We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,163)
Filter reviews
3,163 results
Traveler rating
1,906
998
198
42
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,906
998
198
42
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewskids clubhead chefmagic showlovely hotelan oasislovely poolexecutive chefswimming poolgolden trianglestayed longerrestaurant staffdinner buffetmemorable stayred fortindian foodspecial thankscourteous staff
Filter
Updating list...
2,441 - 2,446 of 3,163 reviews
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Trident Hotel, Agra
After an early morning start on the Bhopal Shatabdi express from Delhi ( 700 rupees first class. - book maximum of 3 mths ahead) and the scramble through the only security machine into the station it was very pleasant to be able to check into our room at 9 am in the Trident. By the way the arrival into Agra by train is somewhat of an eye-opener to those that may not have travelled in less structured countries, and somewhat of a contrast to the magnificent Taj Mahal.
The Trident is very modern, very spacious and very comfortable. Although we only had the one night bed and breakfast the restaurant staff were kind enough to provide a complimentary tea and toast before making our way out into Agra ( may not be hotel policy but very nice anyway).We ate in the hotel the only night we were in Agra ( after a day at the sights we were very happy to chill in the hotel) and we thought the Thali vegetarian meal was very nice, served by pleasant staff.
Sights - Agra fort (we thought more interesting than Red fort Delhi) and head out by auto rickshaw or your driver to "Little Taj" for say 4 pm ( the grandparents of Mumtaz  who is entombed in the Taj Mahal are in this smaller first version). It's on the other side of the river to Taj Mahal and traffic can be busy across the bridge. Then about 5 pm drive another 5 minutes or so to the river bank across from the Taj Mahal for the sunset light and a different perspective...you can pay to go into the park OR as we did, simply walk past the gates down to the river bank next to a small army base and see the sight for free.
For the Taj Mahal we went to the East gate where the elongated golf cart is included in your ticket price to the entrance. Try to get to the ticket area for 6.30 am so that you are in the front part of the queue. The gate opens at 7 am but it's a slow entry as the security check can take a while. Mobiles are allowed now ( check on video camera entry) but no sharp objects, matches,etc. Try to go in without any large packs. Once you are in the security acts as a filter slowing down those that took a bit longer to get there !
The hotel is recommended for a relaxing comfortable stay....my only gripe is why oh why do hotels see the need to charge premium rates for wifi when it is a fixed cost for them....it should simply be complimentary.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRB_Kawakuchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments.

I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and have noted your comments about the WiFi.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to India.

Warm regards,
Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Nice looking hotel, impressive entrance, large bedroom, all staff always greeted us politely. A table lamp in our refused to work, and 3 people came to mend it. Excellent - until I tried to turn the a/c down. Everything in the room that was electric flashed/buzzed/banged and then went out. Reception sent two porters to help us move room - upon hearing what the problem, they said "We will wait outside - call us when you're ready!" 5 minutes after settling in to our new room a power cut put the hotel in darkness - we suspect they had tried to turn the lights on in our original room!
2 days later, whilst trying to dry her hair, my wife commented that the hotel's hairdryer seemed a little hot. Not just a little hot - it was melting!!! Maintenance replaced the offending item, and we asked if the manager would be available for a chat.
Unfortunately the hotel duty manager was conspicuous by his absence, despite 2 requests to speak to him. How strange that 2 days after we had completed the hotel feedback form and left the hotel, we should receive an email from him, apologising for the hotel's electrical inadequacies - shame he didn't make himself available at the time. An unfogettable stay at the Trident Agra - but for the wrong reasons.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magalan100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your valuabe comments.

We have spoken over the phone about your feedback and have taken the necessary corrective actions.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

We spent two nights here at the end of our trip and we were very glad with our choice. The staff were very cordial and helpful. The room was fine but quite a long walk from the lobby area. There was security at the gate to the property which is useful in Agra as the touts outside are persistent. Best of all to us was the restaurant buffet selection and staff. The Taj Mahal is a short tuk-tuk or pedicab ride or longish walk away (we walked).

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicnric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments.

I am happy to know that you were well looked after by my team and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to India.

Warm regards,
Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

A modern 5* hotel with lovely rooms, exceptional staff and terrific facilities.the pool is excellent and the restaurant serves good food at reasonable prices. the buffet is excellent value. the gardens are a joy and it is only 10minutesfromthe Taj Mahal. it is a haven of tranquility away from the noise and chaos of Agra. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janmcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments.

I am happy to know that you were well looked after during your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to India.

Warm regards,
Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2011

Well we normally did not stay in chain hotels, preferring the individuality of personally managed properties, but Trident changed this view to a large extent.
We decided to stay here as we managed to get a great deal on the net. After an initial hiccup at the time of check in where we were told that the interconnecting rooms we had been (almost) promised from Delhi were actually being renovated (still don't know whether they have any); and a slightly wierd situation where I was told i would like 'masala chai' instead of the 'fine darjeeling' I had ordered (I still don't know why!!! ); we had a super time.
The staff headed then by Mr Vishal Bharti were incredibly helpful. From the kitchen staff to the cleaning guys- it was Oberoi hospitality all the way. The restaurant were very helpful in even pushing up the food time for my two small boys and making special spice free 'dal'.
Great pool/ decent food/very comfortable
Heartily recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MalanAnuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TridentAgra, General Manager at Trident, Agra, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2011

Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments.

I am happy to know that my team looked after you well. I do apologize for the glitches you have mentioned and have taken it up with the people concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Vishal Bharti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews