We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel Grounds, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel Grounds, Great Location”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Obviously the main reason for most deciding to stay here is the great location (and view) in relation to the Taj Mahal. The hotel itself howver is rather pretty especially the terraced pool side. I was a little disappointed with the food, we had expected it to be more 'authentic' Indian but found it rather bland. The service at the restaurant was a bit 'rushed', the staff were pleasant but semmed a bit stressed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I have taken note of all the concerns you have raised regarding the food and the service in the restaurant and please be assured the same has been addressed.

Your feedback is much appreciated and it is being taken seriously and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of care and service to our guests.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,613
    333
    89
    20
    13
See reviews for
634
1,552
126
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

A true oasis with perfect location, where you can get the dust off from the roads and enjoy the peace away from the busy streets. Just what I needed after a few days on the road.

Restaurants are great.

Do use the possibility to see the Taj in the early morning at dawn with a personal guide from the hotel. They will take you there in a golf car, help you with the best photo angles and help you avoid the crowds of vendors and beggars.

Room Tip: Go for a room with balcony and a view over Taj Mahal, get up early to see the Taj at dawn and then r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn_in_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to know that we exceeded your expectation. Thank you for choosing the Oberoi Amarvilas for your stay.


Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I stay in hotels about 150 nights a year. This was the best stay in many years. Magical design, wonderful staff, amazing food, and the view...well world class is a weak statement. What a wonderful place for my wife's birthday!

Room Tip: Get the best view of the taj. Not sure if there are bad ones, but ours was amazing. And remember the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayakchair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We take special care in recruiting and training our staff in order to exceed guest expectations. Your positive feedback and recognition is a great source of motivation as we strive to achieve even higher standards of service.

Thank you for choosing the Oberoi Amarvilas to celebrate your wife’s birthday and we look forward to having you stay with us again in not so distant future.


Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were celebrating our 45th anniversary. On arrival in our room, there were two "towel swans" and rose pedals on our bed. A warm bath had been drawn with rose pedals and floating candles. Our room looked out on the Taj Mahal. We took several pictures from our room of the rising sun glistening on the Taj Mahal dome.

Service and accommodations were excellent.

A very memorable experience.

Room Tip: Overlooking the beautiful pool area with the Taj Mahal in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cap756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try and make all occasions of our guests special in order to make their stay a memorable one. Thank you for choosing The Oberoi Amarvilas through Tauck for your anniversary and we hope to have you stay with us again.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I totally endorse the the excellent reviewer about this hotel. Looking back of this hotel amidst the majesty of Taj Mahal lies the ultimate venue, just make me want to going back there. The hotel itself an absolutely One Thousand and One Nights Indian palace, that make you feel like 8 years old princess. Everything an absolutely fabulous, from the Majesty entry, the outstanding pool surrounding a gorgeous garden, the Taj Mahal view from the room... worth every penny. Service to perfection, they really treat us like a maharaja/rani. The breakfast chose are one of the best I had experience, simply delicious. This is a perfect hotel to discover Taj Mahal, as they offer a special treatment to visite Taj Mahal in exclusive way.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adyaviale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete theTrip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to know that all services at the resort exceeded your expectations.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

I look forward to having you stay with us in future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The staff defines the word "service," the food is excellent, and the rooms are grand with the Taj Mahal front and center from your hotel view. Along with modern amenities, rich toiletries, the VIP tour of the Taj Mahal and well manicured grounds, I cannot find any faults of this hotel.

My favorite part was the pool, which is spacious and grand, and ducks below the portico into a semi-indoor room adorned with columns and a potrait of Ganesha. You feel like you're swimming in a temple, tasting what it might have felt like being a king!

The hotel is pricey, but if you can afford the tariff, Oberoi pulls out the stops to make your stay as nice as possible.

Room Tip: I believe all rooms have a good view of the Taj Mahal. Rooms on first floor have a balcony overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hvnair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a Trip Advisor review regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations. The pool is one of our major attractions of the hotel. I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Just 600 meters from the Taj Mahal, this is the most luxurious hotel in Agras . Rooms extremely luxurious and beautifully decorated with teak furniture, rugs and embroidered fabrics. All have a view of the Taj! Excellent restaurants, bars, shops, jacuzzi, pool and spa.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShantiTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and your positive review is much appreciated. I hope you will return to stay with Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 146 in Agra
3,897 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 146 in Agra
2,733 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Prestigia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing