We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with stunning views of the Taj!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 146 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel with stunning views of the Taj!”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We enjoyed our 1 night stay at the Oberoi Amarvilas. We arrived first thing in the morning on the train from Delhi and could not have received a more warm welcome than at the Oberoi Amarvilas.

The rooms and facilities are impeccable. It's only a short 5 minute walk to the gates of the Taj, and the hotel even offers a shuttle service there and back.

The pool is fantastic!! I don't think I've swum in a nicer hotel pool before! The gym facilities are also top notch.

The restaurants are both fantastic. If you are craving beef, then have a steak at the restaurant. It was amazing!

Lastly, the staff are all extremely friendly and willing to help. We caught a late train out of Agra the next day, and the hotel manager gave us a spare room for us to freshen up in. That was a nice touch from them, rather than us having to change and shower at the gym.

We will definitely stay here again if we go back to Agra.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hal2184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated and I am taking the liberty of sharing the same with all members of the team. I am also happy to hear that the food exceeded your expectation.

We llok forward to welcoming you back to The Oberoi Amarvilas.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,613
    333
    89
    20
    13
See reviews for
634
1,552
126
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (848)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2012

On our first trip to India, we visited the Taj Mahal (what else?) by daylight and moonlight, plus we enjoyed a 24-hour view of it from the balcony room of the spectacular Oberoi Amarvilas hotel. Needless to say that we were wowed. Not just by the view, but simply everything the hotel has to offer, be it the extremely friendly and efficient service, the fantastic Indian food, the beautifully furnished rooms, the gardens, and of course the pool. If, like me, you love swimming, then you won't want to get out of this pool anymore. It's the most spectacular thing I've ever seen (loved the Ganesha painting). If ever we go back to Agra, the Oberoi will definitely be our first choice again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swissgirl69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

I am so delighted to read your comments on the Oberoi Amarvilas. It gives me immense pleasure to ready such encourging and positive feedback on our team who were responsible for offering extremely friendly and efficient service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Agra, and sincerely hope that Oberoi will definitely be your choice again.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

A magnificent hotel; architecturally, location and service. It simply doesn't get any better than this hotel. It is not an inexpensive place to stay, but may well be the finest hotel I have ever stayed at (and I have stayed at a lot of nice hotels around the world).

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated and taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I spent the night at the Oberoi Amarvilas in order to visit the Taj Mahal comfortably in the early morning hours. The stay at the hotel could not have been more pleasant. The view of the Taj Mahal from the hotel is breathtaking, the main restaurant is superb, the rooms exquisite and the service perfect. Once again during my trip to India the Oberoi hotels have not let me down and my experience was thoroughly enjoyable in every way! Also the organization to go see the Taj Mahal is great and you do not feel like you are being shuffled around with masses of tourists. Great afternoon tea and cocktails at the bar and everyone is so helpful!

Room Tip: Obviously one with a view of the Taj Mahal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am delighted to read that your expectations were mostly met or exceeded. Your feedback is appreciated and taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

When the Taj, gleaming in the morning light, is the first thing you see when you wake up, well, that's got to count for something quite spectacular. Add to that the impeccable Oberoi brand with its amazingly appointed hotels and service, and you've got a magical experience.

There's really not much more to say ... This is a top experience.

Room Tip: I recommend to get a suite on the top floor, with a balcony, for the views of the Taj are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bojantercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comment form on your recent stay at The Oberoi Amarvilas.

I am pleased to read that your expectations were mostly exceeded, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to all members of the staff and thank you for your kind comments.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roseburg, oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

If you are staying the night in Agra, this is definitely the place to stay. From the minute one enters the property's gate, this is a stunning hotel. The check-in process is done in a gorgeous salon with a view of the Taj Mahal. The pool area is breathtakingly beautiful, and each evening there is a cultural program (music, dancing) on a patio above it with the Taj in the background. However, the rooms are small and a bit lacking in amenities. For example, there was no electrical outlet in the bathroom other than for a shaver. One would also like free wi-fi for the price paid for the room. There was no free wi-fi zone anywhere in the hotel. The service was great, and so was the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is appreciated and taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay with us again. I have made a note of the services liked and will definitely convey your compliments to the respective teams.

Thank you
Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

My wife and I finished a trip to Indian tiger reserves with a visit to Agra staying at the Amarvilas. We had heard so many good things about the hotel that we scarcely believed it could live up to our expectations. However it did so and even exceeded them.
The most outstanding feature is the amazing view of the Taj Mahal from the hotel balcony or the rooms but the whole ambience oozed high quality and fine taste. I have never previously stayed in a hotel where the nature and provenance of the interior decor is described in the information pack in the rooms; in this case it was entirely justified. The service was attentive but discrete and the food excellent.
All in all this wasa hotel where we would have gladly stayed much longer and would return at the drop of a hat.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NevillDocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnkusMahajan, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is appreciated and taken most seriously, as it enables us to constantly monitor and improve the care and service we endeavour to provide to our guests.

I hope that our distinctive service will tempt you to return and stay with us again.

Thank you

Ankush Mahajan
ankush.mahajan@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 146 in Agra
3,897 reviews
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 146 in Agra
2,733 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel, Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing