We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel..let down by unusual and surprising sloppiness”
Review of Trident, Agra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Trident, Agra
Ranked #3 of 147 Hotels in Agra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I stayed here as new year trip involving multiple cities. I have stayed in trident properties before and over a period of time have come to expect very high standards from this Oberoi group hotel chain. We faced issues which were quite disturbing like an over flowing toilet ( could be a freak incident ) but somehow it points towards maintenance. The worst was when duly informed to the hotel staff but upon returning in the evening the toilet was not even properly cleaned and the room was in an unkempt state ( e.g - the cloth used to dust and clean the room carelessly lying about on the table, among many other things ). Upon taking it up with the hotel staff very strongly, everyone was very apologetic and to make it up hosted the dinner for us in the evening. One's experience of a good hotel is less about fancy rooms but more to do with the staff and trident has among the best. What this particular property requires is to sharpen up their act and live up-to the standards that they are known for. A lot of areas need to be improved upon (e.g - incomplete breakfast tray, Strange arrival welcome in the hotel, late response to service calls - once even half an hour !! etc.. ).
The hotel is close to the Taj and is a calm and serene place to stay. Overall a good hotel but the people running it need to shape up.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sourav_De
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Please do accept my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused. I understand that our Front Office Manager had an opportunity to speak to you regarding your concerns. We sincerely do hope that we have been able to resolve your concerns to your satisfaction.

The team at The Oberoi group is committed to quality service and your appreciation for our team members is truly rewarding.

As requested to you personally, please do contact me whenever you travel to Agra next. The team and I shall ensure that we serve you in the manner expected of us.

The team joins me in wishing you a Very Happy New Year.

Warm Regards,

Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,971)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,946 - 1,952 of 2,971 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

We found this hotel thank to TripAdvisor reviews, as it didn't look very nice on the internet photos. We got a great price through despegar.con (expedia) and were not sure of what to expect. We were highly pleased!!! Could not be better!
It is a quiet, simple hotel, practically noiseless, with a lovely garden and a great service. Rooms were simple but spotless! Breakfast was simply amazing!!! and service was great! Everyone was nice, with excellent English skills and helpful. They have a tipping policy by which you leave the tips at the end of your stay, in a closed envelope at a front desk box. In that way, you don't have to give money all the time (which feels extremely relaxing, specially after touring around where everyone is asking for tips or trying to sell you something!!!)
It is a nice, simple but absolutely great hotel!!! Highly recommendable!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werty09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we thank you very much for sparing time and posting such gracious comments on Trip Advisor.

I have conveyed your compliments to the entire team, for whom it has been a tremendous source of inspiration.

I am also happy to note that you found our service ‘the best’. It was a delight to have been of service to you.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the services provided by the team. Your words of appreciation will go a long way to motivate them to continue deliver the best service.

We sincerely appreciate your support and recommendation and take this opportunity to wish you a Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year.

Yours sincerely,

Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is old, the facilities are old and the rooms quite cold and uncomfortable. The beds are very uncomfortable. Food is mediocre.
The price are far too high for this quality, there is nothing enjoyable about this hotel except the vicinity to the Taj Mahal.

I would not recommend a stay here, the hotel is too old and needs a refurbishment.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katamete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your visit to Agra.

We are disappointed to note that our product and food have not met your expectations. I have no excuses to offer, but certainly believe that we have failed to provide you the service expected of us and not been able to fulfill the promised experience on this occasion.

As you have mentioned, we have done major renovation in the public areas of the hotel like the lobby, bar and restaurant. We are looking at renovating the rooms in the not too distant future.

Please may I assure you that you views on the quality of food has been shared with the entire team.

Please may I request you to give us another opportunity. Please do contact me whenever you plan your next visit to our city. The team and I shall ensure a comfortable stay for you.

Warm Regards,

Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Service was amazing! Everyone in the hotel was willing to give us a hand and did so vet willingly. The restaurant was quite expensive but the included breakfast buffet was fabulous, everything you could possibly want! The rooms were simple, twin/ double beds with a television that shows a range of international channels and the bathroom was lovely. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StreeterA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sparing time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate your time in sharing your experience at our hotel and its locational advantage.

My team and I deem it a privilege to have served you and we are happy to read such a delightful recommendation from you.

We are also pleased to note your compliments on our product and on your dining experience.

We look forward to the delight of welcoming you back to Trident Agra.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,


Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The hotel upset me for a couple of reasons. We have 3 adults no problem paying extra for a third adult but they charged me 2500 for an extra bed. Everwhere else charges 1000 rupees they claim its due to high season yet no where on their website does it mention how much for an extra adult seems like a ripoff. Next little things are annoying me the batteries in the remote dont work the heater doesnt work needed to get a portable heater which at least they provided free on the plus location is good place is clean service is not good asked a few questions on checkin and they forgot to answer them overall i just expect more for the money and didnt get it will never plan on staying here again

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CaliRite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

Thank you also for taking time to write to me offline. We sincerely do hope that we have been able to resolve your concerns to your satisfaction.

I sincerely apologise once again for the way your visit was handled. I have no apologies to offer, but believe that we have failed to provide you the service expected of us.

As requested to you personally, please do contact me when ever you travel to Agra next. The team and I shall ensure that we serve you in the manner expected of us.

The team joins me in wishing you a Very Happy New Year.

Warm Regards,

Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel as part of a Gate1 Tour so we can't comment on value (price); however, we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The interior courtyard is a oasis and the rooms were great. The hotel restrauant was the best we encountered in India. It was the only place in India where you could feel safe eating anything on the menu.
Staff in the restrauant and hotel were great and they have a no tipping policy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having your wife and you stay with us during your visit to Agra this month.

Thank you very much for sharing your compliments on our service, product and facilities on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to note that you found our service of the highest standard. My team and I deem it a privilege to have served you and we are happy to read such a delightful review from you. Every guest is very special to us and it is our endeavour to make sure that they have a memorable experience.

Your compliments will certainly act as a source of great motivation for all of us to strive even further for excellence.

We thank you once again for your time and look forward to having more opportunities to be of service to you.

Thank you,

Yours sincerely,

Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here to visit the Taj, as did most of the guests, as it is only a short drive away. Hotel was comfortable rather than luxurious and I would rate it a basic 4 star. Rooms are comfortable with all amenities you would expect.
Dining - had the evening buffet where food was well cooked and nicely presented. Choice was excellent. Also had the buffet breakfast which was very good.
Sleep wasn't great as there was a wedding on nearby until 1pm - and they don't do quiet weddings! However, nothing the hotel could do about that.
If you are walking about outside in the evening there were a few mosquitos about so take the usual precautions and you should be fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us during your recent visit to Agra and we sincerely appreciate you sparing time and posting a motivating review on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you found our service, product and food to your satisfaction.
At Trident, Agra we are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality of service and it is appreciation such as yours which keeps us motivated and help us in delivering our best.

Thank you for your recognition.

The team and I wish you a Happy New Year and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our hotel.

Warm Regards,

Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Agra Taj East Gate
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Agra
Courtyard Agra
#4 of 147 in Agra
1,712 reviews
1 mi away
ITC Mughal, Agra
ITC Mughal, Agra
#13 of 147 in Agra
4,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Agra
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi Amarvilas
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trident, Agra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trident, Agra

Address: Fatehabad Road, Agra 282001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agra
#2 Romantic Hotel in Agra
#2 Business Hotel in Agra
#2 Family Hotel in Agra
#2 Spa Hotel in Agra
Price Range: $81 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trident, Agra 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trident, Agra, set amidst beautiful gardens, fountains, landscaped central courtyards, is built of red stone reminiscent of the Mughal era. The hotel is only 1.5 kilometers away from one of the new 7 Wonders of the World, the Taj Mahal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Trident, Agra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trident Hotel Agra
Hilton Agra
Agra Trident Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing