be bettered.

Room Tip: As high as possible for the best views of Mumtaz Mahal's final resting place.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tilehurst Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on Trip advisor regarding your stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you for the beautiful comments regarding your stay with us. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your entire stay thoroughly. We choose our staff very carefully and ensure the best possible service to exceed our guest expectations.

Thank you for choosing the Oberoi Amarvilas for your anniversary and I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you,
Ankush Mahajan,
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews