We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid view of Taj Mahal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Splendid view of Taj Mahal”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have been staying at the Oberoi in Agra in February and very much enjoyed our stay. The Indian restaurant is excellent, also the buffet breakfast is very good and rich. Rooms are quite large with excellent beds. The third floor and up gives a magnificent view (from your terrace !) of the Taj Mahal. Excellent staff support. They can take you to the east gate with a golf kart and wait for you to take you back to the hotel. One tip : don't go for the sunrise view, as the sun is behind you and the Taj Mahal ... and there is a hour long queue to enter. To capture the Taj Mahal and the sun together you have to take a 30 min. taxi drive to go the garden on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjonckheere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve on the care and service we provide to our guests. Our golf buggies are appreciated by most of our guest who stay with us and I am happy to read that you enjoyed them too.

We take special care in recruiting and training our staff in order to exceed guest expectations. I will be most delighted to share your review with all members of the staff as it is a great source of motivation.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,642
    333
    89
    20
    13
See reviews for
646
1,563
127
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (855)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This was my 1st Vilas experience, before Jaipur and Udaipur. The service in this hotel is unforgettable! It sets the standard. After a few hours they all knew our name. The views of the Taj are fantastic. The golf cart ride to the Taj entrance is very fast and convenient, The spa is lovely. True, internet could/should be free. Other than that, don't chance a thing.

Room Tip: all rooms have Taj Mahal views. The ones on floor 3 and above have balconies too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit and your positive review is much appreciated. This definitely helps us and our teams to stay motivated. We take special care in recruiting and training our staff in order to exceed guest expectations.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We arrived to Agra after two 8 hour flights to Delhi and a scary 3 hour drive to the Oberoi and finally were able to breath a sigh of relief. They upgraded our room and had everything ready for us at 8am which was graciously appreciated by such tired travelers! The hotel is gorgeous, and upon arrival they take each guest to their library room with a breathtaking view if the Taj Mahal. The service is impeccable, as if they are always two steps ahead of you. They arranged our tickets to the Taj Mahal for a morning visit and for a social evening full moon viewing. Only steps away from the East gate of the Taj Mahal, one need not worry about walking as the hotel arranges a golf cart to and from the Taj. The food in the restaurants is delectable, albeit expensive, and the morning breakfast buffet is sumptuous. Our stay here was beautiful and we hope to return some day again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewberliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am most delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and your positive and most generous review is much appreciated.

This definitely helps us and our teams to stay motivated. We take special care in recruiting and training our staff in order to exceed guest expectations.

I hope to welcome you back soon to The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A direct view of the Taj Mahal, the most incredible swimming pool, nice spa and only 600 metres or so to the front entrance of the Taj Mahal. Amazing staff as well and I really like the Oberoi gratuity policy where you can put what you like in an envelope when you check out so you don't feel obliged to always tip individuals. The management team in this hotel are also very visible and clear know what is going on. If you are in Agra and your budget stretches to it, this is the place to come. Checking out is hard!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BlueTraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and your positive review is much appreciated.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

From the moment you draw up outside this wonderful hotel you are made to feel like a valued and welcome guest. Security checks outside are carried out with the least possible intrusion and then you are taken to the beautiful, spacious and perfumed reception area where you are welcomed and all the formalities are taken care of. The staff here are absolutely brilliant and they all look so wonderful in their various uniforms. We stayed here for a single night toward the end of our India holiday and we paid a little extra for a room with a balcony and a view of the Taj Mahal. Our room was a good size, spotlessly clean with a magnificent bathroom and with a spacious terrace outside with a table and chairs and (morning mist aside) a lovely view across the hotel grounds to the Taj Mahal. We took two meals in our room using a highly efficient and impressive room service and we were served by what I can only describe as our own temporary butler who set out our meal for us like a banquet. Breakfast was taken in the international selection restaurant and there was a good selection on the buffet and, again, the staff were attentive and helpful. The shops in the shopping arcade are pleasant to wander around in the evening. If you take a tour of the Taj Mahal, you will be taken to and from the hotel in one of their own golf buggies and taken as close to the entrance as is possible. Everything to make your stay as easy and as comfortable as possible has been thought of and if you approach a member of staff with a question or a request, their response is attentive and helpful. This really is one of the best hotels we have stayed in and if you are treating yourself to a trip to see the Taj Mahal, this has to be your first choice of hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdersmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. Your generous feedback is invaluable and much appreciated, as it enables us to monitor and improve the care and service we provide to our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to The Oberoi hotels and resorts.
Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Exceptional service, beautiful rooms, and the only hotel with a direct transport to the gate of Taj Mahal. The pool area and gardens were beautiful and the dining was the best in India. The rates may be steep but the service will be impressive.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the taj even all rooms do have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jd2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and your positive review is much appreciated. This definitely helps us and our teams to stay motivated and exceed guest expectation.

We try to ensure a pleasant and a memorable stay for our guests by delivering personalized guest service.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future

Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

While the Amarvillas is very pricey, it is well worth the cost for a night. The location is spectacular (so long as there are clear skies...the fog did not burn off until 2:00 the day we were there. Once it did, the views are great. The service at the hotel is very good. The food is also very good. Unless you have an additional reason to be in Agra, however, one night to see the Taj Mahal and the Agra Fort is more than enough. Take the 6:00 a.m. express train from Delhi and have your guide pick you up at the train station. Whatever you do, do not drive yourself!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 303Travelinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards to your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit and the views once the fog was clear. This time of the year the weather can be very unpredictable.

Please let me know if you plan to visit Agra again and I will be most delighted to assist you with the reservations.
Thank you.
Ankush Mahajan
Ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 143 in Agra
3,956 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,758 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing