We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel par excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Oberoi Amarvilas
Ranked #1 of 142 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2011

one must stay in amarvilas who comes to see the beauty of the Taj Mahal, all rooms in this beautiful hotel are facing the "TAJ" the monument of eternal love. we stayed in a room with balcony & were mesmerized with not only the view of the monument but also the rear view of the hotel which houses the most amazing landscape & the infinity swimming pool. Evening are even more dazzling as the hotel torches which they call "Marshals" & the water casading down towards the pool is bliss.

One cannot miss to admire the beauty & architecture during entering the hotel the series of Marshals then the reflection pool, safa clad attenders with a lady to welcome & the the passage to the lobby through the fountain & those beautiful paintings of gold wark are to be enjoyed for life. Once you step inside the grand lobby one must lift their head to see the blue & gold dome with its heavy chandlier dropping down to lit the huge yet royal lobby, i felt like a maharaja of Agra.

The 2 restaurants "Bellevue" & "Esphahan" are truly well made, esphahan is more regal due to its cozyness & ambience, the lady "Madhuji" soulful music actually makes you fell like a star. The indian menu is very good & the cyclic menus in bellevue are also innovative yet expensive.

The SPA is so quite that the moment you step in you feel relaxed & the messages are really the actual stress busters, the hard ballanise message was ment for a built like I, but what makes this hotel good is its hospitality.

Front desk staff & Butler service needs some improvement is what i felt.

Overall if you visist agra after paying a visit to "TAJ" one must not ignore the "AMARVILAS" for its a jewel to the crown of the Oberoi Group.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atrocious1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2011

Thank you for your detailed review, and we will strive to improve the front desk and butler service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,134)
There are newer reviews for The Oberoi Amarvilas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,388 - 2,394 of 3,134 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2011

excellent location,upgrade our room with huge balcony with great view of taj mahal!you can touch it by hand!thanks alot mrs shilpa rastogi,assistant manager,you treated us like a royalty,we leave with best memories

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamidrezamonshizadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

I am so pleased you enjoyed a memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2011

We stayed here for one night for a special occasion and the Amarvilas did not let us down. The service is excellent and the staff are polite, courteous without being intruding. Though it is expensive, the Amarvilas is where its worth the money. Highly recommend the private dinner - it was an experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vikram S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

I am delighted that you had an unforgettable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Exceptional setting looking out over the Taj Mahal. Quite magnificent. Room comfortable and provides all that is required in a hotel of this category. I only wish that their accounting system was up to the standard of the hotel. I stayed only one night yet managed to accumulate a couple of items on my account that were not mine - how can this happen on such a short stay? I found this annoying - its expensive - internet is an extra which when you are paying over £500 per night seems to be a 'nickel and dime' situation.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Thank you for your constructive review, and I apologise for our accounting error.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

If you are worried about the staff or price your priorities are in the wrong place. I couldnt fault either of these but to walk into the foyer and have your first proper view of the Taj Mahal it was breathtaking. I will never forget haveing a private golf bugging take you to the door step of the Taj entry. even in 45 degreee Celcius weather it was still an amazing property and if you are going to complain you really should look at yourself and get your priorities right. You go to Agra for the Taj not to have a cheap indian meal, and you dont stay at an Oberoi hotel if oyu expect anything to be at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bwillo24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

I am grateful for your recommendation, for which I thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Oberoi Amarvilas is an very good hotel overall, with good staff that tries very hard to make your stay nice. It's main draw, however, is the gorgeous view of the Taj Mahal that you get to wake up to every morning, and the balconies that you can sit on and watch the sunset reflecting off the white marble of one of the world's masterpieces. The rooms are nothing to write home about, and for nearly $1,000.00/night you don't even get free internet access or meals included. But you do get that view, and what a view it is.

LOCATION - Amarvilas is just a few minutes from the East gate of the Taj Mahal. They have a golf cart that takes you to the entrance. There are some local shops and restaurants around, but they aren't very inviting for anyone who is staying at Oberoi. But, you're there to see the Taj, and the location is good for that.

OVERALL - The ambience of the hotel is very nice, with white marble throughout. It feels elegant from the time you walk in. The service (except the restaurants) further adds to that feeling. The view is magnificent, though the Taj is over the forest from you, and we had a lovely stay here.

ROOMS - For a basic room with a balcony, you're looking at $43,000 Rs (about $955.00) per night. The room is regular sized, nothing special, the bed is pretty hard and not terribly comfortable, it is nicely appointed, but nothing you wouldn't find at your average Hilton, Intercontinental or Radisson for a fraction of the price. However, every morning you are treated to a panoramic view of the Taj Mahal (in the distance). While you work at the desk, you look out at it, and from your balcony, you can enjoy a glass of wine at sunset and watch the light glisten off the magnificent surfaces. It is breathtaking, you never get tired of gazing at it. From your balcony, you can also watch the nightly show (which is not great and is the same every night), and look out over the pool. You also get a great view of the bush toilet with its constant procession of users baring all between you and the Taj. Just focus on the Taj. You'll also want to get the highest balcony possible, because the higher you are, the better your views of the Taj are.

The problem with the balconies is that there are no awnings or umbrellas to protect you from the roosting pigeons that occupy the ledges above each balcony, so you're constantly in the "fire line" for their droppings. Your balcony, chairs and tables are routinely bombarded by pigeon poop and when you wake up in the morning you have to turn your cushions and watch your step to use your table, and then try to convince yourself that you'll just shower and change your clothes if they get you. It really takes away from the enjoyment, and we noticed that we were the only ones for the most part using our balcony. This I'm sure is why, which is too bad as it's the main selling point of the hotel.

STAFF - The staff is young, and obviously still in training, though they are very courteous, and try hard, they are just not that experienced and it shows. There was a noticeable difference between this property and Vanyavilas that we stayed at after this, where the service never missed a beat. But, they did a good job and tried hard, we had really no complaints. Before long, I'm sure they'll be up to the level that they should be for this price.

INTERNET - There is wireless internet access throughout the hotel. Inexplicably, a hotel that prides itself in making you feel pampered feels the need to nickel and dime you for $20.00 a day per computer for internet access ($40/day in our case). Really takes away from the pampered feeling you expect for this price. Then, the internet upload speeds are so ridiculously slow that you can't even upload a small file or picture without it timing out or failing in some way. Impossible to do business with this level of internet, though for basic surfing and emails it worked well. There is a large desk to work at with two chairs which we really appreciated, and universal outlets which was great.

RESTAURANTS - There is one main restaurant and then an Indian specialty restaurant that is only open at night for 2 seatings. The food overall was good, but not great. Some dishes were very good, others missed the mark. The service in the restaurants was similar to that of the rest of the hotel - very good, but not to the level you'd expect for this price. There is live music in the Indian restaurant, but for some reason they stop it a half-hour after you're seated for the second seating, so if you want to see the music, then do the early seating.

Overall, Amarvilas is a very nice hotel, but way too expensive for what it is. However, if you have that view, I guess you can charge whatever you want. It is amazing to sit there and think that you're having your morning coffee in the shadow of the Taj Mahal...while covering your cup for fear of pigeon bombs.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2011

Thank you for your detailed feedback. I apologise for the pigeons being a nuisance, for which further deterrents will be in place shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2011

A view of the Taj Mahal from every room !!!! It was breathtaking !!!! The Taj is a short walk or quick trip in a golf cart from the hotel. The hotel is stunning, the pool is beautiful, and the grounds are lovely. Nigel, the manager, greeted us with such warmth and friendliness and the rest of the staff was also so eager to see that we were enjoying ourselves. The dinner at Esphahan was so delicious (yoghurt kebabs) and they surprised me with a fantastic chocolate cake for my birthday. The whole experience was magical. A perfect birthday treat that I am not likely to forget !!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberoi_Amarvilas, General Manager at The Oberoi Amarvilas, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2011

It was a pleasure meeting you and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
1.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Agra
0.6 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#12 of 142 in Agra
4,001 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
Trident, Agra
Trident, Agra
#2 of 142 in Agra
2,793 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 142 in Agra
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oberoi Amarvilas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oberoi Amarvilas

Address: Taj East Gate, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agra
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#1 Family Hotel in Agra
#1 Spa Hotel in Agra
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $466 - $1,777 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Oberoi Amarvilas 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Taj Mahal is extraordinary as much for what it is as how it has escaped the banality of cliché. For 350 years, this monument evokes a sense of wonder. Only by being there can you witness its true majesty, its symmetry, its setting and the delicacy of its carved marble inlaid with precious stones. Now just suppose you were to overlook it from your hotel room? The Oberoi Amarvilas is 600 metres from this tribute to love. The lavish interiors and elaborate gardens add to the serenity of the scene. The guestrooms are palatial: all have magical views and are luxuriously furnished with traditional fabrics, white marble, hand-crafted ornaments and every modern amenity. There is a luxury spa offering a range of therapies, a swimming pool where snacks and drinks are served; an ornamented ballroom and fine restaurants to suit the international palate. But the lobby lounge is a feast for the eye designed, as it was, around that glorious view of the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oberoi Amarvilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oberoi Amarvilas Hotel Agra
Oberoi Hotel Agra
Oberoi Agra
Agra Oberoi
Amarvilas Agra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing