We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 143 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is another impressive Oberoi property and an outstanding hotel. It is very near the Taj Mahal Temple Complex and each accommodation has a beautiful view of that monument. Try to book a "Deluxe Superior" room instead of a "Deluxe Standard" because the former has a balcony. Let the Amarvilas provide round-trip transportation to the Taj Mahal in one of its unique little conveyances because that's an experience in itself.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas. I am delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay.

We have always believed in providing personalised service to all our guest and I am glad that it reflects on the experience. Small touches like these help our teams to exceed our guest's expectation.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,067 - 2,073 of 3,273 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Amarvilas from 25-26 December. It was our second stop in India after Delhi. We were both floored by how chaotic the city of Agra is. There are other hotels in Agra, but nothing even comes close to the Amarvilas. After being in Agra for a few hours and visiting the Taj Mahal, we were super relieved to arrive at the Amarvilas. The grounds are huge and immaculate. It is quiet. You would never know you are in Agra (which is a good thing) other than seeing the Taj Mahal in the near distance. The hotel is rather expensive in peak season (we usually do not splurge like this on hotels) but it is worth EVERY PENNY. Staying here was the best decision we made on our Golden Triangle tour. The service is beyond words amazing. The General Manager greets every guest personally. The hotel and grounds are stunning. In my opinion, better than the Taj Mahal itself! Our room was clean, huge, had great amenities and was decorated in wonderful pieces that highlight India's crafts. We had dinner at Esphahan and loved it. It is also safe to eat meat here (which we did). When we got back to our room, turn down service left us a little gingerbread house with chocolates for Christmas. We loved these little touches. Agra is a tough place to be, but the Amarvilas make it worth the trip.

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the Taj Mahal. A balcony is a little extra, but the windows are big and you ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank professorwach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the review of our facilities and services.

We are pleased to hear you have enjoyed our hospitality as we proud ourselves in delivering personalized service; as such your kind words towards our team members are truly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Very nice property, great service but definitely expensive.

Staff is very friendly and very courteous.

Make sure you walk around the hotel and at-least have one meal at their coffee shop over looking the Taj.

Room Tip: The higher the floor of the rooms the better it will be. Also if you are going to see the Taj then t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My travel buddies and I stayed at the Oberoi Amarvilas just before Christmas last year. It was a beautiful hotel with personal service. Once we settled in the hotel, the management came to greet us and introduced himself by telling us that he was the one who replied emails to my friend's enquiry about wifi charges of the hotel! How very switched on!Location of the hotel was excellent, literally a 5 minute 'buggy' ride to the Taj. The hotel should have a view of the Taj but unfortunately the weather was too smoggy and the Taj was nowhere to be seen.

Room Tip: A room with a view! ( provided the weather is good!!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeLongHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking out time to post your comments on Trip advisor.

I am delighted to read your comments and happy to hear that you and your friends had a wonderful time at the resort. Foggy weather this time should be the reason to return to The Oberoi Amarvilas in Agra during summers.

We look forward to welcoming you back and if there is any assistance required, I will be most happy to assist.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a lovely room with a Taj Mahal view, I think every room has a view. We loved their beautiful pool and the gym was nicely appointed and attended to.
Their restaurants were very nice and food was better than average, not to the standard of other Oberoi Hotels we stayed at.
They exceeded our expectations and would be our choice if we visit Agra again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4tlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas and we thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

The team is delighted to receive such feedback as it is very inspiring for all of us. I have also made a good note of your feedback on our cuisine.

The team and I, hope you will return soon and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

On 2nd January I was in Agra and decided to visit Amarvilas for lunch. We arrived at the hotel at noon but were told by their staff that we could not be accommodated as they only had one restaurant that was operational.

So we asked whether we could sit in the lounge and order a beverage - to which the person had no answer. After thinking for about a minute (by that time we were a bit awkward) he said they were not serving anything in the lounge.

We then suggested we could sit at the bar - but the person told us that it would only open in about half an hour. So we just stood there waiting for him to ask us to sit in the lounge or wait somewhere but he asked us to leave.

My only suggestion to the management here is that your team at this Agra hotel is only tarnishing a very renowned brand. If you do not like non-staying guests to enter the property, please put up a board outside so that you save us the embarrassment of being looked down upon by your pretentious staff.

How difficult is it to tell your security guard at the main entrance to only allow those guests staying at the hotel to enter. That would also save your staff from putting up the little act you have prepared them to administer to non-staying guests.

I am not surprised that there are other reviews on trip advisor of similar experiences at Amarvilas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
9  Thank purrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor with regards your recent visit at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I was most concerned to read you comment and I can assure you it will be taken up with the team and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of service to our guests; However, I would also like to bring to your attention that we do welcome guests who are not-residing for dinning in our restaurants but with a prior reservation for the same. At times our guests are requested to wait as we have limited space and our restaurants are booked to capacity.

I apologize that you were disappointed on this occasion and I hope to be able to restore your faith in The Oberoi Amarvilas in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel has a gorgeous lobby, great bar overlooking the Taj Mahal and incredible views from the room. The grounds are beautiful and the restaurants good. I need not say more, because this it the best place to stay in Agra. Period.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room overlooking the Taj Mahal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gourmetwashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for a fantastic review. It is so special to know that we were your favourite hotel in Agra

Soaking in the beautiful greenery and listening to the many birds while walking in our gardens is a very relaxing experience. A memory which most of our guests take back! I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the gardens too. The view from the bar terrace is the most magnificent view and most of our guest love to be there to enjoy a drink at the time of sunset.

Several other experiences are there for you to indulge in on your next trip to The Oberoi Amarvilas which we hope will be soon. We would love to have you back at The Oberoi Amarvilas

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 143 in Agra
4,180 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 143 in Agra
2,881 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#18 of 143 in Agra
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $832 - $1,740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing