We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Nearby Hotels
$72
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$30
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$81
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Madhushrie(Agra)(Great Value!)
$30
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Agra(Agra)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$38
$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$34
$33
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$27
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$14
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,444)
Filter reviews
3,444 results
Traveler rating
2,965
357
89
20
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,965
357
89
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf cartbellevue restaurantbalcony roomindian restaurantonce in a lifetimepremier roombeautiful hotelplace to staythe general managerpool area isbeautiful poolthalinew delhian oasistaj vieweast gateagra fort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,326 - 2,331 of 3,444 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Wonderful place to stay, the hotel is mind blowing. The rooms are generous, the view breathtaking. The best part are teh beautiful staff! never experienceed service at this level anywhere in the world!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on your recent stay at the Oberoi Amarvilas. I am delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations. As mentioned in your review, we do take lot of care in recruiting and training our team members to ensure that we all exceed our guest's expectations

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Fabulous property, one would not believe that they are a stone's throw away from the Taj which has hordes of tourists around. The grounds and inner soundings are calm and quiet, the service is excellent and the rooms very comfortable. The cuisine and services arguably the best I have experienced in India till date. A very charming and friendly general manager runs the property with an accomplished team. It was indeed a pleasure to spend the weekend at the Amarvilas.
Book the rooms with a terrace, and engage the culinary staff who shal not only advice you but also customize a meal for you. Visit the Taj but stay at the Amarvilas

Room Tip: Stay in the room with a balcony
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyTheToucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment form on your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests. I am happy to read that the culinary team was able to create some memorable moments for you.

It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to the team. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of inspiration to our exemplary staff and I thank you for your kind comments.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

we were greeted very warmly by about 3 members of staff who were very professional and helpful. Check in was on of the most pleasant we have ever had and the wealth of information we were given was brilliant. Our room ( 222 ) was clean, spacious and most importantly had a nice view of the Taj Mahal through the trees.We had dinner in the international restaurant which was lovely with again good service, maybe even a little bit too good as they whipped away a couple of drinks from me before I'd finished them, not to be advised doing to a Scotsman !!! We used the hotel golf cart to go to the Taj Mahal in the morning,joined a long queue saw the Taj and was back in the hotel for breakfast before 10am.We had been to the Mosque in Abu Dhabi a few days before and I was a bit disappointed with the Taj Mahal but that's a personal opinion. we had a slight problem when we checked out as we had arranged for a car to pick us up at 1PM and he was there at 12 noon but was parked out of sight and nobody from the hotel told him we were sitting waiting so at 1.30 we eventually met up and got underway back to Delhi, a small misunderstanding perhaps but really should not have happened.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gasman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for posting your comments on the trip advisor. I am delighted to read your comments and feedback and I am taking the liberty of sharing the same with all members of the staff.
Your feedback about the miscommunication during the check out is appreciated and the same has been discussed with the team and taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Impressive hotel but not as good as the Oberoi properties in Jaipur or Gurgaon. Rooms are what you would expect for £500 + per night. The dinner on the balcony for £200 was not worth the cost as the food was ordinary and unlike the pictures on the website the Taj cannot be seen at night from the hotel. My biggest issue was that despite the cost of the room I was charged for the use of WiFi for both my phone and iPad. This is a rip off. This is the best hotel in Agra but you pay for absolutely everything.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NickfamilyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on your recent stay at the Oberoi Amarvilas.

I have taken note of all the concerns you have raised and please be assured these matters are being addressed. Your feedback is much appreciated and it is being taken seriously and put to good use in our endeavour to provide the highest standards of care and service to our guests.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is by far one of the best hotels I have stayed in my travels. The check-in process was painless after the tedious drive from Delhi. The welcome drink, cold towels and gifts to children were very thoughtful. The staff were very courteous and refused to take any tips (they have a common pool). The rooms were brilliant and had a spectacular view of the Taj. The rooms were very spacious and had a large balcony.

They sold tickets to the Taj Mahal at published rates without any mark-ups and also included drinking water, shoe cover and drop before the Taj at no extra charge. Overall a great stay.

If I had one complaint it was about the limited spread in the buffet breakfast and them trying to push an Alacarte menu. I was also surprised the buffet was not included in the tariff though I admit I did not check when I used the hotel's website to book. Otherwise a lovely hotel close to a lovely monument.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Balaji17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews on your recent stay at the Oberoi Amarvilas. I am delighted to know that we exceeded your expectations when it comes to both product and services.

I have also made a note of the feedback on the buffet spread and will ensure that we look into the same.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay at one of the many excellent Oberoi Hotels & Resorts in the future.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews