We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot beat the view or the service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oberoi Amarvilas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 145 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Cannot beat the view or the service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

We stayed on a Friday, when the Taj Mahal is closed, except to Muslims. Yet, we still got to enjoy views of the Taj Mahal at all times of day. Our favourite was enjoying drinks on our balconies at sunset.

The rooms themselves are nothing special, and probably due for a bit of refurb but the service more than makes up for that. Urvi, the concierge was amazing from the moment that I first e-mailed her a week before our stay to when we stepped into our transfers back to the airport. Even then, we were accompanied by a charming gentleman, a former airforce pilot, who knew the airbase well. He made sure that the children and I were totally sorted before he returned to teh hotel.

The Indian food was excellent. We didn't try the regular western menu, except at breakfast. The children's menu was excellent; a refreshing change from the standard chicken nuggets, burgers and hot dogs.

AS with all Oberoi hotels, they charge for WiFi access. Must confess that this really irritates me. If they are so set on penny pinching like this, they should add another few dollars to the room rate. It would not leave such a sour taste.

No major complaints though; a perfect oasis when all of the chaos on the streets becomes too much. Ideal with young children for whom a day trip to/from Delhi would have been too much.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trunkix4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for your praise of our staff, and I have taken note of your views on charging for internet access.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,466
    323
    87
    20
    13
See reviews for
587
1,486
122
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (804)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2011

If we hadn’t stayed at the Imperial Hotel in Delhi we probably would have rated this hotel higher. The location is second to none – point blank views of the Taj Mahal. This is the only place to stay for your visit to the Taj Mahal. The hotel provides a golf cart to the gates (about 600 metres distance). Lovely to come back to in the evening to have a swim in the fabulous swimming pool - and everything is provided for in the tray of goodies beside the sunbed, even suntan lotion! Then in the evening, order a bottle of wine to have on your balcony looking at the sun setting on the Taj Mahal. What more could you want in life!

Room Tip: Must get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SWKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

I didn’t have to do much research on hotels to stay at in Agra. The Oberoi Amarvilas frequently wins awards as one of the best hotels in the world and is famous for its view of the Taj Mahal. It’s a little on the expensive side (especially for India) but we were only in Agra one night and we really wanted the view of the Taj from our balcony.
After a long day of traveling and visiting the sights around Agra, it was very nice to sit on our balcony with a cup of tea and watch the sunset over the Taj. Not a bad life.

The only minor complaint is the rooms are very plain and small. There also wasn’t much of a selection at breakfast and what was there wasn’t all that good. Not really acceptable for a 5 star hotel but none of that really maters because you can’t get the view of the Taj like this at any other hotel.
I posted some more pictures of the hotel on my travel blog. http://travel.busscher.us/2011/03/the-oberoi-amarvilas-in-agra/

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nbphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for posting your review, and on your next visit, we will prepare anything you wish for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Well, I am not going to try to reiterate what a lot of visitors have already said. This is unique property. I have visited all the "Oberoi Vilas" property - this is not the grandest but still unique because of its location. The service and the staff are above par like most other oberoi vilas properties - cames at a price though which I think is justifiable.

What I would like to highlight in this review is what I have not seen at other oberoi properties or any other property in India. I hired a car from the hotel to drive to delhi. I was surprised and amazed at the quality and the knowledge of my Chauffeur, Pramod. I am born and raised in India and I could tell that he knows more about India than any other historian/ travel guide, his sense of customer service was better than what I have seen at the best hotels in the world. But what surpised me was his keen curiousity to learn about the rest of the world and his existing knowledge of the rest of the worl without ever travelling abroad or being able to read and write. In short, I must commend the management to retain staff like that for ten years and would highly highly reccomend Pramod as your Chauffeur if you are visiting Amar Vilas and plan to hire a car - you will not regret.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank blueskyHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Your praise and recognition of our staff is much appreciated, and thank you for your detailed report.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

A quite exceptional hotel. We had specifically upgraded our intinerary to include the Agra Amarvillas. And it is worth it! Overpriced perhaps - but who cares!! Beautifully & immaculately laid out and with priceless views of the Taj Mahal from our bedroom. It looked good at night and even better in the morning. Exceptional service from the attractively and traditionally dressed staff - and always with a smile. Many five plus star hotels (especially in Europe) have a formal, even oppressive atmosphere. But the Amarvillas are friendly and relaxed. Hard to judge the cruisine from only one meal but the menu seemed wide ranging. And the Indian dishes we tasted were good.
Can't think of a single negative

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhadaidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, March 29, 2011
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

Oberoi Amarvilas: "Heritage hospitality at it's best"
Date: 20 July 2010
We booked this hotel for one weeklong stay in Agra mainly based on its
reputatin on TripAdvisor. And it is a unique little gem, really.

We have stayed at many hotels over the years, often luxury ones with impeccable details and fantastic designs.
Price-wise Oberoi Amarvilas is on par with these better-class hotels.
Yet, in ten years from now, I’m sure we will still fondly remember the vacation we had there.

It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this small family-run hotel.
The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.
In the afternoon, the staff would bring out snacks and coffee for guests and it was amazing.

Even my family, enjoyed those momenta at there besta nd the young children in my family was full of fun and enjoying.
For the occasion they had prepared home-baked cake, snacks and a fantastically thoughtful gift.

This said, there is nothing wrong with the facilities.
The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good. The garden was brilliant and relaxing.

And as many people have written before.
Oberoi Amarvilas is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends.
Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdikshit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
I am so glad you had a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

one must stay in amarvilas who comes to see the beauty of the Taj Mahal, all rooms in this beautiful hotel are facing the "TAJ" the monument of eternal love. we stayed in a room with balcony & were mesmerized with not only the view of the monument but also the rear view of the hotel which houses the most amazing landscape & the infinity swimming pool. Evening are even more dazzling as the hotel torches which they call "Marshals" & the water casading down towards the pool is bliss.

One cannot miss to admire the beauty & architecture during entering the hotel the series of Marshals then the reflection pool, safa clad attenders with a lady to welcome & the the passage to the lobby through the fountain & those beautiful paintings of gold wark are to be enjoyed for life. Once you step inside the grand lobby one must lift their head to see the blue & gold dome with its heavy chandlier dropping down to lit the huge yet royal lobby, i felt like a maharaja of Agra.

The 2 restaurants "Bellevue" & "Esphahan" are truly well made, esphahan is more regal due to its cozyness & ambience, the lady "Madhuji" soulful music actually makes you fell like a star. The indian menu is very good & the cyclic menus in bellevue are also innovative yet expensive.

The SPA is so quite that the moment you step in you feel relaxed & the messages are really the actual stress busters, the hard ballanise message was ment for a built like I, but what makes this hotel good is its hospitality.

Front desk staff & Butler service needs some improvement is what i felt.

Overall if you visist agra after paying a visit to "TAJ" one must not ignore the "AMARVILAS" for its a jewel to the crown of the Oberoi Group.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atrocious1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for your detailed review, and we will strive to improve the front desk and butler service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#3 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,674 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 145 in Agra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,593 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#16 of 145 in Agra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Property: The Oberoi Amarvilas
Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing